We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closest hotel to Petra, Clean, friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Movenpick Resort Petra
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2011

The hotel is very close to the site, so you just go for visits by foot. The only reason I was here is for visiting Petra, and seeing the very few hotels arround I think that Movenpick was a good choice. Do not expect a Five star hotel, but it is still clean and confortable.

As we were visiting all day long, we did not spend many time in the hotel, but overall we were satisfied. The breakfast is good, the staff is friendly, the rooms confortable, the lobby and decor authentic and nice, we ordered room service dinner which was good.
I recommand if you are visiting Petra.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_Attorney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,349)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,280 - 2,286 of 3,349 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2011

This was our second stay at a Movenpick Hotel on our trip and we weren't quite sure what to expect after the jungle themed corridors and rooms in Aswan; this one exceeded expectations.

We couldn't really fault the hotel. The room and bathroom were clean in good condition and relatively modern. The lobby and lounge were really nicely done using an islamic influence of patterns, tiles, lights, window screens and water features. The food was on the above average end of the scale as was the service in that it was attentive, proactive and friendly. The hotel also has a great roof space for afternoon tea/drinks which is great for sitting and resting your weary feet after hiking around the amazing site of Petra.

Only grumbles: Check in/Check out was a bit slow as there only appeared to be one person on the front desk. No jacuzzi in the spa area, just a steam room - after hiking around Petra all day sinking into a jacuzzi would have been heaven!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danrichoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

I refer to your comments, regarding your recent stay with us at the Moevenpick Resort Petra, for which I thank you.
Your feedback is much appreciated and has as well been discussed with our rooms division Manager, in order to ensure that remedy actions are being taken accordingly.
I was pleased to read that you have overall enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your recommendation.
Assuring you of our best care and attention at all time, I remain,
Yours sincerely,
Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

We are Swiss and so we thought that staying at the Movenpick would be nothing but excellent. Well, we were set for a disappointment.
The room that we were assign had not even been cleaned. Not only that, but the bathroom was beyond dirty and I don't want to give details because it is really disgusting. It took them fairly long to send someone to clean.
We had asked for a baby cot. We had to call about three times until finally we got one WITHOUT a mattress. We were told the hotel did not have one, and so we had to improvise with a duvet.
The welcome card was written to someone else. I know this is not big deal but when you travel so long and see all these things happening one after the other, you start to care even about little things like this.
Also, the next day the room was "made" but the dirty glasses from the previous day had been left there. And the list can go on an on.
The service at the restaurants was very good, although the food was nothing special.
What is really good is the location. So if you go there enjoy that but do not expect the service or environment of a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BPBSMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

I refer to your comments, regarding your recent stay with us at the Moevenpick Resort Petra, for which I thank you.
We are sorry to read that you have faced some issue during your stay with us.

We are taking your comments very seriously and shall look into the areas you have mentioned.

Our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience you have suffered. in order to ensure that remedy actions are being taken accordingly.

Yours sincerely,
Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

Just returned from a stay at the Movenpick petra last month and have nothing but extremely good things to say about this hotel. First of all, the property, grounds and our room were spotless. This hotel has one of the best views of the park and is only a few minutes walk away from the entrance. Both the interior & exterior public spaces of the hotel have well framed, stunning views of the mountains, complete with a georgeous pool and delightful terrace which provide an exceptional venue from which to enjoy a drink and watch the sun go down.

The service at the hotel was among the best I've seen anywhere; with ample professional, courteous & clearly well trained staff, more than willing to go out of their way to assist- first class all around. Even the Chef's were available & willing to discuss their approach to regional food preparation.

We enjoyed two breakfasts & dinners in their 'saraya' Restaurant which is something of a high end buffet in nature. Both meals offered an extensive variety of items and it provided an opportunity to sample a broad range of food that I otherwise would not have been exposed to. The breakfast was one of the better ones I've had in the Middle East. Dinner, however, if not exceptional, was 'good' and the deserts more than carried their own weight. Dining at the hotel was a pleasant experience, afforded a good value & the food was well presented.

Our room was a 'standard' room All in all, I think the movenpick is certainly more worthy than others have ascribed, To be honest, entering Jordan from Israel we really didn't know what to expect & I can say that we were pleasantly surprised, if not impressed. I would go back again in a heartbeat & have no qualms whatsoever in recommending it to others.

Lou W

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keth_walling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2011

Dear Valued Guest

we highly appreciate that you have taken the time to write a review about your recent experience at the Mövenpick Resort Petra.

Your kind comments are source of great encouragement for the staff and the management to do even better in the future.

Hopping to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Mövenpick Resort Petra

Thank you
Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Rooms looked updated and beds comfy.Bathroom was bright but tub looked old.
Common spaces were wonderful esp lobby and rooftop bar.Nice helpful staff.
The best place to stay esp close to Petra entrance.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2011

Dear Valued Guest

We highly appreciate that you have taken the time to write a review about your recent experience at the Mövenpick Resort Petra.

Your kind comments are source of great encouragement for the staff and the management .

Hopping to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Mövenpick Resort Petra

With our best wishes.

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

We stayed for a couple of nights as part of a tour of Jordan with 2 kids. The hotel is very close to the entrance to the Siq - walking distance. There is the usual tight security at the entrance which could be a problem with delays if a tour group has just arrived - the hotel is popular with them. Check in was quick and easy but I would imagine could be slow at busy times. Our room was excellent large with 2 big double beds and much to the kids delight chocolate on the pillows. The hotel has a very impressive lobby in traditional architecture which is a great place to relax and watch the world go by. It was a pity the outdoor terrace roof top bar was closed. What delighted the kids was the basement games room with darts table tennis pool and other facilites aimed at kids. Great fun and kept them amused.There was a good choice of restaurants. With having the kids we chose the buffet restaurant ( good breakfasts by the way) and were not disappointed. Plenty of choice and good quality. There were a couple of other restaurants which also looked good. Overall an excellent choice in a great location for Petra which is stunning. The hotel does get busy with tour groups but then in this area all hotels probably do. I would not hesitate to recommend it and would happily stay here again

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark_weber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2011

Dear Valued Guest

We highly appreciate that you have taken the time to write a review about your recent experience at the Mövenpick Resort Petra.

Your kind comments are source of great encouragement for the staff and the management .

Hopping to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Mövenpick Resort Petra

With our best wishes.
Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

We chose this hotel based on the location plus wanting a nice place to stay that wouldn't cause us any problems. We got exactly what we wanted but at our expense.
Check in was quick and efficient. We got a free upgrade plus a nice welcome note and sweets in the room. These are the touches you appreciate when paying so much.
The room was clean, comfortable and was everything you see on the website.
The hotel is close by to other restaurant options as well as being right by the entrance to Petra.( However, there are other cheaper hotels that are just as close).
The staff were all very friendly and curteous.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Man_with_wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2011

Dear Valued Guest

we highly appreciate that you have taken the time to write a review about your recent experience at the Mövenpick Resort Petra.

Your kind comments are source of great encouragement for the staff and the management to do even better in the future.

Hopping to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Mövenpick Resort Petra

Thank you
Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
1.5 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,010 reviews
0.0 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#2 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,619 reviews
0.2 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
392 reviews
0.7 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
530 reviews
0.9 mi away
Petra Sella Hotel
Petra Sella Hotel
#11 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort Petra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort Petra

Address: Tourism Street P.O.Box 214, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Ma'an Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#5 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range: $154 - $766 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort Petra 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the hidden city. The Movenpick Resort Petra is the ideal starting point for exciting excursions to the ancient City of the Nabateans. It also offers an enchanting atmosphere for you to relax and unwind as never before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Resort Petra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort Petra Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
mövenpick Petra Wadi Musa
Movenpick Resort Petra Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing