We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Amra Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amra Palace Hotel
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Amra Palace, one day to rest and one day to do Petra. It is a lovely place to stay out of the heat, cool terraces and plenty of greenery. It has a beautiful cool swimming pool with sun terrace, steam bath, scrape and massage and very friendly staff. The breakfast has a wide choice of food and drinkable white coffee. The evening buffet was just stunning with all my favourite Jordanian dishes well prepared. The rooms were small but clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: ask for rooms at the front of the hotel, overlooking the town. The rooms at the back have no vierw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanna w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

518 - 524 of 1,124 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2012

If your having a overnight in Petra you cant do any better than the Amra Palace in Wadi Musa.This hotel is central to the village and offers a shuttle bus to Petra (about 10 mins away). The staff are very friendly and efficient and the hotel looks fantastic. This hotel has character which is something thats lacking in many modern hotels these days.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Just got back from a trip around Jordan and the Amra Palace was by far the best hotel in terms of value and hospitality we experienced. We stayed two nights opting to go out to a local restaurant the first night and then stayed in the second night after a long day at Petra to sample the hotel's Mansaf which was excellent. The courtesy bus and free wifi were an unexpected bonus!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonTallGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I enjoyed the stay in this hotel. We received a fresh drink at the check in. The rooms are simple but very clean (except for the moquette that I suggest to the owner of the hotel to remove). The breakfast is perfect, abundant and with a very wide chose. It is rare in Jordan, but here you can have a complete sweet breakfast. On the second day of the stay we had a Turkish bath with a massage. I think that the wellness center could be better. The Turkish bath isn't very perfumed and clean. The massage for man is not really relaxing considering that there will be a big Arab man waiting for you. The most important thing to say is that at Amra Palace you can find very kind people ready to help you for everything.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emma s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

It's located at the top of the hill - about a 15 min walk down to the Petra entrance. The walk back up the hill is very steep, so I was glad they had a courtesy bus there and back in the morning and afternoon.
The staff were very friendly & helpful.
Their meals were kind of bland.
The room was comfortable, the view of the sunset spectacular.
At 44JD (about US60) I thought it was great value!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I really enjoied the night in Amra Palace, the place is very very nice, the balance price/quality is excellent!! And the hospitality.....was great!! The rooms are very confortable, the fitness center is very beautiful, relaxing in Jacuzzi is so nice! And the breakfast buffet is very big, everybody can find what they like to eat :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angy_Brio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I was originally going to stay at this Lonely Planet "Top Choice" hotel for a few days after spending time in the desert in Wadi Rum. However, I was steered to another hotel by other travellers that I met on the way. So I decided to take the Turkish Bath and have a nice dinner afterwards.

Turkish bath: It took a little while for the steam room to heat up. The scrub and massage were good. However the water in the jacuzzi was freezing cold.

Dinner: It wasn't a buffet as I hoped. We had a choice of 2 entrees and I chose the shekebab beef & specially asked the waiter to cook the meat fairly rare. When the dish came, the beef was well done but the fries were ok. The pleasant atmosphere of the terrace and the service made up for the mediocre food.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrBahamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.1 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#3 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
425 reviews
0.8 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#2 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,669 reviews
1.5 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#4 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
536 reviews
0.2 mi away
Petra Sella Hotel
Petra Sella Hotel
#9 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
201 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Maison Hotel Petra
La Maison Hotel Petra
#16 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amra Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amra Palace Hotel

Address: P.O Box 124, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'an Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range: $40 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amra Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amra Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Amra Palace
Amra Palace Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing