We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in Petra”
Review of Petra Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Petra Palace Hotel
Ranked #20 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Winnipeg
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in Petra”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights. The hotel was very clean and the staff extremely accommodating. They answered all our questions. The offered us a 2nd room for the price of one for our 2 teenagers. The pools was very refreshing and sparkling clean. This hotel is only a few steps away from the entrance to Petra. The staff even opened the kitchen early for us so we could have breakfast early to visit Petra before the heat of the day. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brad336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    247
    243
    100
    40
See reviews for
114
221
89
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

When i stayed there the front was under renovation however, my stay was very comfortable, the receptionist was very friendly and helpful. My only complaint was that the pool wasn't so clean in the beginning , but when they cleaned it was a great swim, in daylight and at night!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chiaayy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Stayed 2 nights. Very Enjoyable experience.

Although a bit dated, I would recommend this hotel for it's great location, nice pools, and great service.

After checking in we cheekily asked if we could shift to a poolside room on the 3rd floor (where the best pool is). They weren't obliged to carry out this request however they bent over backwards to accommodate us and shifted our luggage for us while we were touring Petra the next day.

The hotel is very close to the main entrance into Petra with plenty of shops and restaurants nearby.

Given location and service, this hotel is very good value for money & a lot cheaper than the Movenpick only 100 metres away. Free wifi in the lobby is good but, at present, you have to sit down the end of the lobby near the bar for good wifi reception.

Hotel lobby toilets are clean and well maintained. Hotel breakfast was adequate & satisfying.

Would stay there again for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for poolside room on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

As with many hotels the reception is by far the smartest area, and it kind of gradually deteriorates the closer you get to bedrooms ... however for the price it is clean and comfortable, with a decent breakfast buffet thrown in. I am wondering if the architect was envisaging rats running through a maze when he designed it, with seemingly unnecessary corridors everywhere. The staff were friendly and helpful. There is an evening buffet meal which is really very good value for money, if you don't mind the rather drab restaurant. At only 5 minutes walk from the entrance to Petra, it is far cheaper than the few other hotels that are closer still, so the location is absolutely ideal.

Room Tip: Some rooms have individual balconies and others open on to a communal one above the swimming pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHikingDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

The labyrinthine passages leading to the adequate hotel rooms and the limited range of food at the breakfast buffet were compensated by the proximity of the entry to Petra. Wi-Fi was very weak in the reception area but is much stronger in the smoky bar. Petra Palace is fine for a short stay, any inadequacies being compensated by the magic of Petra!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastairbjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I highly recommend this hotel. Not only is it very clean and comfortable, the staff is very friendly, and the food in the restaurant is very good. It also has a very well maintained swimming pool. The ancient city of Petra is also within walking distance. I would love to stay here again. There are also a lot of friendly locals.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David44207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Very reasonable rates , friendly staff, lovely pool. Overall would highly recommend. Only 3 star but a very high 3 star we felt. Very close to Petra entrance and good restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with apatio near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_maddens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.2 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#2 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,575 reviews
0.3 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
892 reviews
0.8 mi away
Seven Wonders Hotel
Seven Wonders Hotel
#8 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#1 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
518 reviews
0.1 mi away
Edom Hotel Petra
Edom Hotel Petra
#19 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
490 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tetra Tree Hotel
Tetra Tree Hotel
#10 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petra Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra Palace Hotel

Property: Petra Palace Hotel
Address: | PO Box 70, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Petra Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Petra Palace is located on the main touristic road, 200 meters from the main entrance to the archeological site of the rose-red city of Petra. The hotel is classified as a three star deluxe hotel featuring 180 fully air-conditioned rooms, all with private bathrooms, bathtubs, hairdryer, free toiletries, mini bars, satellite television and a 24 hour movie channel. The rooms are warmly decorated and overlook either Petra mountains or the pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Petra Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Petra Palace
Petra Palace Wadi Musa
Petra Palace Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing