We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Movenpick Resort Petra
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice stay, great location”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Thie Movenpick resort is located directly across from Petra's entrance. We arrived quite late and after a quick luggagescan/xray, we were shown directly to our room. We didn't spend much time at the hotel, but our experience within the hotel were excellent. I made multiple, small requests form the front desk and they happily assisted me each time. Our rooms were clean and comfortable. We had two meals at the hotel (we were just too tired to venture more than 50 feet after our day in Petra) and they were both excellent. The breakfast was excellent and had something for everyone. The service was warm and efficient. I'd happily stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APassportAffair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the services and facilities provided exceeded your expectation.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort Petra in the not too distant future and assure you already in advance of our best care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,392
    1,130
    434
    132
    64
See reviews for
737
1,366
180
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The location is simply the best, a couple of minutes walk from the entrance to Petra and if only for this I would recommend the hotel!
The rooms were nice, modern and clean. There was a complimentary mini bar in the room (water, fruit juice, pop, crisps) which was restocked each day.
Good selection at breakfast including made to order eggs, omelettes etc
The food was good in the Al Maq'aad Bar and the 2 waiters who work there are so lovely and smiley!
For a nice evening drink I'd recommend the Cave bar up at the Petra Guest House rather than staying in the hotel.
Overall a nice enough hotel, nothing spectacular, but then I didn't come to Petra for the hotel...Petra itself was the star of the show!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank H-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the services and facilities provided were up to your expectation.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I checked in at 1pm and it took them over 45 minutes to find a room for me. The rooms there are very dated and can't be described as luxurious as my LP guidebook claimed. I had the dinner buffet which was good but the waiter refused to give me a copy of my receipt and said that I can see it when I checked out. I figured something was up and he added 1 JOD to the tip that I gave him. The manager corrected my bill but I thought that this was ABSOLUTELY RIDICULOUS! MAKE SURE THAT YOU CHECK YOUR BILL WHEN CHECKING OUT!

On a positive note, I guess the hotel gives the tips to their staff.... There are many options that are only a block away from this place. Give them a try.

Room Tip: If you want a nice room, find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ryan852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at the Mövenpick Resort Petra. This is an invaluable source for us to review our performance and strive to achieve excellent standards of product and service to our guests.

Hopping to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Petra

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a night to visit Petra.All I can remember was that the room was small and tired. The staff generally tried hard to help but the management probably did not give them even support. There was not even turn down service at night. Food at the restaurant was pretty average. The only advantage was the location. It was a two minute walk to the entrance of Petra.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeLongHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at the Mövenpick Resort Petra. This is an invaluable source for us to review our performance and strive to achieve excellent standards of product and service to our guests.

Hopping to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Petra

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Nothing really to complain about but could be so much better. Rooms were of a three star standard; clean and functional. The main restaurant was like an upmarket cafeteria- tired, stained seating, but the choice of food pretty good if expensive. Would recommend because I really don't think there is better.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesleyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at the Mövenpick Resort Petra. This is an invaluable source for us to review our performance and strive to achieve excellent standards of product and service to our guests.

Hopping to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Petra

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Petra is one of the new seven ancient wonders of the world, Wadi Mousa ( the town that is next door) is not. The Movenpick hotel is supposed to be the best of the bunch here and it is perfectly fine but the rooms have a spartan,functional european feel and the beds would feel luxurious to a Bedouin, but not to my creaking ol back. The main diningroom is very popular with families and is a rather limited ( probably by the local supply chain) buffet. By the end of two days we were overly familiar with it. It has a funky central atrium where tout le monde come to smoke and drink ( many of the touristy restaurants in Wadi Mousa dont serve the demon drink ). However, best thing to do is pack the kids off to bed, go out of the hotel , turn right and head to the Cave bar- carved in the first century BC i believe, and boogie on the tables till dawn. Thats fine till you have to climb on a mule in 30 degree heat the next day... Petra was even better than expected and now i have set your expectations appropriately for the Movenpick , you wont be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at the Mövenpick Resort Petra. They are an invaluable source for us to review our performance and strive to achieve excellent standards of product and service to our guests.

Hopping to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Petra

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, UAE
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We came to Petra over the Valentine weekend landing at Amman which is just under a two hour drive. The hotel cannot be any closer to the entrance. The staff are extremely nice and very helpful and friendly and will do all they can to help you. As we arrived late we decided to enter the Petra site on the evening tour but please be aware there is a lot of walking in very poorly lit pathways that are very uneven so be very careful. Going in is not so much of an issue but walking out is up hill and a bit of a slog. Going back in the day time after collecting your tickets you have also paid for a horse ride. These horses are very tame and well behaved so no problem if you are a little nervous as I was. On the way down our guides asked us if we would like to see more of Petra going off the beaten track. It cost a bit but wow was it worth it we saw so much more of Petra than we would ever have imagined with some stunning views thrown in. These guides walked for over two hours uphill over very rugged terrain happily chatting and pointing bits out along the way. Absolutely fantastic. The actual site itself is awesome but as I said many steep steps over 800 in one place the Monastery but the guides took us to the top. Even so the walk down is a little scary. All in all wonderful. The hotel is very good for the area so don't compare it to other hotels in other cities.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cottageDubai_UAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the services and facilities provided exceeded your expectation.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort Petra in the not too distant future and assure you already in advance of our best care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.0 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,540 reviews
1.5 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
931 reviews
0.7 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#2 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
874 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
334 reviews
0.8 mi away
P Quattro Relax Hotel
P Quattro Relax Hotel
#1 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort Petra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort Petra

Property: Movenpick Resort Petra
Address: Tourism Street P.O.Box 214, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#5 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort Petra 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the hidden city. The Movenpick Resort Petra is the ideal starting point for exciting excursions to the ancient City of the Nabateans. It also offers an enchanting atmosphere for you to relax and unwind as never before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Resort Petra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort Petra Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
mövenpick Petra Wadi Musa
Movenpick Resort Petra Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing