We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Amra Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amra Palace Hotel
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Friendly and Comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed here for two days in July. We were very happy with our stay. The rooms were comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was decent and the staff in the eating area were helpful and accommodating. The gardens are quite beautiful, and eating outside in the morning, overlooking the fountain and flowers was very nice. Wifi was strong throughout the hotel (and free) and the air-conditioning was also strong (a necessity for the heat of July). Overall, we were pleased with our stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ug97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    425
    154
    43
    12
See reviews for
207
460
102
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

We really enjoyed staying here. The staff was wonderful and it's a very nice hotel. Most comfortable beds ever! Didn't get a chance to use the pool or the turkish bath but the pool looked great. They were kind enough to keep the dinner buffet open for us when we checked in late. Wish we'd stayed longer...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mario G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed here for one night while visiting Petra. The hotel staff were very kind and accomodating. Our room was comforable, clean and had all the amenities that you could want. We also appreciated our view of Petra in the distance. For dinner we had the buffet that the hotel proposed and ate mostly arabic food; everything was fresh and filling.

After walking countless kilometres inside Petra we were delighted to take a dip in the pool!

Recommended!

Room Tip: ASk for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cherry_streets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

We enjoyed our stay very much. We arrived very late and the hotel surprised us with opening the SPA out of hours just for us (two families, 10 persons altogether). We had a very pleasant private SPA time with great massages and also the children (between eight and thirteen years) very much enjoyed this experience. Afterwards dinner was served at 10 p.m. again only for us and when we found out at midnight that a toothbrush was missing, it was organized that the pharmacy opened once again at midnight in order to sell the missing toothbrush. When we found out some days later that we had forgotten some precious item in a bathrobe it was even delivered to Amman Airport before we left the country. Outstanding service and great people!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anit33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

The accommodation was a welcome relief after a long days tour in Petra. The room was small for three people but adequate as long as you didn't have a loud snorer as we did. We recommend you insist your tour gives you separate rooms if this is the case. The staff were friendly and helpful and the facilities like the swimming pool and Turkish hamam (spa) were excellent. The only slight let down with the place is the buffet food on offer. We found none of it was fresh and at times there were flies in food.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveljourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for one night while touring Petra. We picked the hotel over a similar but four-star rated hotel because of previous reviews in TripAdvisor. In terms of the room, it was very nice. The bed was comfortable, with plenty of outlets for recharging cameras and camcorders. The bathroom was ok, but the shower provided little water pressure. The only real issue we had was with the evening meal. The meal was served outside with no opportunity to sit inside. While that generally would not be a problem, the weather turned unexpectedly chilly and windy. The food was acceptable, but not overly tasty. Breakfast in the morning was better, but somewhat limited. Overall, we would recommend the hotel when visiting Petra.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AgingTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

A good price for a hotel with a pool. No particular complaints about the room. The food was okay. An omelet chef in the morning hit the spot, but the dinner was to run away from. One dessert resembled a flamingo pink pin cushion and the cappuccino, while beautifully presented, tasted like essence of root vegetable. You could probably walk from Petra to the Amra, but we were never plucky enough to figure out the route and the large hill on the way intimidated us. One of the great features was the taxi pricing. We got scalped when we walked out of Petra and plucked a cab to take us back to Amra. The Amra manager told us they sometimes have difficulty getting taxis because they have negotiated a low rate, but we never experienced that problem. Once called by the hotel, taxis arrived promptly and charged the reasonable rate set by the hotel. Our first day we spent 10 hours walking the glories of Petra. Returned to the Amra with a-c-h-i-n-g muscles. I headed for the beautiful pool, clad in an ancient world setting. As I was swimming, I contemplated having a massage in the hamam right there. But the swimming (had the cool pool to myself) and then motionless floating in the jacuzzi (again - had it all to myself) deeply soothed the fatigue.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuieKnife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.1 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#1 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.8 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#3 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#4 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
0.1 mi away
P Quattro Relax Hotel
P Quattro Relax Hotel
#2 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tetra Tree Hotel
Tetra Tree Hotel
#11 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amra Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amra Palace Hotel

Property: Amra Palace Hotel
Address: P.O Box 124, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#5 Business Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amra Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amra Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Amra Palace
Amra Palace Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing