We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel but in serious need of updating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Taybet Zaman Hotel and Resort
Ranked #21 of 41 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel but in serious need of updating”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed there while visiting Petra, and we were very excited about it after reading the reviews on tripadvisor. The hotel is in an old village in a very beautiful location, although a good 20 minutes drive from Petra ruins and impossible to get to if you don't have a car... The rooms, in stone houses, are clean and big.
However, we were quite disappointed, as the hotel was a bit dead. There was not many people and the facilities were very tired, it was like being in a ghost town... We could feel the former glory of the hotel, and there are framed amazing reviews at reception which date back from the 90s, but it is now in serious need of updating! I think this was a Sofitel hotel at some point, but this is no longer the case...
The bathroom was in need of renovation and the swimming pool area (bar, gym, etc) , with broken umbrellas, dirty pool, closed. The food at the restaurant is not great either.
One man at reception was very helpful and gave us some great tips and advice about the rest of our trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lliline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    155
    101
    43
    24
See reviews for
84
170
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pulau Ubin, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

I was impressed with the hotel decor and the presentation of their rooms, indeed, it was an unique and different experience for my husband and myself. The rooms were big and spacious. The rooms had a good space of sofas that allowed us to chill. The service was impressive, my room had a pipe that was leaking, upon calling the room service, the leaking pipe was fixed and the toilet was cleaned up to spick and span. The bed was big and extremely comfortable. The breakfast spread in the restaurant, Shatain had a good spread of pastries and dips. Although i found the pastries too dry.
In terms of location, Taybet Zaman is further away from Petra gate, tucked away in a nice cosy corner.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allapitchay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
137 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Where to begin?
-Getting deathly sick, after partaking in their food & beverage service- is one item.
-Having their security guard demand a 5 Dinar tip- for showing me the way to a local convenience store.
-My first night, @10:30PM- the staff barging in my room with 4security officers; demanding to search my room... Followed by a meticulous inspection of all my belongings.
- Sullen & odiferous maids, failing to thoroughly clean the bathroom. Full of tiny ants.
- Giving away my room to a new reservation, despite my being physically incapacitated with illness & begging for an extention.
- A shame the splendid setting was largely ruined by the poor customer service.
- Visually rustic & charming; built on the skeleton of an ancient local stone village.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xerophytic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels

Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

My family and i stayed in this hotel while we visited the "pink city" PETRA!

the hotel is so pretty!! it is architecture mimics a Bedouin village and blends beautifully with the landscape and views.
It is truly a magical hotel, the staff is super friendly, the restaurant is ok, but full of traditional local food.
I do have to say that the beds are not super comfortable and our AC did not cool as much. I usually would hate a hotel that did not have amazing beds or an AC that cooled as the arctic but this time i did not care at all.
Even thou the hotel is a bit far, the whole experience was amazing, i really do recommend this hotel! It gives great photograph opportunities and i cannot express how gorgeous and magical the place is.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelisyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed with a family of 5 for two nights at the Taybet Zamman, be aware that this is a few kilometers from Petra, so you need your own car or a taxi ride.

We stayed two nights and the Hotel setting is absolutely stunning, the moment we walked in, after our long day driving the King's Highway and many stopovers on the way, we loved it and felt relaxed. Not only the views of the valley are great, but the village style of the Hotel is amazing, almost takes you back to another era, specially after you stopped in Dana which is very similar village.

The rooms are very well done, very spacious, specially those with double bed and they are very comfortable. Breakfast and Dinner were both excellent. Service in general was very good. The pool has an excellent setting, very relaxing after a long day at Petra, although I must say the water was a bit too cold.

We also wanted to see Petra starting at 6:30, so we would miss breakfast the first day and they prepared very good and well packaged breakfast/lunch boxes for us.

Unless you want to be right at the door of Petra, if you want to experience a very good quality hotel in a pretty unique setting I definitely would recommend the Taybet Zamman.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ngutierrez1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

We staid at this hotel for 2 nights at the beginning of April, as part of our short tour of Jordan.
As other reviewers have observed, there are no hotels in Petra itself, you can stay right outside (probably paying a lot more), or about 10 minutes' drive away.

This hotel used to be a Jordanian village and it's certainly kept all its original atmosphere, with narrow stone alleyways and dinky little doors. It's situated on a hill, on the edge of a pretty spectacular valley.

We were there as a rather big group and everybody's room was a little different, all very spacious and with a lot of charme, plenty of space, spacious bathroom with wonderful toiletries, and charming piece of furniture.

The restaurant was in what looked like a system of interconnected stone caves (sorry for the bizarre description), the ambience was amazing and the food delicious, by far the best we had in Jordan! I agree with a previous reviewer, the Umm Ali was to die for. A travel companion who'd visited other countries in the Middle East said that was the best she ever tasted.
Plenty of variety for meat, fish, and vegetarians, with lots of fresh food for salads and great hoummus. Great desserts too!

Overall, one of the best hotels I've ever staid at. If you like copycat big American chains that all look the same this won't be for you, but if you want to stay somewhere a little bit special and that really feels well integrated in the country you're in, I would definitely recommend this.
Should I go back to Petra (and I definitely hope I will), this is where I'll be staying!

Room Tip: No 2 rooms are the same, so it's difficult to say. I visited quite a few and loved them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuisaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is designed as an old Jordanian village and is very nicely done. The restaurant is great and the swimming pool good. There rooms seem to vary and it wasn't very busy when we were there (it was the end of the season) so I would certainly ask to see other options if you don't have a view. Having said that they were all clean and nicely decorated. It is a little removed from Petra but we liked that because it was very peaceful.The reception staff weren't very friendly but everyone else was great.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
3.4 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
5.0 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#3 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
4.8 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#1 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
P Quattro Relax Hotel
P Quattro Relax Hotel
#2 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
4.8 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
5.0 mi away
Petra Palace Hotel
Petra Palace Hotel
#20 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taybet Zaman Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taybet Zaman Hotel and Resort

Property: Taybet Zaman Hotel and Resort
Address: PO Box 2, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taybet Zaman Hotel and Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Taybet Zaman Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taybet Zaman Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
Taybet Zaman Resort
Taybet Zaman Hotel And Resort Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing