We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Dirty, run down and unfriendly hotel best to be avoided!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Petra Panorama Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Petra Panorama Hotel
Ranked #31 of 39 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
191 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Dirty, run down and unfriendly hotel best to be avoided!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Very disappointing hotel. They claim to have all rooms fronting the mountain but this a lie as some front... the swimming pool... with no mountain view at all! We had partly a mountain view fortunately. So I guess we were lucky... And for any unexplainable reason we had... 3 beds in a room for 2!

But the two nights we spent there with the group we found each evening a different cockroach in the bath!!! Cleanliness is a major trouble in this hotel. We remember of a sticky floor at the restaurant. They never clean the restaurant floor as my shoes were always sticky.

Besides, reception staff was completely incompetent telling us that towels were near the pool when there was not any and that we could have buffet dinner until 9:30 PM though the restaurant was open until 10:30 PM!

Restaurant staff was unfriendly and unefficient. I remember of empty dishes left like that more than 15 minutes making people angry. I personaly had an argument with a restaurant staff because he wanted to charge me for the little water from the restaurant I took in my small bottle! Easy business is easy business in Jordan.

I noticed that Jordanians love to "milk" the decreasing tourists they have since the syrian cival war making them losing lots of tourists. But "Petra Panorama Hotel" gave me 3 times this bad feeling! Too bad because casual Jordanians not working in the tourism business are not like that.

Do not believe the "3 stars" they gave to his hotel. "One star" european standards is fairly enough for this crapy place. It is totally run down. Better go to the "Möwenpick" hotel or another one around. They are not much more expensive than "Petra Panorama" but certainly much better worth your money!

Room Tip: No idea. And even though I do not recommend this place at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank incahueca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    127
    129
    59
    33
See reviews for
60
121
15
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carolina, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
148 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is built in a mountain slope. Lobby is in one of the top floors and rooms are beneath. The floor layout is very confusing! To get to your room you have to go down two floors, then walk a long sloping hallway to take another elevator that will take you down to your floor, then choose the right hallway to your room. You need some time to figure this out.

All rooms have a fantastic view of the desert.

The room had a strong cigarette smell. The staff sprayed it out, but it bacame worse. Had to open the window to clear it out. Desert dust came in.

The Dinner and breakfast buffets were good. For breakfast, the egg station took too long in preparing eggs to order, delaying many fellow passengers.

The hotel offers a lunch box option for those going to Petra for the day.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank enatal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Visiting Petra again, I wanted to stay in a hotel where I could get the best sunset and sunrise pictures. Petra Panorama was the right choice! You have a great view from your own balcony. Room was clean and quiet, breakfast and dinner were ok.

Room Tip: Room with an own balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kariv7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

After 14 days spent in Holy land I am able to compare hotels from Egipt, Jordanian and Israel. Ranking is a relative one, Petra Panorama was one of the best. Well organised, decent food, nice room with a magnificent view. It is not much to say. Great choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinetou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hogn Kong
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This is the last hotel we stayed for our Israel/Jordan trip, so have a lot of other comparables. Rooms definitely comfy and clean. Balcony attached to room gives good view to the valley. Food is universally bad in this part of the world (using a westernised or Asian standard) and no exception for this hotel either. Their breakfast choices even less than other hotels. Nevertheless, its easily one of the best ones we had in our trip and allowed us to get up refreshed every mng.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pmui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eilat, Israel
Level Contributor
102 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Location is not central what makes it ideal for groups or people with rented car,

Dinner was good, Breakfast average and basic

Rooms are large / comfort

Main issue I got upset of was the unreasonable cost of drinks at the Lobby Bar, paying 7.5 JD for half liter Draft Beet is not accepted by all means...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kfir s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I was really excited and surprised when i saw this hotel , its up side down hotel on the hill
faraway from the town about 5 km, the staff is friendly , the food is delicious , nice view
and the thing i like at the hotel is each room has a balcony with great view to Petra Mountains.

i stayed 2 nights , and i wish i could stay more at this hotel ,

the staff is friendly and helpfull , specially Reception Staff

Room Tip: rooms on the middle of the htoel ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lara l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
1.0 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#6 of 39 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 stars 641 reviews
2.3 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#4 of 39 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 stars 721 reviews
2.5 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#3 of 39 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Kings' Way Hotel
Kings' Way Hotel
#27 of 39 in Petra - Wadi Musa
3.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#2 of 39 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 stars 247 reviews
2.5 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#1 of 39 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 stars 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petra Panorama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra Panorama Hotel

Property: Petra Panorama Hotel
Address: Queen Rania Street, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Petra Panorama Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Also Known As:
Hotel Petra Panorama
Petra Panorama Wadi Musa
Petra Panorama Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing