We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good middle of the road place, but here are some tips”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Amra Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amra Palace Hotel
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good middle of the road place, but here are some tips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2009

Check in every box-- nothing to complain about. It's not exactly overwhelming luxury, but it's clean, it feels like a well-run place, the rooms are good, and it's all in all a very good hotel. There's a very nice veranda with dining tables and low couch/ ottoman areas. The rooms have a great view of Wadi Musa. Having said that, here are a few tips.

First, unlike some of the other hotels that are closer, Amra Palace is a short drive to the entrance of Petra. If you have a car (we did) it's no problem, as there is ample parking and the directions are easy (but check with the front desk first for directions-- they spoke perfect English and have maps). Also, for your departure, the front desk has a map with easy directions to different places you might need: gas station, grocery store, directions to Petra, Amman, Aqaba and Wadi Rum.

Second, our Lonely Planet highly recommended the Turkish Bath. We got one, and found that it was not quite so intense. Also the guy spilled soap water in my nose which ruined the bath for me, so make sure to protect your nose when he loofahs your face. Also the hot tub next to the pool was scalding hot and therefore unusable, but the pool was quite refreshing.

Third, the breakfast and dinner buffets were not very good and neither was the sheesha. I'm sure this will change very soon, but Petra still has kind of a backwater feel to it.

Fourth, there is a mosque across the street that has a loudspeaker pointed right at the hotel. This mosque is fond of doing a lengthy call to prayer in the middle of the night. It is very, very loud. And long.

Finally, before you go to Petra, bring a backpack and make sure to stop at a grocery store to pick up as many 2litre water bottles as you can carry, as well as some salty snacks for electrolytes and other things for Petra. The best place to do this is on the drive from Amman to Petra, on the side of the road between Amman and the airport in a big rest stop that has a gas station and lots of cheap food shops. Once you're near the front gate of Petra, the place is set up to price gouge the hell out of you, and with all the walking and hiking, you will need plenty of food and water.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank nangu_pangu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    425
    153
    43
    12
See reviews for
207
459
102
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2009

Stayed for one night - Very clean room - nice, plush bed with modern duvet. Friendly staff. Good shower with plenty of hot water. Not luxurious but perfectly adequate and a good value for the money. Sits up on a hill above town and has a terrace with a nice view. Indoor pool. Good, plentiful breakfast except no fresh juice. Be sure to request a room at the back of the hotel to avoid being awakened by the call to prayer from the neighboring mosque.

Only drawback is that it's too far to walk down to Petra - need to take a cab.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lizryan100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2009

Stayed at the Amra Palace for one night after staying at Petra Palace for three nights...too bad it wasn't the other way around. Had a great room (no view) with a plush king size bed, and the room had recently been carpeted. It seemed clean and comfortable, including the bathroom. It also had a nice pool area, and a sundeck. I didn't try the Turkish Bath. The only drawback is that you would need a car, or not mind taking a cab, as most of the nicer restaurants and tourist shops, as well as Petra, are down the hill, and after hiking through Petra all day you are unlikely to want to walk back down for supper (the hotel serves a buffet supper).

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NFTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Amra Palace for 3 nights, then decided to come back for 1 more night after our overnight at Wadi Rum since we had not gotten enough of Petra and we really enjoyed our stay at Amra Palace. It was nice to come back to a spacious, clean room and a nice shower after a long day of hiking. Service was truly excellent - the staff was professional and hospitable. Breakfast was a full buffet, including eggs and sausage.
We opted to go for this hotel away from the entrance instead of the Movenpick and saved a lot of money. You can always go directly to the Movenpick after your hike for drinks and ice cream, and then take the 2JD cab to the Amra.
Only downside - the singing guy at 4am! But we were able to fall back asleep right afterwards so it was more funny than annoying in the end.
Overall, Petra was a great experience and our stay at the Amra Palace made a big impact on this.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smilingtraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2009

We stayed at Amra for two days after we had read the reviews in Tripadvisor. We did see the note about the mosque just across the hotel and its wake up call, but we were bound to wake up early anyways so we went for it. It turned out to be a short call, that we didn't even wake up to the second morning. Besides, Wadi Musa is so small you could probably hear it everywhere and not just from the Amra. The room was great, very clean with fluffy pillows and snow white bedding. Not particularly large but ok in size. The bathroom could use a face lift, but nothing a change of tiles and taps couldn't fix. The staff was extremely eager to help our every need ie, the sink tap was broken and so the water didn't go anywhere, we called reception and a guy showed up 5 minutes later to fix it. which he did! Reception was also very eager to help us out with info about travelling to and from wadi rum etc. Unfortunately we didn't check out the pool or hammam so no comments there.

  • Liked — The staff that was friendly and the oh so comfy bed!!
  • Disliked — The bathroom that could definately use a face lift.
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank blackadder1002002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipley, West Yorskshire, UK
Level Contributor
134 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2009

We stayed here as part of a group tour of Jordan for 3 nights.
Room was clean and there was a warm shower that worked. We had a room at the back of the hotel and were not disturbed by the call to prayer unlike some others. Dodgy electrics - hairdryer came with added sparks.

Breakfast was fine, and we ate in the hotel on the first night. The food was fine - buffet style, but the organisation was terrible. There were huge queues and people piling everything (all 3 courses) on to their plates in case things ran out and to avoid a 20 minute wait for each course. Total madhouse.

I used the Turkish bath which was staffed by people from Malaysia, so the experience was not particularly Turkish, but was fine.

Coffee shop served good coffee and several of the party enjoyed the hubbly bubbly pipe.

  • Liked — location, warm showers
  • Disliked — mayhem at meal times
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireUKtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2008

There are no street names in Petra so we just asked other hotels where Amra Palace was.

When we pulled into the parking lot a bell boy was already there to help us with our bags. We were welcomed and briefed on our rooms and the facility the hotel provides.

The room and bathroom were very clean! Except for the air-conditioner there was only heat coming out of it even though we put it on "cool" mode, so we just opened the window it was very fresh!

The speaker for the prayers is next to the hotel, so it gave us our wakeup call for 1 hour starting from when the sun rose! It was a true awakening but we had to get up early anyway!

Breakfast consisted of toast, eggs, sausages, vegetables, cakes, dried fruit, tea/coffee and fruit juices. Was definately enough for the long trek ahead in Petra!

Overall I will definately stay at this hotel on my next visit!

  • Liked — It was very clean!
  • Disliked — The prayer speakers was outside the hotel!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gaynorchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.1 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#1 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.8 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#3 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,508 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#4 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
0.1 mi away
P Quattro Relax Hotel
P Quattro Relax Hotel
#2 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tetra Tree Hotel
Tetra Tree Hotel
#11 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amra Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amra Palace Hotel

Property: Amra Palace Hotel
Address: P.O Box 124, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#5 Business Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amra Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Amra Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Amra Palace
Amra Palace Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing