We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot”
Review of Al Rashid Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Al Rashid Hotel
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great spot”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Great hotel! Reasonable price for newly refurbished and very clean rooms with great hot showers available 24hrs. Located at the main roundabout in town, a 10min steep walk from the front gate to Petra (we paid 3 dinar for a one way taxi up the hill) Wifi was slow but reliable and the staff were friendly, happy to have a chat and very helpful. Breakfast was great - it was very large and included pita, eggs, salad, yoghurt etc.

We originally planned to stay at Saba's next door but after looking at the rooms in each place opted for El Rashid. For price and services Rashid wins but for a more hostel vibe where you can meet others it looked like Saba was better.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank hungrythirstysleepy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RashidHotel, Manager at Al Rashid Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Esteemed Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your review on our hotel through Tripadvisor. We were delighted to read you were happy with the hotel and it's services on this occasion and we look forward to welcoming you back to Al Rashid Hotel next time you travel to Petra.

Thank you and please accept our sincere appreciation

Laith Tarabulsi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    181
    40
    6
    3
See reviews for
73
205
82
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge MA
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The wifi seemed to get overtaxed at times, but other than that, this was great value given that Wadi Musa seems a bit high priced. Staff was very friendly. Helped us with doing laundry and with suggestions for things to see. Always handy with a mint tea right when you wanted it. Breakfast was simple but filling. Rooms were large and clean.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank Gremily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RashidHotel, Manager at Al Rashid Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Esteemed Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your review on our hotel through Tripadvisor. We were delighted to read you were happy with the hotel and it's services on this occasion and we look forward to welcoming you back to Al Rashid Hotel next time you travel to Petra.

Thank you and please accept our sincere appreciation

Laith Tarabulsi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

El Rashid is located at the heart of Wadi Musa village. Plenty of mini-markets and eateries around. Rooms are pretty basic (dining room up a few notches, breakfast very decent) but service is impeccable. We arrived in the afternoon and asked reception to book us tickets for Petra by Night (a unique experience but immensely popular!) which they did instantly. We stayed for 3 nights and on the second night we were upgraded to a larger room which was made available in the meantime (they moved all our stuff). They offered us a complimentary dinner (very good) and, when we left, they gave us 2 large bottles of water for the road (a fantastic gesture in this hot country - we were setting off on the long journey to Wadi Rum). They let us call our Petra guide on his mobile for free from the reception phone. Receptionists and waiters very friendly and polite, made us feel at home. Only drawbacks: a. It's a 30' walk up and downhill (or a 5' taxi ride) to the entrance of the Petra site (taxis are plentiful and cheap); b. They don't take Visa (only Mastercard): they hadn't told us from the beginning so at checkout we had to rush to the bank (right opposite) to change euros (banks were closing earlier that day, a close call but we finally made it!). Still, we left with the best impressions.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
25 Thank Ithaca35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RashidHotel, Manager at Al Rashid Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Esteemed Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your review on our hotel through Tripadvisor. We were delighted to read you were happy with the hotel and it's services on this occasion and we look forward to welcoming you back to Al Rashid Hotel next time you travel to Petra.

Thank you and please accept our sincere appreciation

Laith Tarabulsi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I arrived at El Rashid without reservations at 3pm and as it was the end of the winter and during the low-season, I was quoted 20 Jordanian dinar per night bed and breakfast and ended up staying for two nights. There’s free wi-fi in the lobby and in the corridors and sometimes in the rooms but the latter’s more intermittent. Crucially, there’s heating during the night (use the air-con) and hot-water is available till 10pm and again in the morning. Very helpful English-speaking staff and they can help organise night tours of Petra and Little Petra (10-15 JD) including taxi hire.

The bathroom was ok though the TV didn’t always work. Good breakfast consists of hummus, ham, eggs and good jam. The bus station was an easy seven-minute walk away and the El Rashid is way preferable to the 12 JD Valentine's Inn up the hill which can be horribly cold and windy during the winter months there. Plenty of amenities nearby including supermarkets, ATM machines, mobile phone top-ups and little eateries and juice stands.

Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank sachahuista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RashidHotel, Manager at Al Rashid Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Esteemed Guest, Thank you very much for posting your review on our hotel through Tripadvisor. We want to tell you our hotel had renovated and upgrade to be 3* stars in JUN/2013 , also this pictures for the hotel before changing , all the service and facility upgrade , the hot water now is 24 Hours .
We look forward to your hospitality in our hotel next time , Welcome you in our hotel

Laith Tarabulsi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

I stayed here for the same price I would get for staying in a hostel, so you really can't beat the price. I paid 30D (shared with another person) so that is only 15JD. My bed was comfortable and the room and bathroom were clean. The staff are also very nice and the main lobby and dining hall is clean. I also had a free buffet breakfast and free wifi.

I would recommend this as a budget place to stay. It is very close to the shops, restaurants, banks and the 'bus' station. You could walk everywhere.

Room Tip: Views are terrible so you might as well stay on floors closer to the ground floor. I had the power g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
28 Thank kmartez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RashidHotel, Manager at Al Rashid Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Esteemed Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your review on our hotel through Tripadvisor. We were delighted to read you were happy with the hotel and it's services on this occasion and we look forward to welcoming you back to Al Rashid Hotel next time you travel to Petra.

Thank you and please accept our sincere appreciation

Laith Tarabulsi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

3 of us stayed 2 nights in a triple room. The single beds were big and the room and bathroom were spacious for the price. The room was clean and well air conditioned. The staff were EXTREMELY helpful, organising a free ride to petra visitor centre and giving us free water bottles and good advice on restaurants and Petra. Location is in the centre of town near lots of restaurants and super markets and a very walkable 15 minutes to Petra. Only complaint would be that the shower head couldn't attach to the wall so we had to hand hold it. Excellent value and as young travellers we would reccomend to anyone and will send our friends there.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
26 Thank Maxk7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RashidHotel, Manager at Al Rashid Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Esteemed Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your review on our hotel through Tripadvisor. We were delighted to read you were happy with the hotel and it's services on this occasion and we look forward to welcoming you back to Al Rashid Hotel next time you travel to Petra.

Thank you and please accept our sincere appreciation

Laith Tarabulsi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOLYOKE, MA
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

The hotel owner met me by name at the cab and had someone take in my bags. They worked hard to find an adapter for me since they still have the old style two-prong outlets. The breakfast was solid quality, the bed was firm but comfortable, and everything was very clean. They let me take a very late checkout so I could shower after hiking Petra. I didn't need the a/c, but it worked well. All in all, a surprising amount of quality for a lowly 20JD.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank THERMODANI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RashidHotel, Manager at Al Rashid Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Esteemed Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your review on our hotel through Tripadvisor. We were delighted to read you were happy with the hotel and it's services on this occasion and we look forward to welcoming you back to Al Rashid Hotel next time you travel to Petra.

Thank you and please accept our sincere appreciation

Laith Tarabulsi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.7 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#2 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,575 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
343 reviews
1.6 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
P Quattro Relax Hotel
P Quattro Relax Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
155 reviews
0.8 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
892 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seven Wonders Hotel
Seven Wonders Hotel
#8 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Rashid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Rashid Hotel

Property: Al Rashid Hotel
Address: Tourism Street, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#4 Best Value Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#7 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Al Rashid Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
• Located in the heart of the city our guests can enjoy local Bedouine life and take a stroll through shopping venues, restaurants or cafés. Turkish bath it is only a 1 minute away and different banks, doctors and pharmacies are also just around the corner. • Al Rashid Hotel offers modern rooms with air-condition, heating and Satellite flat-screen TV. All rooms are fitted with comfortable nice furniture and functional private bathrooms with hot water for 24-hours, excellent water pressure, private towels and hairdryer. The rooms have recently been refurbished. • Free Internet Wi-Fi is available in the whole building and in all rooms. • Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner are served daily in our spacious restaurant. Enjoy our local and international meals. • The gate of Petra ruins is just a 10-15 minutes’ walk from the hotel. • Al Rashid offers transportation on low costs over whole Jordan ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Al Rashid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Rashid Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing