We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming hotel”
Review of Beit Zaman

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beit Zaman
Ranked #25 of 41 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Reviewed January 3, 2014

It was rather cold the night we spent in the hotel and we arrived after dark. The village setting did not appeal initially as finding your room is not as straight forward as in a multi- storeys hotel. The room is spacious and warm. In the morning I strolled around and took some pictures. I then noticed the beauty of the place. There is an indoor pool. Free wifi is only available in the reception area. The restaurant and the bar are in a separate building. There is also a large function room that our group used for meeting. Food is of average standard. All and all I find the hotel attractive, cosy and comfortable. I guess in spring time, the garden will be very beautiful.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Wun Tong L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 253 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2013

Four of us had a wonderful stay here and wished it could have been for longer. We only had the one night but the lovely warm pool was so good after a day in Petra. As photographers (amateur) we appreciated the views towards Petra as the sun was setting. It is outside the main Petra hotel area but I thought that was in it's favour. Our rooms were really beautifully decorated and clean. We had a bedroom with a small sitting room containing sofa and armchairs. Beds were huge and comfortable as we're the pillows. The TV was up-to-date though we didn't try using it. Food was very good in the evening and at breakfast, a buffet which suited us as we have varying dietary requirements and staff were helpful. Bathrooms were very modern and very clean. It was a beautiful place to stay with lovely courtyards and gardens.

Room Tip: We had rooms 1006 and 1007 and both were modern, clean and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ponte55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed two nights at this hotel as part of our Jordan tour. Hotel is nice and the rooms are large and clean, but not very cosy.

The heated indoor pool (I guess 35 °C) was nice and relaxing after a whole day of walking and climbing in Petra.

Breakfast was adequate, but dinner quite disappointing. Restaurant large, noisy and looked more like a school canteen.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anders52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Staying here on tour of Holy Land, this hotel is an old village converted to hotel rooms. The rooms were clean, the staff friendly, the food lovely. Wi-Fi access only in dining area and swimming pool. Pool indoors - well looked after. You have to be quite fit to walk to rooms as there is uphill climb - although one member of our group was assisted everyday by staff to the room and back.

Room Tip: If you have poor mobility ask for a room with a lower number.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Strongly disagree with the preceding reviews, we thought this was well up to expectations. We stayed 2 nights in 2 rooms,- our double room was huge, clean, simply and elegantly furnished and everything worked fine. Our sons' twin room was smaller but still well sized and with a terrific view. Rooms were comfortable and temperature control good..

Location is elevated above the centre of Wadi Musa and the entrance to Petra, with spectacular views and sunsets over the hills around Petra itself, and best seen from the wall by the car park. Having seen the hotels and restaurants around the Petra gate, there are several eyesores with prestigious names and I'd say the location of Beit Zaman is an advantage.

The hotel is a converted Bedouin village, beautifully done with lots of character and with lovely garden courts.

Breakfast buffet was perfectly adequate, from reviews here and for some other hotels we stayed at, perhaps some westerners need to adapt to local customs more? Having had a big lunch in Petra none of us were very hungry and we shared a couple of 'bar snacks' off the menu in the evening.

Staff were all very pleasant and helpful.

Hotel was very quiet at what should have been a peak time and Petra as a whole was quiet, apparently visitors are down 70% since 2007 with the economic downturn and fear of regional volatility. Jordan is peaceful and beautiful, well worth visiting and safe, Petra is a highlight and Beit Zaman a unique place to stay if you go there, a refreshing change from the characterless corporate chain hotels.

Room Tip: A room close to reception will save your legs for walking round Petra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chesterimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This hotel is located about 3 miles from the entrance to Petra. It could be spectacular and the concept of the hotel based on a hillside village is interesting. But it is badly in need of some investment. Rooms were stark and bare and didn't feel clean. Beds were single and narrow. TV was an old CRT version with a few grainy channels. Shower was dirty and the plug didn't work in the sink. Because it's located so far from Wadi Musa there's nothing else around so options are to either take a taxi to a restaurant in town or eat in the dining room so we chose the latter. As there were only about 8 guests in the hotel the only option was a set menu with a choice of chicken or fish. It was no better than average (at best). Breakfast was absolutely awful and the worst we had in over 2 weeks in Israel and Jordan.
The place is billed as 5 star but falls well short of that standard. I've given it 2 stars as the sunset over Petra from the dining room balcony was spectacular and the wifi was free!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmr1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This hotel won a number of awards about 15 years ago but it seems to have gone downhill since then. It needs a good cleaning and refresh. For example, caked vomit on the pool chaises, ripped cushions on the outside couches, mould around the bathtub. It could be a spectacular resort with some much needed renovations.

I agree with the other reviewers about the buffet - it barely makes the grade. And you feel captive to the mediocore offering as you are so far from town. On our second night we were not very hungry as we'd had a late lunch in town but we were unable to order appetizers or snacks in the bar - only the full or half buffet, which didn't appeal to us for a second night.

Wifi only in the public areas and not much comfortable seating.

Without an infusion of cash and creativity, I can't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
2.1 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,055 reviews
1.1 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#2 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,669 reviews
17.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Resort Petra
Crowne Plaza Resort Petra
#21 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
P Quattro Relax Hotel
P Quattro Relax Hotel
#1 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
220 reviews
1.2 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
966 reviews
0.9 mi away
Petra Palace Hotel
Petra Palace Hotel
#26 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beit Zaman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beit Zaman

Address: PO Box 122, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'an Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range: $175 - $1,297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Beit Zaman 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Beit Zaman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beit Zaman Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
Homewood Suites Petra Wadi Musa
Beit Zaman Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing