We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“VERY GOOD HOTEL” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amra Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amra Palace Hotel
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Toulouse, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“VERY GOOD HOTEL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Very kind people ,very helpful in a clean and very nice hotel
the owner,Khaled ,is very pleased to speak whith foreiners and always trying to help;we have been discussing whith him around a chicha for a long time and it was very intersting!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JLL121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    424
    151
    43
    12
See reviews for
207
457
101
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed overnight as part of our tour (a combined effort of DesertEcotours and Jordanian Experience) and it included dinner and breakfast. We arrived after a full day of Petra amidst snow sleet and rain to discover this charming oasis! The beds were comfy, the TV worked, the bathroom was sparkling. And they have a Turkish Bath, complete with steam room and massage!!! We decided to avail ourselves of the bath before dinner and we're still laughing about it. After dinner we were invited to the cafe to have tea with some local people and some other tourists. Wonderful conversation and hospitality! A great place to re-energize for our trip to Wadi Rum!

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I'm so glad this hotel was recommended to me by a native of Wadi Rum (where Petra is located) because it hadn't come up in my hotel search. I agree with all the previous comments. Special mention to Khalid and Fayiz on reception. Khalid's cousin Hani makes an excellent guide for day trips, he was willing to chat about anything which was very informative and made the day more interesting. A general tip regarding day-trips/taxi rides in Jordan, agree the price before going on the trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bibi7628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
421 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights after 2 full days of sightseeing in Petra. The hotel is not far from the shops and only a short drive away from the entrance to Petra, and there is a lovely view from the hotel in the evening as you look across the hills. Our room was quite small, especially the bathroom, but adequate for our needs. The tv had hundreds of channels which was good although it was a challenge finding the English channels. The buffet breakfast and dinners were pretty tasty and there was a good variety of different foods.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missyb_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Really good value for money! This hotel is great for the price (we paid 50JD per night per room), the staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are done to international standards and the king size bed was one of the best I ever slept in. Never seen such a big breakfast buffet neither. The best thing though was the huge indoor pool, the jacuzzi and the Turkish bath (don't miss it!). For a really good price (13 JD), we so much enjoyed the hammam, scrubbing and massage treatment after a long day in the cold and rain in Petra. At 11pm, when the jacuzzi normally closes, the very friendly owner told us to still go and even drink our bottle of champagne there. We liked it so much that we stayed an extra night. We also made use of their very good deal for Wadi Rum. A 4x4 tour in Wadi Rum and a night at a Bedouin camp with all food included and entrance to the desert for 45 JD per person. You won't find much cheaper than that. The only thing I wouldn't recommend was the dinner. You can get better, more personal food in town.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marieke-BE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Compared to the price this is a really good stay. Nice and friendly staff. Clean room. Nice bed! When we arrived the room was cold. it took most of the night to heat up the room but then it was warm. All my concerns about freezing hotel experience disappeared dispite the continuous cold bathroom. A minor detail.

The hotel offers free shuttle bus service to Petra and return. Location is great. The hotel is located in Wadi must down town. Here you can eat really good at low cost. Local people are friendly, open minded and ready to start a conversation. We had lots of good laughs.

Try the Turkish bath at Amra Palace hotel. You won't regret it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJCCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Great value for money. From now on, I will compare every hotel I stay at against Amra, it's hard to beat. The staff was great and cheery, the bed was very soft and the jacuzzi was a welcome bonus after a day of walking around Petra. One thing I would warn people against, if you are planning to take a trip to Wadi Rum, the guide that the hotel recommends, Saod, is not very good. I'm uncertain if AMRA Palace has received similar complaints about this particular guide but we were very disappointed with him. He speaks English but we were assigned to one of his employees who was nice enough but couldn't speak much English therefore there was no such thing as 'guided tour' of Wadi Rum. Saod himself barely spent any time with us, only at dinner time at the camp and that seemed more like an obligation to him. Find another guide at Wadi Rum!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsTang19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.2 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#1 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#3 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.8 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#2 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#6 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
1.5 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tetra Tree Hotel
Tetra Tree Hotel
#10 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amra Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amra Palace Hotel

Property: Amra Palace Hotel
Address: P.O Box 124, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#5 Business Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amra Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Amra Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Amra Palace
Amra Palace Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing