We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exotic but not too much so”
Review of Amra Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amra Palace Hotel
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Exotic but not too much so”
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at Amra Palace Hotel for two nights during a recent visit at Petra. The hotel offered a very good price-quality. Most of all, however, we were impressed with the very, very friendly service we received at both the hotel reception and restaurant. It was a truly exotic experience to have dinner out on the terrace just after sunset with the call for prayers in the background... We also enjoyed the Turkish bath and the pool after exploring Petra on a very hot summer's day.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank marjokay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmraPalace, General Manager at Amra Palace Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest.
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel when you visited Petra.
Our staff work very hard to make our guests feel welcome and to be able to help out in a friendly and professional nature. Relaxing on the terrace whilst enjoying dinner a drink or just watching the sunset is a lovely experience for our guests.
We wish to welcome you back to Amra Palace again.
Warm Regards
Ali Nawafleh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    430
    158
    44
    14
See reviews for
208
466
104
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon, U.K
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was ok and reasonable value for money. The corridors are quite dark and the rooms are adequate but basic. Breakfast was quite good. The best thing about the hotel was the pool. After a day walking around Petra it was lovely to come back to a clean, cool swimming pool. Location is in the town centre, so you either need to use their transport or a taxi to get to the Visitor Centre. We ate in Red Cave near the site entrance and it was brilliant.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmraPalace, General Manager at Amra Palace Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your review. It's great to hear that you really enjoyed our lovely indoor pool. It's a great way to cool down and relax after a long hot day walking in Petra. We provide a free shuttle bus for guests in the morning and afternoon to the site of Petra and we also have free car parking at the hotel if you have your own transport.
Thank you for staying at our hotel.
Warm Regards
Ali Nawafleh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

On a recent trip to Petra we stayed at the Amra Palace based on TripAdvisor reviews. We found that the hotel lived up to it's rating, particularly in terms of service.

We arrived late in the evening, and despite it being nearly the middle of the night, the person at the desk explained all of their services, all about Petra, and even found a couple of (non-alcoholic) beers for us.

The rooms were very clean, if a bit small, and the beds were very nice. The hotel building looks to be quite old, so there is some wear and tear, but it reminded me of some of the quaint small hotels I have stayed at in Europe.

Breakfast was included in our room rate, and was very good, with a selection of middle Eastern food, pastries, and a chef making waffles and omelettes.

The hotel is about 5 minutes drive from the Petra visitor center, and they also have a free shuttle. They will even pack you a bag lunch to take.

We were only there one night, and didn't eat dinner there, but we did use the pool, which is very nice after a long day hiking around Petra. They also have a hammam, which for 12 JD will give you the full Turkish bath and massage.

There is also a nice terrace to eat breakfast or dinner on, or just hang out in the evening, a bar with shisha, and free WiFi throughout the hotel.

As we were leaving, after a quick morning trip into Petra, the bellman meet us with our luggage (we had left it with the front desk after checking out), and even offered us a shower before or drive back to Amman. It w really the service that made the place, with the staff knowing who we were and looking after us really well.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the town below, on the front of the hotel, rather than the hillside in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BBCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmraPalace, General Manager at Amra Palace Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest
We thank you for taking the time to provide a great review of your recent stay with us.
We strive to provide a level of service that ensures all our guests enjoy their stay and it is great to hear that you found our staff to be professional and informative. Being able to provide guests with the facilities to shower when they return from Petra even if they have checked out is just one of the extra things that we are able to do.
We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Jordan as much as you enjoyed Petra and your stay at our hotel.
Warm Regards
Ali Nawafleh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Amra Palace is a well run, independent hotel in Wadi Musa and makes for an excellent base to see Petra. The rooms are spacious, clean and reasonably priced. The on-site Amra Dry Cleaners offers excellent, professional laundry at a reasonable price - an essential after a few days of heavy hiking in Petra. The bed are comfortable, and linen and towels are changed daily. Add TV, unlimited free Wifi, delicious breakfast and generous lunchboxes for your day out in Petra, terrace restaurant, swimming pool and parking - what more could you ask for?
The staff at Amra Palace are truly impressive - helpful, polite and only too eager to help you make your stay comfortable and relaxing. The Receptionists went out of their way to arrange a hiking guide for a day trip to Little Petra, and everything was arranged efficiently and without hassle. This was one of the best hotels of our stay in Jordan.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CompassRoseK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmraPalace, General Manager at Amra Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest
Your wonderful review about your recent stay is very much appreciated.
We pride ourselves on being able to offer a level of service that ensures that all our guests enjoy their stay and to hear that we were one of best hotels that you stayed in whilst holidaying in Jordan lets us now that we are achieving our aim.
Services such as the onsite laundry provide our guests with the convenience to have their clothes cleaned in a short time frame no matter if they are staying for one night or several.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Warm Regards
Ali Nawafleh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Went to Petra, stayed at the Amra Palace. Staff is great, hotel is clean, organized and a great value for the money; including a swimming pool and hot tub. Convenient transportation between hotel and Petra Site.Food was terrific and very reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelLevinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmraPalace, General Manager at Amra Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for your positive review on TripAdvisor.
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and all the services and facilities offered by our hotel.
We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Jordan.
Warm Regards
Ali Nawafleh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

we were very impressed with the hotel The room was spacious and we had a king size bed.

It was very clean and the TV had channels to watch from so many countries and so much variety -we loved it

We had the evening buffet and the breakfast buffet and both were excellent

The front desk was very corteous and very accomodating

The location was excellent-5 min drive to Petra but they also had a shuttle bus as well-FREE

We would recommend this hotel to everyone-you won't be disappointed

Room Tip: get a king size bed-you won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shnipson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmraPalace, General Manager at Amra Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide such a great review on your recent stay at our hotel.
All our double rooms feature a king size bed for our guests comfort and rest. It's great to hear that you enjoyed the meals offered by our chefs who certainly work very hard to provide meals of an excellent standard.
Your recommendation to others is very much appreciated.
We would love to have you come and stay with us again.
Warm Regards
Ali Nawafleh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Amra Palace is an economical choice for accommodation in wadi musa. The staff is excellent regarding many services including providing access to internet and assistance on questions regarding travel to petra. Importantly, feedback from staff on hotel performance is solicited in a very personal and genuine manner. Meals are of a high standard, we had several evening buffet dinners which were exceptional. Drinks and relaxation on the upper terrace is a very welcome experience after a day in Petra. All points considered, this is a very good hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james_m154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmraPalace, General Manager at Amra Palace Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Your excellent review on TripAdvisor is greatly appreciated.
We have passed on your complements to the chefs about enjoying the food that was on offer for the buffet dinners. It's great that you were able to make use of our garden terrace and enjoy a drink whilst relaxing and watching the sunset.
We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your time in Jordan as much as you did at Petra and our hotel.
Warm Regards
Ali Nawafleh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.8 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,540 reviews
0.1 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#2 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
516 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
872 reviews
1.5 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
931 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Maison Hotel Petra
La Maison Hotel Petra
#33 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amra Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amra Palace Hotel

Property: Amra Palace Hotel
Address: P.O Box 124, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#5 Business Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amra Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amra Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Amra Palace
Amra Palace Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing