We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 star oasis, with 4 star staff”
Review of Amra Palace Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amra Palace Hotel
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“3 star oasis, with 4 star staff”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We have just come back from our trip to Petra, and we stayed in the Amra palace hotel. I must say I really like the place. The swimming pool was a fantastic cooler after a hot day in the sun.
My partner enjoyed the Turkish bath - she said it was really good.
Breakfast and dinner was served buffet style - and I couldn't fault it - very nice food and we stuffed ourselves.
The staff all speak very good English and are very friendly
My sincere compliments to the receptionist/manager Ahmed. He was extremely patient and helpful and knowledgeable - he made sure our stay was very comfortable. Also I should mention the porters - they were fantastic, anything I asked for they got it, without question.
On the last evening we met with the hotel owner - a very pleasant man, he chatted with us about our stay and offered us some delicious bedouin tea.

The town itself I found to be very friendly - people came out of their way to welcome us - everywhere we went, it was the same - very friendly , smiling people, with welcoming faces.
We loved it - the whole experience, but especially the people made us want to come back next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmdire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    430
    159
    44
    14
See reviews for
208
467
104
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I can't say enough about the Amra Palace. Professional, clean, amazing buffet style meals, and a turkish bath for just JD13! Internet is a bit slow and no fitness center (though there is a pool), otherwise the perfect place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livelifeKBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed here as part of a trip to Israel and Jordan ... A great base to explore Petra. Only complaint was that it is 'dry'. - no alcohol. Food excellent with plenty of choices. Nice indoor pool. The staff were friendly and pleasant and the rooms were a bit cramped but impeccably clean and pretty attractive .

Room Tip: Rooms over the outdoor dining area can be noisy in the evenings, and also at the time of call to pra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonymf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, FL
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This place is not "the Ritz" but bath was clean if worn and beds were comfortable. Buffet for breakfast and dinner was good. Wifi worked after our "buddy" at the front desk fiddled with it. Pool looked nice but we didn't try it. No alcohol hotel, you need the Movenpick for a drink but a safe, inexpensive stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bocasmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is located right at the center and within walking distance from the city center. It had a very nice pool and lavish breakfast (one of the best in Jordan). The only problem we faced was that the aircon was a bit weak (needed maintenance).

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inderkohli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Unless you want to pay a fortune for a hotel near Petra this is undoubtedly the next best thing, it is unfortunately a bit too far away to consider walking to the site but is only a 3jd cab ride away, that's each way though!
Rooms are a good size and air conditioned, with flat screen tv's, beds are comfy you will get a good nights sleep, which you will definitely need after your trip to Petra.
Staff are excellent and are always on hand for advice or if you just need a drink.

The evening Buffet is fantastic with a great choice of meat or veggie dishes if required and is well priced, the breakfast also offers a lot of choice but far too many pastries for my liking!! Ha ha

This hotel and its staff will definitely make you feel welcome here, I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Triple rooms are huge and offer great value if there are 3 of you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevieshirt28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irbid, Jordan
2 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed 2 nights, 4th hotel I've stayed at in Petra and would certainly be the one I would return to. Accomodated 3 people in one room, excellent room service, nice pool (the hot tub is only warm, though:( The dinner buffet is fabulous and reasonably priced.
Improvements? Poor maintenance is the most obvious thing of all the hotels I've stayed at in Jordan and this one suffers a tiny bit as well. The door of the room was sticky to push open, a lamp didn't work and the bathroom could have used a little work. However, the tremendous customer service and cleanliness will definitely bring me back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0rdanTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.8 mi away
No photo provided
Petra Moon Hotel
#2 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,559 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Al Rashid Hotel
#1 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
518 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Tetra Tree Hotel
#10 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
213 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Seven Wonders Hotel
#8 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
289 reviews
0.7 mi away
No photo provided
Petra Palace Hotel
#21 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amra Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amra Palace Hotel

Property: Amra Palace Hotel
Address: P.O Box 124, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#5 Business Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amra Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Amra Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Amra Palace
Amra Palace Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing