We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Petra Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Petra Palace Hotel
Ranked #22 of 41 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not bad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2008

Petra Palace was not bad at all. Room was good and comfortable (although the door of the bathroom did not shut all the way and the hair dryer did not work). Breakfast was ok - lots of variety. Good part is that its on the main road so plenty of places to eat and shop. Also a walkable distance from Petra's enterance.

I have no problems recommending this hotel. (Internet is only wireless - you need your own laptop to get online)

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank intellichem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    236
    235
    94
    36
See reviews for
105
207
84
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2008

I , my wife and the kids really enjoyed the hotel, we stayed in the new extension of the hotel a large pool infront of our room, the size of the room is quite large very nicely furnished with large bathrooms compared to other 4 and 5 stars we stayed in petra previously. we enjoyed breakfast with a wide variety of items . highly recommended

  • Liked — location amazing, new rooms and pool great plus staff are very friendly and helpfull
  • Disliked — missing wireless internet connection
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank mavisIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2008

We found the hotel to be clean, charming and well decorated. The staff were very professional and helpful. The lobby is large and full of comfy seating. Our double bed was a bit small but the room was clean and adequate for the price. We found the breakfast to be very good: lots of bread, eggs, pastries, veggies, and cheese. It is also just a five minute walk to the gates of Petra. We were very happy with our experience.

  • Liked — Clean, great location
  • Disliked — Double bed was a bit small
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SanFran_to_Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UAE
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2007

If being given a small double bed while being told "that's king-size in Jordan" if for you, then this is your hotel. If you like your lungs burning from the smell of smoke at night then being served delicious Tang and olives for breakfast the next morning, check right in. Don't expect to get what you paid for. Broken lampshades, sagging furniture and stained bedcovers are what you'll find. Management unwilling to do anything to solve problems. It does have a good location, though.

  • Liked — proximity to Petra
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IowaHawkeyeUae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels

Nr Luton, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2007

Stayed here May 2007 for two nights.

A warm welcome was offered in this hotel which stands about 200m from the entrance to Petra. Room clean and reasonably spacious but air conditioning was not particularly effective which could be problematical in high summer. No problems at all apart from the fact that bedding and towels were quite worn and need replacement by European standards. Breakfast buffet offered plenty of choice. All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful.

Note that some rooms on the 4th floor (even numbers) have access to a large roof terrace overlooking the swiming pool - good for sitting out, but there are possible security issues.

Overall a decent standard hotel which seems to be well-used by organised trips.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2007

This is a fairly average hotel, its best point being a short 5 minute walk to the entrance to Petra and its western style bar, make sure you try the local Petra beer (8% alc.!)

The hotel rooms are ok, as are the bathroom and the shower. What was a real disappointment was the extremely spongy beds with a double being really uncomfortable. Several of the rooms were the same with one of the travel group sleeping on the floor as they were that bad.

The breakfast was standard fare with a simple selection and no real hot food offered other than boiled eggs.

No wireless internet available, there is apparently a business center available if required,

This was with a stay with the tour goup "On The Go" (Petra Moon).

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank tm32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2006

Food was poor, luke warm buffet the only night we dined in. Breakfasts were OK. Bed was very comfy, probably the best bed we have slept in and the bath was big enough for a 6'2" person to relax in.

Helpful?
6 Thank UKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.2 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#2 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
0.3 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#6 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
0.5 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#1 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Maison Hotel Petra
La Maison Hotel Petra
#17 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#3 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petra Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra Palace Hotel

Property: Petra Palace Hotel
Address: | PO Box 70, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 41 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Petra Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Petra Palace is located on the main touristic road, 200 meters from the main entrance to the archeological site of the rose-red city of Petra. The hotel is classified as a three star deluxe hotel featuring 180 fully air-conditioned rooms, all with private bathrooms, bathtubs, hairdryer, free toiletries, mini bars, satellite television and a 24 hour movie channel. The rooms are warmly decorated and overlook either Petra mountains or the pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Petra Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Petra Palace
Petra Palace Wadi Musa
Petra Palace Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing