We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable hotel in an excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Movenpick Resort Petra
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2012

A friendly hotel with very helpful staff. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the food delicious, especially the buffet breakfast and dinner. The hotel is in a great location for the city of Petra and the swimming pool is very refreshingly welcome after a day of sightseeing!

Room Tip: The best rooms have a view over the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JandJ42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for posting your comments on tripadvisor. I have read your comments and feel excited to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The team and I are pleased to know that the hotel facilities and service provided were up to your satisfaction and exceeded your expectations.

We pride ourselves on providing "honest, uncomplicated, comfort" to all our guests and are pleased to hear we achieved our goal. The staff will be very proud to see that they were able to make your stay so great when we share your kind comments with them.

We would be delighted to host you should your travel plans bring you again to Petra.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,380)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,930 - 1,936 of 3,380 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

This hotel is literally a short walk away from the entrance to Petra. We stayed for two nights. Our first impression upon seeing the lobby was wow - stunning! Unfortunately, while our room was clean and comfortable - it was an odd shaped room, with a balcony over a busy street that was loud. If you are a light sleeper, try to get a quieter room. We spent one evening at the rooftop cafe, enjoying mezze & drinks. It was quite relaxing and must admit, a little romantic with lights shining down from the mountains. Service at the hotel was always efficient and polite. If you are going to Petra...and you should, be sure to get an early start, where comfy shoes and have bottled water.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deardiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the services and facilities provided exceeded your expectation.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort Petra in the not too distant future and assure you already in advance of our best care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We recently spent 2 days in the Moevenpick Resort Petra, after a spell in a dreadful hotel in Amman, which was also supposed to be a 5*. The contrast between the 2 hotels was evident from the minute we went through the door of the Petra hotel. We were greeted by smiling staff, given a lovely hibiscus drink, and quickly and competently given a lovely room. The bedroom was very clean and comfy, with a balcony, and with a range of nice touches - an interesting array of hot drinks to make up, slippers, bathrobes, free mini-bar (without alcohol!), etc. The bathroom was spotless, and a very pleasant array of toiletries was provided.
The public areas are also very attractive, with plenty of delightful places in which to linger - a roof-top restaurant, a pleasant pool area, fitness area, beautifully designed lounges, etc. I tried a spell in the steam room, where a charming young woman helped me find all the facilities in the pleasant and clean fitness/pool area.
Arguably, the staff are the greatest asset to the hotel. Every one of the staff was friendly, ensuring that we felt at home. On our first evening in the restaurant (we went to the largest, but there is a choice), a chef appeared as I was looking at the wonderful array of buffet food, and pointed out the dishes which might be unfamiliar and discussed the content. Again, the restaurant staff managed to be both very competent and cheerful, with a genuine concern that we were enjoying ourselves.
The hotel is very close to the entrance to Petra, which is itself a fantastic place. We spent a day walking through the city, and returned for the 'Petra by Night' experience. The city warrants further exploration, and I would certainly stay in the Moevenpick on any future visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grange24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for posting your comments on tripadvisor. I have read your comments and feel excited to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The team and I are pleased to know that the hotel facilities and service provided were up to your satisfaction and exceeded your expectations.

We pride ourselves on providing "honest, uncomplicated, comfort" to all our guests and are pleased to hear we achieved our goal. The staff will be very proud to see that they were able to make your stay so great when we share your kind comments with them.

We would be delighted to host you should your travel plans bring you again to Petra.

Best regards,


Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and really enjoyed it. Its a small cosy hotel, may not really be a 5 star but it was still very good.
Only 3 mins walk to petra main gate with shops all around the hotel.
Beautiful lobby and bar area with a kind of turkish feel, the staff in the bar area are excellent nothing is too much trouble and they are very friendly. Had food from the bar area twice and it was very good with a nice choice, the pasta was great. The same goes for the buffet restaurant staff and the food was also very good and tasty with lots of choice but it is worth bartering the price down with the matradee for the evening meal which will go lower if you try!

The pool area is in the basement through corridoors and the well equipt gym, its enclosed with a small bar area, tables & chairs and sunloungers. Some of the sunlongers are broken so you can only lay in 1 position and as the sun moves you will end up in the shade with no where to move to as it was busy.

Wifi avaliable from receiption 1jd for 1 hour.
The hotel also has a roof top cafe/bar area for afternoon/evenings but I could never get a seat up there as it was always busy.

The rooms are small but functional and comfortable, the beds are really comfortable and I slept really well, the room had bathsalts which was welcome after a day at petra!

Only bad points I found was the breakfast quality was not as good as the other moevenpicks I had stayed in on the tour I was on and also less choice.
The food and drinks were really pricey more expensive than Amman, around £8 for a vodka and coke.
I found the man at reception rude and unhelpful but he was the only staff member I found that with which was a shame.

Overall I would recommend this hotel for your stay at Petra, its a fantastic location and the friendly staff will make your stay a good one.

Room Tip: Go for a lower floor room as there are only 2 lifts and they are very very slow
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miss-M-Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for posting your comments on tripadvisor. I have read your comments and feel excited to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The team and I are pleased to know that the hotel facilities and service provided were up to your satisfaction and exceeded your expectations.

We pride ourselves on providing "honest, uncomplicated, comfort" to all our guests and are pleased to hear we achieved our goal. The staff will be very proud to see that they were able to make your stay so great when we share your kind comments with them.

We would be delighted to host you should your travel plans bring you again to Petra.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

A pleasant and relaxing hotel to stay in, superbly located by the entrance to Petra. Staff were generally helpful. We enjoyed the rooftop restaurant and the central lounge and bar area. Some noise from the main street, so light sleepers should request a room at the back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katharinekatharine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the services and facilities provided exceeded your expectation.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort Petra in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Hotel Movenpick Petra was an outstanding oasis in Petra. Although we had booked a standard room, we were upgraded to a junior suite, corner room #312, which was extremely comfortable, clean and quiet with a lovely view of the pool. After a busy day of touring, it was so nice to return to the room and then relax at the awesome pool. The location was superb for touring Petra and the hotel itself had many nice restaurants (and we tried almost all of them because we were there for three nights). My only complaint is the prohibitively expensive price of alcohol. Nowhere in my world travels, have I had to pay this much for beer or wine. The hotel should definitely reconsider its pricing. We did receive exceptional service from the hotel’s staff, both in the reservations department, wait staff and housekeeping. Without a doubt, I would recommend the Hotel Movenpick Petra to any traveler.
Tips: Do go to Petra at 7 am. It was worth it to have the peace and quiet. Also, a trip to the Monastery on Day 1 and then a trip through Wadi Farasa on Day 2 are a must!

Room Tip: junior suite #312 is a corner unit - very quiet and has a view of the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPSWashington_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for posting your comments on tripadvisor. I have read your comments and feel excited to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The team and I are pleased to know that the hotel facilities and service provided were up to your satisfaction and exceeded your expectations.

We pride ourselves on providing "honest, uncomplicated, comfort" to all our guests and are pleased to hear we achieved our goal. The staff will be very proud to see that they were able to make your stay so great when we share your kind comments with them.

We would be delighted to host you should your travel plans bring you again to Petra.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Moevenpick during our visit to Petra. You can walk to the entrance of the park in 5 minutes...it's beyond convenient. The hotel itself is very nice, Arabic luxe with excellent service and excellent food. The breakfast buffet has a dizzying array of food and the a la carte menu was decent...we had a lunch brought to us poolside which was amazing. The rooms are standard, but updated, roomy, and comfortable. A very nice touch was the free/open minibar included in the room price. The one surprise, for a hotel of this class was that you had to pay extra for WiFi internet...I would have expected this to be included for a hotel of this class. Otherwise, we enjoyed the pool and gym and as I mentioned, you are at the park entrance when you wake up, so it can't get better than that. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mialulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for posting your comments on tripadvisor. I have read your comments and feel excited to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The team and I are pleased to know that the hotel facilities and service provided were up to your satisfaction and exceeded your expectations.

We pride ourselves on providing "honest, uncomplicated, comfort" to all our guests and are pleased to hear we achieved our goal. The staff will be very proud to see that they were able to make your stay so great when we share your kind comments with them.

We would be delighted to host you should your travel plans bring you again to Petra.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
1.5 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,023 reviews
0 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#2 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,637 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
951 reviews
0.9 mi away
Petra Sella Hotel
Petra Sella Hotel
#9 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
165 reviews
0.7 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort Petra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort Petra

Address: Tourism Street P.O.Box 214, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Ma'an Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#2 Business Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range: $153 - $849 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort Petra 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the hidden city. The Movenpick Resort Petra is the ideal starting point for exciting excursions to the ancient City of the Nabateans. It also offers an enchanting atmosphere for you to relax and unwind as never before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Resort Petra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort Petra Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
mövenpick Petra Wadi Musa
Movenpick Resort Petra Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing