We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Petra is Spectacular”

Petra World Heritage Site
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$120.00*
and up
Private Petra Round-Trip Transfers from Amman with Optional Local Guide and...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A UNESCO World Heritage Site, Petra (ancient capital city of the Nabataean people) recently proclaimed as one of the New Seven Wonders of the World.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Petra is Spectacular”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Petra is one of the most amazing places in the world. Walking 3.5 miles through the Sik is an incredible adventure. The rock formations and the colors are breathtaking and depending on the time of the day different colors come through in the rocks.
Then all of a sudden through a narrow canyon it appears. The stunning treasury buliding which is a magnificent peice of architecture and the real show peice of Petra.
It is a real honour to visit this esteemed place and something I will remember for the rest of my life. I was there in sept 2007

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank DamianRoberts1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,586 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,353
    890
    203
    89
    51
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tczew, Poland
Level Contributor
269 reviews
194 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“one of the most beautiful places on earth!”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

It's without exaggeration one of the most beautiful places on earth. The views are breath-taking wherever you go, on the left, on the right... The atmosphere is amazing with those camels, guides, dogs running around, little shops... Plus the mountains one of which we climbed to the top and then had a mass there (it was the most beautiful mass in my whole life!). Will definitely be back there in two year's time! ;)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank christiano_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javea, Spain
Level Contributor
213 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“A must, Petra!”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Petra is simply amazing. We spent 3 days there and we could have spent more easily. There is just so much to see. The more you like walking and treking, the longer you need, as Petra is spread out over a huge area. You can also trek to near by hills and mountains for other views. We stayed in Saba'a hotel, run by a 'local' British girl, Gail. Nice place to stay and we met some great people, and Gail helps with everything, including lovely packed lunches for the day. Petra is somewhere you must go and see, it's simply stunning.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank RobDonovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Level Contributor
1 review
“Amazing Petra!”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Visited Petra with my organized group tour and was awe-strucked with the place. We had a great guide but I could hardly keep listening to him because we kept taking pictures to capture the memories we had to reminish in the future. I figured I could always read the book and look at the pictures later on.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank soct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“PETRA IS SIMPLY AMAZING”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

My wife and I, age pensioners, flew Etihad Airways Melbourne to Amman and were delighted to have Mahel, arranged by the Welcome to Jordan website, drive us to Wadi Masu, where we stayed in Edom Hotel, a very short walk from the entrance to the Siq. We did not need any guide and preferred to walk, though horses and carriages were available. The Siq is quite a long walk between massive rock formations but leads into the ancient city of Petra, where the marvellous buildings and tombs carved out of rock more than 2,000 years ago are quite unbelievable. At the other end of Petra we were glad to find the Basin Restaurant by Crown Plaza, where we enjoyed a wonderful pick-your-own lunch. Visitors need to wear sound walking shoes as the paths are often quite rough. We were so glad to have Mahel drive us to and from Wadi Masu - on the forward journey he detoured to show us Saladin's Castle and on the return journey we were able to float on the Dead Sea. We also appreciated our very smooth flights with Etihad.
Douglas Stevens.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dougstev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Petra World Heritage Site also viewed

Petra - Wadi Musa, Ma'in Governorate
Petra - Wadi Musa, Ma'in Governorate
 
Petra - Wadi Musa, Ma'in Governorate
Petra - Wadi Musa, Ma'in Governorate
 

Been to Petra World Heritage Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing