We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Taybet Zaman Hotel and Resort
Ranked #20 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Taybet zaman has an aura that is rare to find in any hotel you go to. It is built in an old village style. Staying there separates you from reality and takes you back in time. At the same time, it is a clean hotel and I did not suffer from bugs which is what I would expect at such a warm location. The food is not that good but is ok. Two problems are the unavailability of spare keys and the far distances you need to walk to get to your room. The pool is indoor but there is an area to sunbath. I def recommend that people stay there whenever they are in the area.

Room Tip: I recommend to upgrade your rooms as the upgraded ones are not that expensive and are quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rasham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 430 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2014

This hotel and resort needs a good refurnishment. The staff were friendly and helpful.Food choice not of good standard.Very near petra so not too much travelling to the site.Not very good experience so low rating

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adrianEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

At one time this may have been quite a wonderful place but it is now gritty and run-down. Someone told us that Sofitel had renovated the place a while back and it had been lovely but it has gone to seed. We had booked two nights and that would have okay but we got very sick (food poisoning?). We got out as fast as we could as staying there while ill would have been just too awful. On the up side, the staff was friendly and helpful, especially the wait staff in the dining room.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shildon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

A very poor experience for a "hotel" / accommodation-offering of any type.
Could be a perfect experience if the attempt was going for "rustic" & "old-world" - BUT that does not mean it has to be totally unclean, inadequate, dilapidated & literally falling apart!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelbyLight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We visited this hotel in April 2014. The premises are tired, rooms are inadequately furnished, our room need some renovation (bathroom, wiring, wall sockets, etc.). In the restaurant we were not offered a la cart menu - looks like there is only buffet, the food choices could be upgraded towards more local variety. Staff requires better training at least in general politesse. Finally there is NO WiFi anywhere except in the reception and the restaurant. This does not constitute a five-star hotel by any measurement!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R_Borisovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We heard so much of this place & as part of our Pilgrimage voyage, we spent a night here in this 100 year old cottage turned into a hotel. We had our first middle eastern cuisine underneath a rock restaurant & the place is already cold & need not have any air conditioning.
As we walked out to our single storey cottage - to our room, we have to wear thick clothings as
the cold night air can bite into your skin, The room is very large . Amenities & Facilities were good
& we have a good night sleep as we were dead tired after travelling non stop for about 24 hours without any sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carsam c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

This place makes you travel away from all work pressure and life load. Great choicefor families and groups, you feel home in every spot in Tybet Zaman. Very friendly staff, and very close managent supervising. John Rick

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yarnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
3.4 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,010 reviews
5.0 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#1 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,619 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Beit Zaman
Beit Zaman
#26 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
253 reviews
4.8 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
530 reviews
4.6 mi away
Seven Wonders Hotel
Seven Wonders Hotel
#11 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taybet Zaman Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taybet Zaman Hotel and Resort

Address: PO Box 2, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'an Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range: $180 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taybet Zaman Hotel and Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Taybet Zaman Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taybet Zaman Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
Taybet Zaman Resort
Taybet Zaman Hotel And Resort Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing