We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Home Base for Petra Visit”
Review of Amra Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amra Palace Hotel
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Great Home Base for Petra Visit”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at the Amra Palace Hotel.

Highlights included:
- Great room, it was clean, somewhat spacious and the beds were the best of the three weeks I was on vacation!
- Buffet dinner and buffet breakfast was included and the dishes were of high quality and were really good.
- Turkish Bath was great and very relaxing. The free internet access you got with it was well worth it.
- I also sent out laundry while I was there and it was waiting for me upon my return. While my items were well done my friend’s white shirt came back stained a bit yellow.

All in all I really enjoyed my stay at my hotel and if I come back to Petra again, I would stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura15347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    430
    158
    44
    14
See reviews for
208
466
104
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Great place, nice helpful staff. Spacious rooms with good beds and I had lovely views. Nice swimming pool but chlorine heavy! Did not eat there so cannot comment, breakfast fine for Jordan. Lovely to walk down to and up from Petra, a real Jordanian town.

Room Tip: ask for a view and be aware it is a no alcohol hotel.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnUAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights and found the hotel to be clean, spacious and comfortable. The front of the hotel is beautiful and the terrace a lovely place to sit in around sunset. The hotel has swimming pool, jaccuzi and turkish bath services and had a great offer going whilst we were there. The buffet breakfast and dinner was tasty with plenty of choice and the staff was also very friendly.

The hotel would have got a rating of 5 from me if we were not made to pay for drinks which we didn't consume. On our checkout, the reception staff were adamant that we had taken drinks and chocolates from the fridge in our rooms and were demanding payment. After several minutes of arguement in front of other guests, we had to pay for the water and but not for the drinks and chocolates which we apparently consumed. This incident was quite embarrassing and frustrating as there was no way of us proving that we had not used anything as we had purchased our own while travelling. I'm not sure if this is a common problem as the same happened to us at the hotel in Amman so we were not impressed at all.

Room Tip: You may wish to have drinks and food removed from the mini bar before you occupy the room as a payme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fuz27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights in october. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room very comfortable and clean and the swimming pool very welcome after a day walking in Petra. The position of the hotel is very pleasant with the terrace overlooking the petra mountains and although its about 15 minutes walk from the hotel to the entrance to petra there is a convenient shuttle bus several times in the mornings and the afternoons. The buffet breakfast was excellent with a variety of western and local food, as was the buffet dinner. This hotel is very good value, I will definately stay there the next time I visit Petra.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenlsears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St Edmunds
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights here 27th to 29th September during our holiday in Jordan. Great little hotel especially considering it is only 3 star. Staff are very friendly and helpful, the owner taking great care to visit all the tables during dinner to ensure guests are enjoying their stay - and dispensing delicious and very welcome Bedouin tea. Our room wasn't the largest we stayed in but we had everything we needed and we certainly had the most comfortable bed during our holiday! The food was very good and the dinner buffet had some wonderful Jordanian specialities, a real treat. Don't understand the comments about the hotel being dry! I was drinking beer every evening. All in all a great choice in Wadi Mousa. PS we're still waiting for your chef's recipes!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clueyandjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
64 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Although the atmosphere was partly stiff, partly non-existent, the Amra Palace convinces with a decent standard, a great terrace and a delicious dinner buffet. The couscous tasted like heaven and the desserts like the sweetest of temptations. I cannot remember the breakfast buffet so it cannot have been as remarkable;0)

My room was nicely furnished, but the bathroom clinically white and dull. The ladies from the Philippines cleaning the rooms and serving the tables do a really good job. The dry cleaning service is quick at reasonable prices and the free shuttle to the rock city of Petra very reliable.

While the rock city is simply jaw-dropping and out of this world, the area around the hotel does not have anything exciting to offer, but is safe and nice enough for an evening stroll.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roamingqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Great value, really good and extensive breakfast buffet. The staff were very attentive and quick to offer advice re trips without feeling pressured. The pool and jacuzzi were very clean and a nice addition, particularly for the price of the room. A free shuttle to the main entrance of Petra was very handy although the 15 min walk to the entrance was easy enough down hill and a cheap taxi back up the hill. The hotel is 'dry' so possibly stock up in duty free!
Would highly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel to have a view over the town. However, that side is nearer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 99niki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.8 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,540 reviews
0.1 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#2 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
515 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
871 reviews
1.5 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
929 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Maison Hotel Petra
La Maison Hotel Petra
#33 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amra Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amra Palace Hotel

Property: Amra Palace Hotel
Address: P.O Box 124, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#5 Business Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amra Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Amra Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Amra Palace
Amra Palace Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing