We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel with great location”
Review of Beit Zaman

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beit Zaman
Ranked #27 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
237 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Charming hotel with great location”
Reviewed December 19, 2010

Beit Zaman is built over an acient village and maintains that rustic charm. Parts of the ruins are left exposed so that you can imagine the setting a thousand years ago. The hotel is built on a steep slope and the rooms are grouped in small clusters of 4 or 6 units. You are given a map upon check in and are expected to find your room on your own, which is fun but challenging at first. The rooms are sparsely furnished but clean and quaint. The bathrooms are modern but have some shower issues. There is a trick to keeping the hand held shower head in place and preventing it from flooding the bathroom. Some of the others in our group had issues with drains and electical plugs not working. As is usual in this part of the world, once September comes around, the airconditioning is turned off so the rooms were too warm to sleep in. We opened our windows. The service levels were excellent. The food was good, plentiful and had lots of variety. There is a lovely indoor pool with a small work out area.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HugoHobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    94
    56
    29
    17
See reviews for
46
106
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
277 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2010

In reviewing this hotel and another in Jordan I had to decide whether to judge them against international or local standards. Hotels in this part of the Middle East are not as self confident in their service values; staff are often poorly trained and unused to taking the initiative. But in the end Jordan wants to attract international visitors and it should, because their sites are magnificent, then they must be judged against international standards. This hotel is convenient for the incomparable Petra and has the appearance of a recreated ancient village. It's tastefully and simply furnished and has a comfortable bar and lounge. Food is a daily buffet of the usual kind in the Middle East served to westerners, not great but tasty enough. I would have preferred proper table service. The maintenance of the bathrooms was poor; we had to ask for a bath plug because the plug and shower apparatus was furred up, some parts of the building needed touching up. Service was of the nervous but willing variety. Overall we enjoyed our stay but might try another hotel if we ever return to Petra.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wabamik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascais, Portugal
Level Contributor
203 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2010

Great architecture, spacious rooms. The room’s furniture was not very interesting. Lacks a little something or good interiors architect. Very nice swimming pool and exterior space. Breakfast acceptable. Unfortunately the people on reception and services are not very friendly or helpful.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luiz44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2010

I was not expecting much as some previous reviews had not been complimentary. I was pleasantly suprised. The grounds are beautiful and the rooms are nice. Didn't have any issues with flooding in the bathroom, as others did. The breakfast buffet was good (not great) except the one day when they didn't have the omlette station, which left limited options. The front desk staff were okay but were not helpful when we requested a late check out.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loru100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
king's lynn
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2010

This is an innovative hotel built on an old village site reusing the original houses as rooms.
It covers a large area and may entail a long uphill walk to the rooms. Being given a map in the dark not very helpful.
A plus point : It has a no smoking policy !!
The room was large, comfortable and clean once I fought my way in through the difficult doorlocking system but there was no basin plug an awkward shower and the air con didn't cool. Someone came and looked at it but left it circulating the [ very warm] room air .... Bit mean only supplied one tea bag, even in rooms for two people. TV worked well when I fiddled with the aerial.
Meals were varied with a fresh omelet chef. The swimming pool lovely if surprisingly cool.
Rather a long way to Petra but an interesting experience

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sleepyme1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2010

Upon first glance, this resort appeared to be a first class joint. It is a sprawling resort which was formerly a village. Check in was easy and the room was large. There is ZERO literature about the amenities of the resort, only a map.
My complaints begin with the design of the shower. The glass partition that is supposed to prevent water from pouring out onto the floor, is not stationary, as it swings in and out. To solve this, they jerry rig a towel to hold it in place. Once that towel gets soaked, you have a drenched bathroom floor. In addition to the glass partition, the nozzle is right at the level of the ceiling, so shorter travelers will not be able to adjust this...
The service at the hotel also leave much to be desired. It took 3 requests to get an electrical adapter from the front desk. Some travelling companions of ours also had to request theirs three times.
Two other sets of travelling companions also had refrigerators in their rooms which did not work. Another set did not have working air conditioning in theirs. Though this did not happen to me, I thought I'd mention it in my review.
On one occasion as I was checking email in the lobby, I saw a mouse run in from the outside. This was probably an abberation, but I thought I'd mention it here.
My stay was not pleasant and I would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcardona15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels

London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2010

The reception weren't that friendly, leaving us to find our room in the dark with a map (it's a large sprawling resort and not easy to navigate when you first arrive).

We couldn't open the door to the room initially. After a trip back to reception, we learnt that there was a "trick" to opening the door - namely pulling against the jam whist wiggling the key in the lock.

The shower in the bathroom was awful, with a shower head that kept falling off and hitting you on the head. The seal on the shower screen was broken, and so the bathroom flooded when you had a shower. This didn't drain at all - so flood waters were still present hours later.

The toilet had a life of it's own - continuing to fill after flushing - the only solution being to turn the water supply off.

The safe in the room wasn't fixed to anything, so you could walk off with it if you so chose.

The buffet in the restaurant was always missing things, but to it's credit the food cooked freshly by the chef in the room was good and the evening restaurant manager was friendly and attentive. As for the breakfast manager....well, best not said.

There was no information provided in the room about anything, so you were at a loss to what was available.

To sum up, it's a long distance from Petra itself, poorly maintained, and not worth the money.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjs104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
2.0 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
1.4 mi away
My Home Hotel- Petra
My Home Hotel- Petra
#12 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
1.4 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Resort Petra
Crowne Plaza Resort Petra
#25 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
2.2 mi away
P Quattro Relax Hotel
P Quattro Relax Hotel
#1 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
1.5 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beit Zaman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beit Zaman

Property: Beit Zaman
Address: PO Box 122, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Beit Zaman 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Beit Zaman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beit Zaman Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
Homewood Suites Petra Wadi Musa
Beit Zaman Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing