We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly accommodation with character”
Review of Amra Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amra Palace Hotel
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Reviewed July 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Amra Palace Hotel for two nights during a recent visit at Petra. Room was cool and spacious with a great view over Wadi Musa. Staff all very helpful and the owner made a point of talking to guests on the terrace after dinner. The swimming pool was a delight to use - spotlessly clean and refreshing. We ate breakfasts and dinner in the hotel and were very pleased with the buffet choice. Being up the hill and about a mile from the Petra entrance was not a problem as we had our own transport and parking is available near to Petra but maybe I wouldn't have wanted to walk back to the hotel after all the walking in Petra, however there are plenty of taxis and I believe the Amra Palace also runs a shuttle bus service. Overall a friendly and pleasant place to stay, good value and nicely set apart from the bustle of the Petra entrance.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmraPalace, General Manager at Amra Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Valued Guest.
It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and thank you for writing about your experiences.
We love nothing more than hearing from a satisfied guest who found all aspects of the hotel to be enjoyable from the meals to the facilities in the rooms to the swimming pool area.
Our quiet garden location certainly does provide quests with the opportunity to be able to relax and recover after long days walking in Petra away from the business of town.
Please come back and stay with us again.
Warm Regards
Ali Nawafleh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,109)
There are newer reviews for Amra Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 1,109 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

A lovely hotel, not 5 star but the welcome certainly is. The staff are friendly, polite and so helpful they really made the visit memorable. The room was comfortable and spotlessly clean, breakfast was OK and the pool and jacuzzi were very nice and especially welcome after a day walking around Petra. Great value for money, I cannot fault this hotel. And free wifi!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C.Cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmraPalace, General Manager at Amra Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Valued Guest.
We really appreciate the great review that your have provided of your stay at our hotel.
All our staff pride themselves on being very helpful and friendly and providing guests with a level of service that makes them feel welcome and that the hotel is their home away from home. We loved hearing that you were able to relax and enjoy the pool and jacuzzi after a long hot day in Petra.
We would love to welcome you, your family and friends to our hotel in the future.
Warm Regards
Ali Nawafleh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Amra Palace Hotel for two nights during a recent visit at Petra. The hotel offered a very good price-quality. Most of all, however, we were impressed with the very, very friendly service we received at both the hotel reception and restaurant. It was a truly exotic experience to have dinner out on the terrace just after sunset with the call for prayers in the background... We also enjoyed the Turkish bath and the pool after exploring Petra on a very hot summer's day.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank marjokay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmraPalace, General Manager at Amra Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Valued Guest.
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel when you visited Petra.
Our staff work very hard to make our guests feel welcome and to be able to help out in a friendly and professional nature. Relaxing on the terrace whilst enjoying dinner a drink or just watching the sunset is a lovely experience for our guests.
We wish to welcome you back to Amra Palace again.
Warm Regards
Ali Nawafleh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was ok and reasonable value for money. The corridors are quite dark and the rooms are adequate but basic. Breakfast was quite good. The best thing about the hotel was the pool. After a day walking around Petra it was lovely to come back to a clean, cool swimming pool. Location is in the town centre, so you either need to use their transport or a taxi to get to the Visitor Centre. We ate in Red Cave near the site entrance and it was brilliant.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank DTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmraPalace, General Manager at Amra Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your review. It's great to hear that you really enjoyed our lovely indoor pool. It's a great way to cool down and relax after a long hot day walking in Petra. We provide a free shuttle bus for guests in the morning and afternoon to the site of Petra and we also have free car parking at the hotel if you have your own transport.
Thank you for staying at our hotel.
Warm Regards
Ali Nawafleh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

On a recent trip to Petra we stayed at the Amra Palace based on TripAdvisor reviews. We found that the hotel lived up to it's rating, particularly in terms of service.

We arrived late in the evening, and despite it being nearly the middle of the night, the person at the desk explained all of their services, all about Petra, and even found a couple of (non-alcoholic) beers for us.

The rooms were very clean, if a bit small, and the beds were very nice. The hotel building looks to be quite old, so there is some wear and tear, but it reminded me of some of the quaint small hotels I have stayed at in Europe.

Breakfast was included in our room rate, and was very good, with a selection of middle Eastern food, pastries, and a chef making waffles and omelettes.

The hotel is about 5 minutes drive from the Petra visitor center, and they also have a free shuttle. They will even pack you a bag lunch to take.

We were only there one night, and didn't eat dinner there, but we did use the pool, which is very nice after a long day hiking around Petra. They also have a hammam, which for 12 JD will give you the full Turkish bath and massage.

There is also a nice terrace to eat breakfast or dinner on, or just hang out in the evening, a bar with shisha, and free WiFi throughout the hotel.

As we were leaving, after a quick morning trip into Petra, the bellman meet us with our luggage (we had left it with the front desk after checking out), and even offered us a shower before or drive back to Amman. It w really the service that made the place, with the staff knowing who we were and looking after us really well.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the town below, on the front of the hotel, rather than the hillside in the back.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BBCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmraPalace, General Manager at Amra Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Dear Valued Guest
We thank you for taking the time to provide a great review of your recent stay with us.
We strive to provide a level of service that ensures all our guests enjoy their stay and it is great to hear that you found our staff to be professional and informative. Being able to provide guests with the facilities to shower when they return from Petra even if they have checked out is just one of the extra things that we are able to do.
We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Jordan as much as you enjoyed Petra and your stay at our hotel.
Warm Regards
Ali Nawafleh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Amra Palace is a well run, independent hotel in Wadi Musa and makes for an excellent base to see Petra. The rooms are spacious, clean and reasonably priced. The on-site Amra Dry Cleaners offers excellent, professional laundry at a reasonable price - an essential after a few days of heavy hiking in Petra. The bed are comfortable, and linen and towels are changed daily. Add TV, unlimited free Wifi, delicious breakfast and generous lunchboxes for your day out in Petra, terrace restaurant, swimming pool and parking - what more could you ask for?
The staff at Amra Palace are truly impressive - helpful, polite and only too eager to help you make your stay comfortable and relaxing. The Receptionists went out of their way to arrange a hiking guide for a day trip to Little Petra, and everything was arranged efficiently and without hassle. This was one of the best hotels of our stay in Jordan.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CompassRoseK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmraPalace, General Manager at Amra Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Valued Guest
Your wonderful review about your recent stay is very much appreciated.
We pride ourselves on being able to offer a level of service that ensures that all our guests enjoy their stay and to hear that we were one of best hotels that you stayed in whilst holidaying in Jordan lets us now that we are achieving our aim.
Services such as the onsite laundry provide our guests with the convenience to have their clothes cleaned in a short time frame no matter if they are staying for one night or several.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Warm Regards
Ali Nawafleh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Went to Petra, stayed at the Amra Palace. Staff is great, hotel is clean, organized and a great value for the money; including a swimming pool and hot tub. Convenient transportation between hotel and Petra Site.Food was terrific and very reasonable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelLevinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmraPalace, General Manager at Amra Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for your positive review on TripAdvisor.
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and all the services and facilities offered by our hotel.
We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Jordan.
Warm Regards
Ali Nawafleh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.8 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#2 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,586 reviews
0.1 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
520 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#1 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tetra Tree Hotel
Tetra Tree Hotel
#10 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seven Wonders Hotel
Seven Wonders Hotel
#8 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
294 reviews
1.5 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amra Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amra Palace Hotel

Address: P.O Box 124, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#5 Business Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range: $40 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amra Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Amra Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Amra Palace
Amra Palace Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing