We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best hotel for your trip to Petra”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Movenpick Resort Petra
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best hotel for your trip to Petra”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

this is a superb hotel, and 2 minutes for your entry to Petra.
After a long day walking around Petra, it was like walking into Paradise !
Highly recomended
Nothing to falut it, excellet breakfast and rooms

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Athena Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind detailed feedback on tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the services and facilities provided exceeded your expectation.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort Petra in the not too distant future and assure you already in advance of our best care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,431
    1,154
    438
    134
    67
See reviews for
756
1,396
186
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Great Harwood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Myself and husband stayed here for three nights in February. We arrived the first day from Amman and decided to have a wander and a meal and to prepare for an early start in Petra the next morning, which we did. Petra site opens at 6.30am and we walked through the gates at 7am. As the hotel is right at the entrance of Petra we could get in there before the crowds started to arrive and it was great. The hotel is quite large, with big modern spacious rooms and ours had a lovely balcony too. They give you Dead Sea toiletries too which is a nice touch. The rooms were nice and clean as we arrived, but as each day passed the cleaning became poorer. It seems that most people stay only one night and any more than that they just receive a very quick towel change and bed make. The location could not be beaten however and I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The town is very spread out with lots of un- walkable steep hills, so just be careful with any other hotels position in the town when you are booking. There is a bar at the entrance too, attached to Petra bed and breakfast, which is a little haven if you fancy a drink and a snack, as there are very few others around and definitely a taxi ride away. Have no doubts, this is where you want to be in Petra. Breakfast has a nice spread too, but gets very busy at 6.30am to 7am, for obvious reasons.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the services and facilities provided exceeded your expectation.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort Petra in the not too distant future and assure you already in advance of our best care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

The hotel looks beautiful and the location is excellent. Petra entrance was literally a 2 min walk from the hotel which was extremely convenient when coming back from exploring petra absolutely exhausted!
Another minute walk, just outside the hotel is a long row of restaurants/takeaways and convenience stores if you don't feel like paying a premium price for the food from the hotel.

There is everything in the hotel from fine dining to a ice cream shop with sweets and choccies and some souvenir shops in the hotel, which are very pricey and you'd do best to get souvenirs from cheaper little shops outside.

We were upgraded to a junior suit which was very impressive. We had a triple room which had two large single beds and a large sofa bed, and a balcony with a lovely view of the pool and some of Petra. The TV had a good choice of channels (which didn't matter as we spend most of our time exploring petra!) and the mini bar was free which had a good variety of drinks.huices and some potato chips which were re-stocked every day! Also a kettle for tea and coffe and an espresso machine!
The bathroom was a good size and very clean and the toiletries were all dead sea products which where very refreshing. the robes and slippers where a nice addition to the room.
Any time we requested anything from room service we received it within 2/3 mins, no waiting at all.

Breakfast was included with our room and the variety was amazing. A range of freshly squeezed juices, cereals and a brilliant choise of both sweet pastries and savoury things like sausages and beans as well. Eggs are made on request however you want them, scrambled, fried or omelette!

Gym, pool and sauna where included. the pool was close during our stay which didn't effect us as we weren't planning on swimming anyway. The sauna was very nice after days of walking!

The only negative was that wifi was 5JD for 24 hours, considering the price we payed for the room, the wifi should be included!

All in all I loved my time here and would definitely stay here again and recommended it to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AyeshaY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking your precious time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. My team and were happy to read that we succeeded in meeting & exceeding your expectations and to know that you have given us an opportunity to demonstrate our commitment to hospitality.

Your kind feedback is a source of great encouragement for the staff and the management to do even better in the future.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort Petra in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed at Movenpick for 3 days in Feb 2013. They upgraded us to a Junior suite. The Room was very nice, service was exceptional as we received what we asked for immediately. Great choice for breakfast & I wanted a fried egg & it was friend there & then. Excellent location at the entrance of Petra. Our room had a balcony & great view of pool area. Nice gym & steam room available if required.
The only downside I would say is that you have to pay for wifi 5JD for 24 hours.

Room Tip: Room with balcony available & great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigat Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with the services and facilities provided. Your kind comments are source of great encouragement for the staff and the management to do even better in the future.

We sincerely hope that your travels will bring you back to Petra in the near future and are looking forward to welcoming you to Mövenpick Resort Petra.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in December 2013 for two nights. The location is amazing and the hotel is beautiful. We had excellent service the whole time. I also thought the room was decorated really nicely with a large bathroom and nice toiletries. The restaurant is very expensive for dinner though and I would recommend eating in some of the local restaurants.

The only low point was that at the end of our day in Petra, one of the locals providing horses inside Petra demanded more money off us (in terms of a tip) after riding the horses (this is included in your entrance price). We gave him some more money to avoid a confrontation but did report him to the tourist police. Unfortunately, he then followed us back to the hotel. Although, he was unable to get in, this was very upsetting. One of the hotel staff saw that I was upset (I had gone in while my husband was with the police) and went to get the manager but was then interrupted taking bags in. I did think given the situation that he really should have left the bags and helped me a lot quicker- I got the impression that he did not think I was a guest. Eventually the manager did come out and it was fine but it did take awhile and I was surprised that taking bags in were the priority.

Overall, though, a really beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: I wouldn't worry about a view as with Petra so close, you are unlikely to spend a lot of time th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor. It goes without saying that I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay at our resort and that you were satisfied with the services and facilities provided by our employees.

On the other hand, I have reviewed your feedback in detail and it will be shared with the department concerned.

I sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future and assure you already in advance of our best care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

You come here for the location. Just steps from the entrance to Petra, the short walk "home" is welcome relief after a long slog through one of the most amazing (and massive) historical sites around. The rooms are decent, though no better than a Courtyard by Marriott (save for the great Jordanian Dead Sea bath products). They turn the AC off in winter, which is quite annoying if you ask me. Being steps from Petra, opening the window entails a lot of noise. Additionally, we were here in low season, but the place was packed and the restaurants were constantly filled with tour groups - yet one restaurant was closed for the season and another had limited hours. Overall, not a bad place, but we will definitely take a look at the competion next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at the Mövenpick Resort Petra.

They are an invaluable source for us to review our performance and strive to achieve excellent standards of product and service to our guests.

Hopping to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Petra

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

As far as hotels in Petra go, MovenPick is one of the better properties. Our room was comfortable. we had a suite. Unfortunately it had no view (we overlooked a building site) and a bad layout ... But. the hotel is right at the entrance to petra. Perfect.
In room amenities were good. Food at the hotel was generally ok. the bar and lobby lunge were beautifully decorate. amazing ceilings.

Anyway. the service.
after travelling around jordan and experiencing the fantastic hospitality of the Jordan people, this hotel could have been a lot better.
we were snowed in during our visit (a rare occurrence in Petra and an amazing experience) but the hotel team did not seem to care about our situation or our need to leave. they were very off hand and many tourists were put out by the freak weather.
no senior management seemed to be present. no notices. nor updates unless we asked.
and when you have a lobby of frustrated people better management and communication is needed.

that said. seeing snow fall on petra. truly magical!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thomas_destinations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at the Mövenpick Resort Petra.

They are an invaluable source for us to review our performance and strive to achieve excellent standards of product and service to our guests.

Hopping to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Petra

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.0 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#1 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,578 reviews
1.5 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
959 reviews
0.2 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#2 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
518 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
344 reviews
0.8 mi away
P Quattro Relax Hotel
P Quattro Relax Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort Petra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort Petra

Property: Movenpick Resort Petra
Address: Tourism Street P.O.Box 214, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#2 Business Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#5 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort Petra 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the hidden city. The Movenpick Resort Petra is the ideal starting point for exciting excursions to the ancient City of the Nabateans. It also offers an enchanting atmosphere for you to relax and unwind as never before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Resort Petra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort Petra Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
mövenpick Petra Wadi Musa
Movenpick Resort Petra Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing