We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So helpful in a crisis” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taybet Zaman Hotel and Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Taybet Zaman Hotel and Resort
Ranked #20 of 41 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“So helpful in a crisis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

This hotel was very popular in the 90s, so their notices say. The village concept sort of works and our room and bathroom were absolutely fine. The food was good - particularly liked the Umm Ali pudding - like a bread and butter pudding but more interesting. It is out of the way of Wadi Musa and Petra, though the hotels seem to be either on a panorama area in a remote cluster or actually opposite the Petra entrance, so Taybet Zaman's location on the edge of a small town is an alternative.

The thing that really made it for us is that we had to visit the local hospital twice and fax documents to and from our UK insurers. The wifi in the reception area was really useful (and reliable) and the practical help, support, concern and kindness we received from all the staff was genuine and much appreciated.

What do you want from your hotel - the toiletries were good, the tv channel fine, we ate well, the beds were comfortable - even for people nursing several injuries. And they are very good in a crisis. Yes, it worked very well for us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hampshire123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    155
    101
    43
    24
See reviews for
84
170
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

The rooms need serious updating. Bathrooms on verge of unpleasant. Shower head hung on a loose bolt that had already been relocated twice. Linens and blankets bread are. Buffet restaurant food is so-so. Staff tried, of course, there isn't a woman to be seen working around (they probably clean the rooms). Don't really care about tv, but you better not; grainy 16" old school with broken remote. Still waiting for that extra requested pillow!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank dalvay_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels

Muscat, Masqat, Oman
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed two nights there last week and despite really looking forward to staying there after so many positive trip advisor reviews, we were very unimpressed.

Whilst the hotel has a lot of character, there is nothing to do for children. The TV in both rooms were very old with very fuzzy pictures and only BBC world to watch. Swimming pool was drained and the hotel was so isolated you had to eat in the restaurant.

Prices for buffet in the evening was 20 JD ++ per head, half price for children. Food quality wasn't bad for dinner although choice restricted. Cheapest bottle of wine was astronomical so didn't bother. We ate at the Marriott a few miles away the next night which was half the price and double the quality.

Biggest complaint has to be the breakfast though. Poor choice and very poor quality. Tinned fruit not fresh. Orange Juice was clearly cheap Orange Squash ! Terrible is the only word to describe.

If you're considering staying here, I would make sure you have you own transport so you can eat elsewhere and if you're considering a family stay I would seriously advise you reconsider another hotel in Petra.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Lovely old rustic hotel, not easy to find without satnav at night. Had a lovely room, clean and roomy with character. Buffet evening meal excellent with plenty of choice and staff friendly. Shame foggy night we stayed as could not see the view which is supposed to be something. Would recommend even though a few miles from Petra, but no problem if have a car.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank february6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
184 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed here with a group of 33 people. It was a little tricky finding the rooms but the busboys were anxious to help. All of our group were pleasantly surprised and excited to be here. They would have gladly stayed another day. I would certainly return alone or with a group. I will request this hotel the next time I lead a group to Petra.

Room Tip: Most people were awakened by the early morning call to prayer. It did not penetrate room 722.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank king238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

This hotel was so enchanting at night! A little village. Easy to get lost in though. Keep your map with you!

The rooms were amazing. Everyone in our group loved it!

The food was good and plentiful.

Service was excellent.

Warning: The plug ins were 3 pronged. Not the usual European plug that we have had in other hotels in Jordan. Front desk said they would provide adapters. Instead they told us we could leave our device with them for charging.

Everyone in our group was awaken by the call to prayer but us. We were in the Royal Suites which are set back a bit into an alcove. That may have been why.

I can see it being cold in winter months. The furnace in our room was in the sitting room instead of the bedroom. This made the living room hot and the bedroom chilly. We were comfortable in March however.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judycking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

I was expecting much more from this hotel... Was charmed by the concept of a Bedouin village transformed into a hotel as I tend to prefer hotels with character rather than big chain hotels. However got quite disappointed. Staff is not polite, nor helpful. The bedcot we requested was too small (and rusted) for my 2 year old and asked twice to replace it and nobody ever bothered to show up in our 2 night stay. Bathroom was very smelly and outdated. Window frames and bath hanging irons rusted. Buffet is not tasty and too pricey for what it is. No possibility to have breakfast or dinner outdoors. Pool was closed to our big disappointment late March.Turkish bath at 20 JOD per person. No life, no soul in the streets, felt a bit creepy walking in totally deserted streets.
On the plus side, size of the rooms, the views (amazing) and the rustic decoration. Next time, I 'll rather stay in a hotel in Petra as I did not get to the possibility to use the pool neither the Turkish baths.

Room Tip: Room with panoramic view 106-107-108
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merlin234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
3.4 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
5.0 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#2 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
4.8 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#1 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#6 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
4.8 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#3 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
5.0 mi away
Petra Palace Hotel
Petra Palace Hotel
#22 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taybet Zaman Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taybet Zaman Hotel and Resort

Property: Taybet Zaman Hotel and Resort
Address: PO Box 2, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taybet Zaman Hotel and Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Also Known As:
Taybet Zaman Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
Taybet Zaman Resort
Taybet Zaman Hotel And Resort Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing