We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Mid-Range Quality At Almost Budget Prices”
Review of Amra Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amra Palace Hotel
Ranked #15 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Having researched about, or stayed at, several establishments in Wadi Musa the Amra Palace Hotel stands head and shoulders above its rivals. Most budget options will charge between 30-45JD, offer a basic but reasonable breakfast (typically Pitta, spreadable cheese, jam and a boiled egg), have erratic heating and hot water facilities and certainly won't offer the comfort or ameneties of the Amra Palace. The real jewel in the Amra Palace's crown is the fact that at 45JD for a double room it offered sevices and facilities that none of the budget options could compete with, whilst on the whole costing only about 5-10JD a night extra.

Room and Sleeping

Rooms were reasonably sized (though some may find them a little small) with huge wooden-framed beds and tasteful, well maintained decor- not a lick of paint missing or a speck of dirt visible in the bathroom. Heat was provided by a non-invasive and quiet A/C unit and hot water was available throughout the day- and a relaxing shower is a must after a day of trekking in Petra. The television had a myriad of channels catering for speakers of a variety of different languages and the linen on the bed was changed daily by a helpful, friendly cleaner. Sleep was easy, peaceful and replenishing- though we did read reviews from bloggers that the rooms near the laundry can be noisy and disruptive- perhaps best to ask the management if the rooms will be in this part of the hotel and either request a discount or a room change. The view of the town was beautiful from the bedroom window and the moon so vivid over the mountains it's as if you're enjoying a second sunset before sunrise.

Eating

Breakfast buffet is complimentary and also fairly comprehensive. There is a wide range of local and European breads and an even broader selection of cheeses, creams, yoghurts, sauces, jams and marmalades. Boiled eggs, mini hot dogs, scrambled eggs and soup were available as were cereals, juice, milk, doughnuts, cakes, fruit, fruit-salad, vegetables and teas and coffee. All of the food was delicious barring the dodgy hot-dogs (though this is standard fare for countries where pork is not eaten- as I know from living in Dubai). The only lowlight was the functional but unemotive waitresses- the only staff that didn't exhibit an extremely helpful, willing and kind attitude towards their patrons. The evening buffet is a mere 7JD but my partner and I preferred to go and eat at some of the excellent local restaurants- Al Arrabi being the pick of these.

Facilities

The hotel has a pool and simple spa that offers a few tempting extras: for a very reasonable 14JD you can enjoy a Turkish Bath including massage, scrub, sauna, steaming and jacuzzi. Or, if you just prefer the bubbles, 7JD for a day's use of the jacuzzi, with tea and unlimited internet access thrown in. The jacuzzi was a welcome, luxurious and unexpected treat at the end of a hard day's walking, trekking and mountain climbing. The internet service at the hotel is reasonably priced and the connections and computers are modern, fast and available 24 hours a day.

Staff

Staff were efficient, polite, knowledgable, good-humoured and proficient in a number of languages. With the exception of the functional but miserable breakfast-waiting team, all staff were highly professional and pleasantly complemented our stay.

Overall, although Amra Palace is not top-end in the strictest sense of the expression you are getting better than average facilities, great staff and a guaranteed good night's sleep for a minimal outlay of cash. You will pay through the nose for the Movenpick or Crown Plaza, and you will pay a similar rate for a run-down, unreliable budget guest-house or hotel. All in all- when visiting Petra, Amra Palace is a must.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank richardmalpass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

716 - 722 of 1,119 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2011

A good base for visitors to the ancient site of Petra.
The hotel has good sized rooma and includes a good value breakfast. We used the swimming pool and enjoyed it although in the two days that we stayed we did not see anyone else use it so we had it to ourselves each time. The hotel also offers Turkish Baths Saunas and allsorts of other facilities but we did not use them.
The main reason to stay is to visit Petra, we were disappointed because we wanted to see "Petra by Night" where they put hundreds of candles down at night and it is a wonderful experience. Sadly when we went it was raining and it was cancelled!
The hotel says it is a 20/25 minute walk from Petra which I guess it is but there is so much walking around Petra that I think even Sherpa Tenzing would have been exhausted walking back to the hotel after exploring Petra.
Admission to Petra is 50JD for 1 day, 55JD for 2, If you are not staying in Jordan and just visiting the country for a day they charge 90JD admission. I think admission used to include a variety of forms of transportation but now no transportation is included. Horses, Horse drawn vehicles, Camels and donkeys are used to transport people through various parts of Petra. We chose to walk the entire way which is a long walk, I have a pedometer and it measured 21,000 steps, about 1000 of those steps are verticle in the climb to the Monastery which we found a difficult climb! But well worth it. We arrived very early at Petra I think it opens about 6, we were there at 7 and had the place almost completely to ourselves.
Petra is a fascinating place and anyone visiting needs to be aware that they are likely to take about 1000 photographs of all the fantastic sites.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank i_tasker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2011

The Amra Palace Hotel is clean and comfortable, and has a variety of amenities such as a Turkish bath and internet café—but what struck me most was the incredible staff. In particular, a woman named Aya at the front desk who so cheerful and helpful every step of the way. She personifies excellent customer service and the rest of the staff was also excellent.

We opted for the diner buffet at the hotel out first night as we were exhausted, and I can't say we enjoyed the dinner very much, although it was not terrible. However, dining choices in Wadi Mousa are limited as it;'s rather a small town. There is a pretty good shwarma, etc. place callled Al Arabi within walking distance that I would recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maritxu_Viaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2011

Our tour company placed us here and we were very happy with it. As a family of 4 we had two rooms across the hall from each other (one with a queen bed, one with twin beds where we put the kids ages 12 & 14). The rooms were very clean and the beds comfortable.There was a reasonable amount of space, and the furnishings were in excellent condition. Great shower, which was really nice after a full day of hiking at Petra. Beautiful view from one of our rooms over the town of Wadi Musa (see photo). Breakfast and dinner buffets were very good, with attentive staff. No trouble walking down to Petra, but it would be quite steep coming back, so I recommend a taxi for that (about 3 JD). The hotel had various helpful bits of information posted in the lobby. It was a little noisy early in the morning with activity at nearby construction sites but not enough to cause actual problems.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nmgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

Room was ok:spacious and clean. However the bathroom needed some maintenance and the towels looked to be very old.
The hotel has also nice swimming pool, jacuzzi and Turkish bath.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rostaluma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

For value for money this hotel is a great option
Its clean and tidy, the rooms are just big enough
The bathroom is just adequate.
The beads are very comfrotable.
The breakfast has a reasonable selection.
The buffet dinner for 7.50 Dinars is good value.
The staff are friendly and very helpful
My only complaint is the noise from the air conditioners in the other rooms seem to resonate, and the did make it difficult for me to get to sleep.
So if you are a light sleeper, be warned
Other wise a good all round hotel
One of the reception staff is an Australian girl named Aya, so if you are an Aussie, stay here and have a chat, as she was very helpful in helping with our stay

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenton K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

Amra Palace Hotel is located at the top hill of Wadi Musa and although a 20 minute stroll from the Petra Visitor Centre is the perfect base from which to explore Petra and indeed further afield. Rooms with ensuite bathrooms all very clean with fresh linen and towels every day. the reception staff are incredibly helpful. there is a special offer of JD13 for turkish hamman and free internet. Breakfast is very substantial and as a mid range hotel it has many of the services you would expect of a top end hotel ....without the price tag!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kingdomDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.1 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
392 reviews
0.8 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#2 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,619 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tetra Tree Hotel
Tetra Tree Hotel
#14 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
530 reviews
1.5 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,010 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seven Wonders Hotel
Seven Wonders Hotel
#10 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amra Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amra Palace Hotel

Address: P.O Box 124, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'an Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#5 Business Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range: $41 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amra Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amra Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Amra Palace
Amra Palace Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing