We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, Location, Location”
Review of Edom Hotel Petra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Edom Hotel Petra
Ranked #22 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

One of the perils of going to Petra is that you are going to be doing an enormous amount of walking in order to see all the wonders that it has to offer.

Given this, it is great to know that there is a good hotel that you can stay in right by the entrance that will not cost a fortune.

Rooms are clean and of a reasonable size (if a little dated), the staff are very helpful, there is an amazing breakfast buffet and free wifi.

Given that the hotel is right by the entrance into Petra it is a decent distance from the centre of town, but there are a number of nice restaurants handy and getting a taxi outside the entrance is easy if you want to head further afield.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AndrewAANZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    110
    108
    56
    34
See reviews for
61
136
58
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and found the staff and accomadation to be excellent. It is very close to the entrance of Petra, there are a few restaurants at the end of the road with a good choice of cuisines. I don't recommend the barbecue if they have one on the roof terrace, we had it our first night and it was not worth the money.
Left my mobile phone in the room when we checked out and the hotel couriered it up to Amman to my new hotel for me, so have to say the staff were excellent.
If you want to ask about a tour to Wadi Rum via then they have a Bedouin guide called Mohammed they can use, I highly recommend.
Wifi only available in the public areas but that was fine. Breakfast was good enough, some cold meats and you can ask for fresh cooked eggs.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Robbo_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Fortunately, our memories of Jordan will be all about the wonderful experience at Petra, and not about this hotel. Our room was old and compact, although there was a balcony with a nice view.
There was no tea/coffee making facilities in the room.
Dinner was disappointing in quality and selection (e.g. chicken was tough and dry, probably re-cooked). Small drink cost 2 dinars!
After trekking around Petra for the whole day, we didn't spend much time anyway in this hotel.

After seeing the Treasury, you can keep walking about 20 minutes to a lunch place where they sell lunch packs for about 7.50 dinars (pita bread with meat, fruit, yoghurt, biscuits). It is worth the tough walk to the Monastery, and then going on to see the "views at the end of the world". Don't miss these views - they are breathtaking!
By the time we walked back to the Treasury it was about 7.00 pm and there were no crowds around - wonderful!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZTourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Very clean, pleasant room, nice breakfast and great location. Good staff as well. A very pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: 7th floor is the best i think
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Edward w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misterton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Stayed at this hotel as part of a cycling tour for 3 nights. The best thing about the hotel is its location, but that is all. The shower was the worst bit, and i know there is a water problem in Jordan as a whole, but it was a dribble that came out and unfortunately we were at the hotel for the longest. Nearby there were two very nice hotels Movenpick and the hotel attached to the Cave Bar, and I am sure they had proper showers so my advice is go there!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank _lindastill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Stayed at this hotel as part of a bike tour group of 17. It's located a short walk from the entrance to Petra and close to a variety of restaurants. Also not far from the town proper. Rooms were clean and the property well maintained, although the 2 flights of stairs to get to the elevator was a bit awkward. There were problems getting a hot shower and having a hot shower after biking was a high priority for me. At best, the shower produced a trickle of lukewarm water. Also rooms near the elevator were extremely noisy. The hotel management was gracious and accommodating in relocating me to another room on a lower floor which alleviated the elevator noise problem but no luck with the shower. I heard later than water pressure is always a problem on the higher floors. The breakfast buffet was adequate. Happily WiFi was no charge.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the first 4 floors - better water pressure and you don't have to drag your lug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mimico14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Perfect location! It was like 3-4 minutes walk from the Hotel to the Petra entrance site. The hotel has good free wifi coverage at the lobby. Reasonable wifi speed. The room is quite small but comfortable since most of the daytime we were outside exploring the historical site.
We arrived at the hotel 8.30am from Alia International Airport using a taxi (which costs JD 72). The reception is courteous to provide us a room much earlier at 10.00 am.
The free breakfast is great with a lot of variety. If you would like to have lunch and dinner, quite a number of restaurants are just beside the hotel although we felt that the price is much higher than restaurants in Amman.
Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: We stayed at the 4th floor. There is not much view but who cares really when you are too tired?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MrTravelMalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.0 mi away
La Maison Hotel Petra
La Maison Hotel Petra
#17 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.2 mi away
My Home Hotel- Petra
My Home Hotel- Petra
#12 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Candles Hotel
Candles Hotel
#19 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
0.1 mi away
Petra Palace Hotel
Petra Palace Hotel
#20 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
0.6 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#2 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edom Hotel Petra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edom Hotel Petra

Property: Edom Hotel Petra
Address: PO Box 18 | Off Tourist Street, Near Visitors' Center Petra site, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Edom Hotel Petra 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is 200 meters away from the main entrance of Petra. Featuring 135 air conditioned rooms we offer double, single and suite accommodations with private baths. Our amenities include minibar, TV satellite system , WiFi, laundry and room service. Carved stone of our cave restaurant keeps the atmosphere of ancient Petra. Our buffet serves traditional oriental cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Edom Hotel Petra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edom Hotel Petra Wadi Musa
Edom Hotel Petra Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing