We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (560)
Filter reviews
560 results
Traveler rating
304
199
43
10
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
304
199
43
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswadi rumfresh towelsbreakfast baghot waterbudget hotelcentral locationexplore petrahummusmin walktwo nightsgreat roomtaxi ridethe hotel is cleaninstant coffeebeds were comfortablewonderful hotelvery pleasant stay
Filter
Updating list...
378 - 383 of 560 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The wifi seemed to get overtaxed at times, but other than that, this was great value given that Wadi Musa seems a bit high priced. Staff was very friendly. Helped us with doing laundry and with suggestions for things to see. Always handy with a mint tea right when you wanted it. Breakfast was simple but filling. Rooms were large and clean.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank Gremily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RashidHotel, Manager at Al Rashid Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Esteemed Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your review on our hotel through Tripadvisor. We were delighted to read you were happy with the hotel and it's services on this occasion and we look forward to welcoming you back to Al Rashid Hotel next time you travel to Petra.

Thank you and please accept our sincere appreciation

Laith Tarabulsi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

El Rashid is located at the heart of Wadi Musa village. Plenty of mini-markets and eateries around. Rooms are pretty basic (dining room up a few notches, breakfast very decent) but service is impeccable. We arrived in the afternoon and asked reception to book us tickets for Petra by Night (a unique experience but immensely popular!) which they did instantly. We stayed for 3 nights and on the second night we were upgraded to a larger room which was made available in the meantime (they moved all our stuff). They offered us a complimentary dinner (very good) and, when we left, they gave us 2 large bottles of water for the road (a fantastic gesture in this hot country - we were setting off on the long journey to Wadi Rum). They let us call our Petra guide on his mobile for free from the reception phone. Receptionists and waiters very friendly and polite, made us feel at home. Only drawbacks: a. It's a 30' walk up and downhill (or a 5' taxi ride) to the entrance of the Petra site (taxis are plentiful and cheap); b. They don't take Visa (only Mastercard): they hadn't told us from the beginning so at checkout we had to rush to the bank (right opposite) to change euros (banks were closing earlier that day, a close call but we finally made it!). Still, we left with the best impressions.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
25  Thank Ithaca35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RashidHotel, Manager at Al Rashid Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Esteemed Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your review on our hotel through Tripadvisor. We were delighted to read you were happy with the hotel and it's services on this occasion and we look forward to welcoming you back to Al Rashid Hotel next time you travel to Petra.

Thank you and please accept our sincere appreciation

Laith Tarabulsi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I arrived at El Rashid without reservations at 3pm and as it was the end of the winter and during the low-season, I was quoted 20 Jordanian dinar per night bed and breakfast and ended up staying for two nights. There’s free wi-fi in the lobby and in the corridors and sometimes in the rooms but the latter’s more intermittent. Crucially, there’s heating during the night (use the air-con) and hot-water is available till 10pm and again in the morning. Very helpful English-speaking staff and they can help organise night tours of Petra and Little Petra (10-15 JD) including taxi hire.

The bathroom was ok though the TV didn’t always work. Good breakfast consists of hummus, ham, eggs and good jam. The bus station was an easy seven-minute walk away and the El Rashid is way preferable to the 12 JD Valentine's Inn up the hill which can be horribly cold and windy during the winter months there. Plenty of amenities nearby including supermarkets, ATM machines, mobile phone top-ups and little eateries and juice stands.

Recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank sachahuista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RashidHotel, Manager at Al Rashid Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Esteemed Guest, Thank you very much for posting your review on our hotel through Tripadvisor. We want to tell you our hotel had renovated and upgrade to be 3* stars in JUN/2013 , also this pictures for the hotel before changing , all the service and facility upgrade , the hot water now is 24 Hours .
We look forward to your hospitality in our hotel next time , Welcome you in our hotel

Laith Tarabulsi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

I stayed here for the same price I would get for staying in a hostel, so you really can't beat the price. I paid 30D (shared with another person) so that is only 15JD. My bed was comfortable and the room and bathroom were clean. The staff are also very nice and the main lobby and dining hall is clean. I also had a free buffet breakfast and free wifi.

I would recommend this as a budget place to stay. It is very close to the shops, restaurants, banks and the 'bus' station. You could walk everywhere.

Room Tip: Views are terrible so you might as well stay on floors closer to the ground floor. I had the power go out multiple times in one night for long bouts of time (which I heard happens frequently) so it will be easier for you to walk up and down the stairs.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
28  Thank kmartez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RashidHotel, Manager at Al Rashid Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Esteemed Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your review on our hotel through Tripadvisor. We were delighted to read you were happy with the hotel and it's services on this occasion and we look forward to welcoming you back to Al Rashid Hotel next time you travel to Petra.

Thank you and please accept our sincere appreciation

Laith Tarabulsi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

3 of us stayed 2 nights in a triple room. The single beds were big and the room and bathroom were spacious for the price. The room was clean and well air conditioned. The staff were EXTREMELY helpful, organising a free ride to petra visitor centre and giving us free water bottles and good advice on restaurants and Petra. Location is in the centre of town near lots of restaurants and super markets and a very walkable 15 minutes to Petra. Only complaint would be that the shower head couldn't attach to the wall so we had to hand hold it. Excellent value and as young travellers we would reccomend to anyone and will send our friends there.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
26  Thank Maxk7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RashidHotel, Manager at Al Rashid Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Esteemed Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your review on our hotel through Tripadvisor. We were delighted to read you were happy with the hotel and it's services on this occasion and we look forward to welcoming you back to Al Rashid Hotel next time you travel to Petra.

Thank you and please accept our sincere appreciation

Laith Tarabulsi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews