We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly suitable!”
Review of Petra Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Petra Palace Hotel
Ranked #22 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Might sound like faint praise, but a reasonably-priced hotel close to Petra historical site entrance with friendly service, good food, a pool and large, clean rooms is anything but praiseworthy! If you stay, do try the buffet dinner on one of the evenings - it is tasty, varied and value-for-money.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a view of the pool or the rather dusty canyon
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SomilGoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (719)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 719 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2012

I stayed here with my wife as part of a Travel Talk Tour. The reception area was very nice with lots of marble. The room was big and the bathroom was clean. The bed was comfortable. We had a double bed that was two doubles pushed together. The restaurant was nice but we only ate breakfast here. Breakfast was tasty with a lot of pastry and pancakes. The location is great only a 5 minute walk to the main entrance of Petra. There was a swimming pool but due to the season we did not swim. There was Wi-Fi in the Lobby only but dropped in and out a lot.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwis_can_fly_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

This hotel is just 300m from the Petra entrance which is very convenient. Rooms are OK clean just bit old fashioned. What is big minus of this hotel is breakfasts. We stayed just two nights so it was OK but the variety of food for breakfast was very poor for such hotel. Also the smell in corridors of cigaret smoke was quite strong. So for two nights to visit Petra OK but nothing else. Although I think it is overpriced.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honzaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I travelled here with a couple that shared the car from Amman with me, and they had booked this hotel. Although I meant to spend a little less, I also wanted to run out as soon as I checked in to have three full hours till closing at the Petra site. So I decided to stay here instead of going back to the town uphill. The couple had a good online deal (47 JD) for their room and they wanted to charge me 49 JD because I had no deal. Well, the driver was still with us and I could leave again with him, and it took hardly any pressure to go down to 42 JD (which the receptionist whispered so the couple couldn't hear him). This includes a room with two double beds, breakfast, a good clean and nice bathroom, a swimming pool and... a 3 minute walk to the Petra Visitors Centre.
Then we had to hear what they offered, like a dinner buffet for 12 JD and a Petra entertainment night (forgot that price), but I left all that for what it was. The restaurant is not really a cozy place, and will do fine for breakfast, but please do not stay there for dinner if you can!
Breakfast was really nice. Oh and of course I told the couple that I got the room rate down below theirs (after all I ate one breakfast less).

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool in the back are definitely quieter than those on the outside facing the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife and 2 children shared two adjoining bedrooms in the Petra Palace for two nights as part of our guided tour through Jordan. The rooms were fine. I slept well in the bed. The TV had basic cable with 4-5 English channels. We were in the older part of the hotel, so the minibar was not stocked (which was fine with us, we used the fridge for water). There was a programmable safe which we used. Our water pressure and water temperature was good (although the kids room's hot water was tepid at best. My wife's iPad got access to the FREE wifi in the game room. The buffet was mediocre, but the service was good - they made us a fresh omelet when we showed up to breakfast at the last minute and they had run out. And of course, you're an easy walk away from the entrance to Petra (about 2.5 blocks away).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heironymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The location of the petra palace is great - just a 2 minute walk to the entrance to Petra. The restaurant and public rooms are very good - the corridors and bedrooms are stark and a bit shabby but clean which is the most important consideration. The quality and choice of food in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner was very good.The restaurant staff were very attentive but didn't like to serve a beer to a female on her own!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ange046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

The hotel is not very far from the entrance to Petra and has a pleasant enough situation just before the hill starts to gets steep, so is an easy short walk past decent souvenir shops and a few nice restaurants.

The hotel lobby and public areas are all basic but the rooms we had were well appointed, spacious and comfortable which is really all you need when visiting Petra. The bathroom shower was nice and powerful too.

We could not use the one pool as it was out of commission undergoing maintenance but the second pool was adequate (welcome) for anyone needing to cool off. Not really a sun tanning spot however as it is overlooked by all the rooms and gets limited sun.

The meals were basic, bland and boring but after a long journey were acceptable for dinner.
Breakfast was not good at all with limited choices and was a poor standard.

The staff were almost all lovely - which seems to be the case everywhere we went in Jordan.

Overall this hotel was relatively very good value and if you are in Petra for the sightseeing, is really good enough for its good accommodation and location purposes - with restaurants close by there is choice too.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room in the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LWCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.6 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#2 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,618 reviews
1.5 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
934 reviews
0.8 mi away
Seven Wonders Hotel
Seven Wonders Hotel
#10 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
310 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tetra Tree Hotel
Tetra Tree Hotel
#13 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petra Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra Palace Hotel

Address: | PO Box 70, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'an Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range: $55 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Petra Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Petra Palace is located on the main touristic road, 200 meters from the main entrance to the archeological site of the rose-red city of Petra. The hotel is classified as a three star deluxe hotel featuring 180 fully air-conditioned rooms, all with private bathrooms, bathtubs, hairdryer, free toiletries, mini bars, satellite television and a 24 hour movie channel. The rooms are warmly decorated and overlook either Petra mountains or the pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Petra Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Petra Palace
Petra Palace Wadi Musa
Petra Palace Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing