We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Hotel, Very Friendly and Value for Money”
Review of Amra Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amra Palace Hotel
Ranked #15 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Reviewed July 8, 2012

When we arrived it was great to be greeted by extremely friendly and helpful staff.
The heated pool is pretty good and covered from the super hot afternoon sun.
I highly recommend the Amra hotels Turkish spa, both my wife and I had one, which after our huge day of walking every path in Petra was just what we needed to relax our aching legs.
Our king bed was Super comfy and our room was clean and tidy, with triple glazed windows there was just no noise from outside, we slept like babies.
Only real room problem is the AC was only just good enough and poor labelling for the TV made it difficult to turn off. Amra can make this better with a few easily placed labels.
The outside terrace breakfast area was a great start to the next day and there was a reasonable selection for breakfast.
A short taxi to Petra entrance, the hotel is well located and you can easily walk to the local shops and street vendors.
There is plenty of good off street parking if you drive yourself as we did and its easy to find.
The mini bar is well stocked with soft drink, malt beverage and chocolate bars but, this is a dry (No Alcohol) hotel so no beer, wine or spirits. Not really a problem as you can buy from the local store, so don't let this put you off, this is an excellent choice of place to stay for your visit to Petra.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RICHOSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

553 - 559 of 1,112 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed for two nights at the Amra Palace in May and were very pleased with our choice. The rooms were small but nicely furnished and the beds more comfortable than others we encountered. Hotel staff were friendly, helpful, professional and clearly well used to dealing with the needs of returning exhaused and dusty Petra visitors.

The gardens and large outdoor terrace were just wonderful to just relax in. The pool and spa were a real bonus after the heat of Petra and prices were good. The breakfast spread was the best we encountered on our trip, and service started early to suit the needs of an early start to Petra. You can easily walk down to the entrance of Petra, although its an extra 2k on what will be an exhausing day and taxi's down were only a couple of JD. I suspect only the super fit could face the walk back up the hill after a long day. The hotel advised us to avoid the main taxi rank outside the gates of Petra who wanted to charge us 12K for the trip back to the hotel. Their advice was to turn left after exiting the gates and walk up the hill and pick up a taxi there, which we did and were charged the more reasonable 2JD.

The hotel is close to the main town where there are plenty of restaurants, banks and shops to buy pre Petra water supplies. We ate in the town in the evenings, just taking pot luck on our choice of restaurant. We found a superb little place, which doubled as a butchers and cooked their meat outside on the pavement on a make shift barbecue. Sorry but I don't recall their name, but if you take the road off to the left as you hit the town then follow it round until you reach the mosque and it was pretty much opposite. Don't be put off by the look of the place - the meat was superb.

We took the early morning bus to Wadi Rum and the hotel made arrangements for our pick up. The hotel could have arranged a taxi for us but the bus was fun. We chose Jordan tracks for our stay in Wadi Rum and I can really recommend them - there are plenty of reviews on the tripadvisor pages if you are interested.

Amra Palace was a gem of a place which I really recommend to other travellers.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trishandambrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed here overnight on our two-day exploration of Petra. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are small, Euro-style, but we were there for Petra, after all. Nice buffet dinner and b'fast that you can eat on an expansive patio. Perfect for those cool desert evenings.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We were delighted with our stay at the Amra Palace. The staff were terrific and the hotel had a lot of character. We could not believe it was only a three star hotel and such excellent value. The breakfast was great (dinner sadly not so) and we also really enjoyed their lovely pool and turkish bath. Free shuttle to visitor's centre at Petra too. We would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Think all rooms have a view of the mountains and the sunset is not to be missed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane10000000000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Amra Palace and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The highlight was most certainly the staff all of whom were professional, friendly and helpful. Our room was fairly compact but nicely furnished with a lovely comfortable bed. Both the buffet breakfast and dinner provided a good and tasty selection which we ate out on the lovely leafy terrace. We also made use of the laundry facility during our stay which was very efficiently handled.

The hotel is in the middle of Wadi Musa and in walking distance of Petra (although it's a steep climb back at the end of the day - a taxi at around 2JD is likely to prove a welcome alternative).

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

The staff at the front desk and additional staff are extremely friendly and helpful and did all they could to welcome us and insure we felt at home. The service in the restaurant is efficient. The room is not huge but very adequate with a large bed and reasonable bathroom. Although the bathroom fittings are older than a western 4 star hotel it is spotlessly clean.
The Satellite tv has an endless supply of channels. We were on the third floor and the view was spectacular, yes the nearby Mosques are close but what do you expect in a Muslim country, this just adds to the atmosphere.
The hotel has a lovely terrace where breakfast / dinner is taken, I disagree with other posters comments that the area is unsafe, I would suggest it is safe although dark at night.
We did not use the pool so cannot comment.
Negatives: The Air Conditioning in the room works but too old to be properly effective and the room gets very hot. Like other posters my girlfriend experienced stomach cramps and diarrhoea after eating the breakfast.
Overall good value for money.

Room Tip: Third floor in the entrance side for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank serpico651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Just spent two nights at Amra Palace with a group of 35. The staff is helpful in every respect. Wifi is free. The buffet was plentiful, tasty, and included significant nice entrees such as Mansaaf (well prepared). The dining veranda has a view over the city with lovely sunsets and occasional
fireworks in the distance. Many in our group had a fantastic experience with the on site Turkish bath, massage, and sauna at a very reasonable cost. The rooms are slightly dated, but at the top end of a tourist class hotel. Large screen tv with satellite included. Close to ATM and the small shops for drinks and sundries.

A wonderfully choice, small oasis in an otherwise hot location.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreekProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.8 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,607 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#1 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tetra Tree Hotel
Tetra Tree Hotel
#11 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seven Wonders Hotel
Seven Wonders Hotel
#8 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
301 reviews
0.6 mi away
Petra Palace Hotel
Petra Palace Hotel
#19 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amra Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amra Palace Hotel

Address: P.O Box 124, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'an Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#5 Business Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range: $41 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amra Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Amra Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Amra Palace
Amra Palace Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing