We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heart-stopping?”
Review of Petra Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Petra Palace Hotel
Ranked #28 of 41 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The temperature of water in the pool, that is! Petra's pretty arresting too and the Petra Palace Hotel is a five minute walk from the main gate. Helpful staff, free WIFI and a fridge in the room all make for a good value sojourn. As other reviewers have said, there's a certain shabbiness around the edges and works are in progress, including in the area of the allegedly heated pool. I've stayed here twice now (from choice) and the pool is of limited interest as it doesn't get the sun for long enough in autumn to heat the icy waters. I imagine this could be a selling point in high summer but not in October/November. Tour groups coming and going can be a bit noisy, for example, at breakfast, but, on the plus side, breakfast starts at 06:30 so you can eat before beating the crowds in the Siq. I found the variety and quantity on offer at breakfast perfectly satisfactory, but the buffet dinner didn't appeal. There are plenty of options for dinner close by.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms are open onto the pool, where there are loungers and tables. Either a blessing or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (751)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 752 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for two nights on a tour of Jordan. The hotel is modern.
The best thing about the hotel is the location - it is a 5 minute walk to the main gate of Petra, and minutes to good restaurants. Our room was enormous with 3 double beds to accommodate 3 of us.
Breakfast was not good here - lots of dips, pastries, and some strange hot food.
Two swimming pools were both freezing but after a long hot day at Petra, a quick dip was OK.
Limited Wifi - best reception was in the small bar.
The bar is good although very smoky in the evenings - smoking is still permitted and encouraged indoors. Local beer of Philadelphia and the rather potent Petra (8.5%) available!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SolihullPetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

location is superb and is value for money . the rooms are not well great but it just 200m from petra . also the street has many resturants. however the best one is movenpick but too overpriced. the lady at the reception is very helpful and allow yu early checkin with no charge.

Room Tip: take near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nirajsomaiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Our group of 6 spent two nights at the hotel and had very little to complain about. The rooms are clean and quiet with comfortable beds, the breakfast was simple but ample. The staff where quite busy but helpful. The only problem was that one pool was not working and the other pool was very cold.
There is a bar which is small and can get very smokey. The location to Petra is excellent and lots of restaurants and shops just outside the door. We found it perfect for our group.

Room Tip: Some rooms open onto the pool and you can enjoy sitting outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night on a whistlestop tour to Petra. Nothing special to report. Rooms average with dated decor, but clean enough, comfortable beds, and hot water in the bathroom. The buffet breakfast was pretty bad, not much to eat for vegetarians, and the whole dining room was loud and a bit chaotic. Lady on reception looked like she was bored with life, and ignored us for about 10 minutes when we first got there. Excellent location however, on the main street just a 2 minute stroll from the entrance to Petra. If I went back to Petra I probably wouldn't stay here again, unless everywhere else was full. But it's reasonably cheap and for the location, bearable for a night or two, an average 2* hotel. You're in Petra so won't be spending much time in your hotel anyway!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Just getting to Wadi Musa was exciting.Next day I was going to see Petra ,which is awesome
Petra Palace is a fine hotel in the shopping area of Wadi Musa.
Helpful staff ,,very kind people always smiling.
Big room with a refrigerator and a safe to keep your valuables.
Comfortable queen size beds. I slept like a baby..
Excellent breakfast and diner.Very good selection of dishes.
After diner we enjoyed a walk on the shopping area right next to the hotel.Many little stores that remain open until midnight for the convenience of the tourist.
I highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bea33020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is a rather comfortable hotel in Petra just a five minute walk from the entrance to the site. It is not a great hotel.The rooms are average, the staff not over helpful (except for the barman!).

The good news is that there is a well stocked but small bar. The barman is charming. Unfortunately, you cannot put your drinks on your room bill.

The restaurant stops serving at 2130 hrs and there is no room service. The waiters don't speak much English and are surprised when you ask for food!
However, as the hotel is central, there are a lot of restaurants and convenience stores nearby. If you don't like eating in the hotel just walk down out of the hotel and to your right and you will find a variety of small restaurants serving Arabic food as well as Pasta, Burgers and pizzas.

The rooms are small and the hot water is erratic.
Still, it is an OK place for a few nights to see Petra.
..

Room Tip: Try one close to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gyanfernando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.2 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#2 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,689 reviews
0.8 mi away
Petra Sella Hotel
Petra Sella Hotel
#5 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Candles Hotel
Candles Hotel
#12 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Maison Hotel Petra
La Maison Hotel Petra
#16 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
677 reviews
0.5 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#4 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
537 reviews
0.1 mi away
Edom Hotel Petra
Edom Hotel Petra
#33 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petra Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra Palace Hotel

Address: | PO Box 70, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'an Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 41 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range: $55 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Petra Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Petra Palace is located on the main touristic road, 200 meters from the main entrance to the archeological site of the rose-red city of Petra. The hotel is classified as a three star deluxe hotel featuring 180 fully air-conditioned rooms, all with private bathrooms, bathtubs, hairdryer, free toiletries, mini bars, satellite television and a 24 hour movie channel. The rooms are warmly decorated and overlook either Petra mountains or the pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Petra Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Petra Palace
Petra Palace Wadi Musa
Petra Palace Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing