We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Petra Marriott Hotel
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

We had an amazing night there...specialy ordered food...the atmosphere was really romantic...service was outstanding....but the weather was cold at this time of the year!
The staff was friendly....rooms were really luxurous!!
A great hotel with great service as all marriotts everywhere!!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Thabit A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zovinar M, Hotel Manager at Petra Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Dear Thabit A,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write in Trip Advisor about your amazing stay at the Petra Marriott Hotel.

The team here are very excited to know that we have met and exceeded your expectations in terms of the romantic ambiance, sensational views, the luxurious rooms, the friendly staff and the outstanding services.

We truly value your support, and that you have chosen our Hotel for your stay.

Your valuable feedback makes us proud to know that we came to deliver the level of services and product that Marriott Hotels are famous for.

Looking forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back and to being of service.

Yours sincerely,

Zovinar Mananian (Ms)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (980)
There are newer reviews for Petra Marriott Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

579 - 585 of 980 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2014

The only 5 star thing about this hotel is the view!
The lobby and common areas are odd: they look old and stuffy like a mom and pop's guesthouse. They allow smoking in the lobby, which is CRAZY to me…the ceiling is low and the smell is everywhere! Is this really a Marriott?!?!

Despite our platinum status we were not upgraded and had a regular room, which was small but fine and the decor better was than the lobby. It was very clean and had a shower stall (no bathtub). No bathrobes or slippers. No coffee maker, just instant coffee. Ugh. Front desk staff was polite and helpful, so was wait stuff in the restaurant.
Breakfast buffet was pretty good but not huge. We had beers in the small bar and they came with a plate of munchies, which was nice.There is no gym, but the spa had very competitive prices for a hotel, but no female attendant so I didn't use it.
The location is great for the views but 15 mins from Petra, so if you don't have your own transportation (we did) you will need to rely on their shuttle or get a cab.
Due to our status we didn't pay for internet, but otherwise it is not free, which I think is a ripoff and I refuse to give 5 star to a hotel that doesn't offer free wifi throughout.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IlariaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zovinar M, Hotel Manager at Petra Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear IlariaK,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write in Trip Advisor about your recent stay at Petra Marriott Hotel.

We very much appreciate your kind comments about our staff at the Front Desk and the Bar, and that you have enjoyed the spectacular views of the hotel.

We would like to apologize about not meeting your expectations in the room upgrade, the bathrobe and slippers, the smoking challenge in the Lobby and the lack of coffee maker instead of the kettle and instant coffee, and for not providing free internet in the rooms, whereas it is provided free of charge in the Lobby, restaurants and public areas.

We very much would like to hear further from you, if you would be kind enough to write to me directly to the Hotel email address, so as to ensure we have the full details of your stay and address all issues promptly.

Your kind support as one of our valued Platinum members is truly appreciated, and we very much look forward to having the pleasure of serving you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Zovinar Mananian (Ms)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I definitely prefer this location to Wadi Musa City Centre. If you do not have a car you will need to travel to the entrance of Petra by taxi which is easily arranged and not too pricey (JD15 for a return trip). My room was small but very modern with all necessary amenities and the views of the valley from my room were spectacular. Bed was not that comfortable since the mattress was too soft. Great to just sit on the terrace or in the Lobby/bar and enjoy the view, especially at sunset. Service is definitely not 5 star but still, it is a very modern Hotel with great views so I would stay there again. Breakfast buffet was very good with a big choice of Food (oriental & european).

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Namaste711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Stayed two nights here as part of a Gate 1 tour. Beautiful interior and rooms and we enjoyed both the breakfast buffet and a decent dinner in their Italian restaurant.

For a newish AND American based hotel charging fir in-room Internet is absurd and tacky.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gparrott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Our shower flooded the restroom, no robes or slippers, or free wi-fi service. Just not an overall good feeling, except the breakfast buffet was great! Because we were not happy at this Marriott, we cancelled our reservations at the Dead Sea Marriott....and we are loyal Marriott members!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliforniaNative007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zovinar M, Hotel Manager at Petra Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear CaliforniaNative007,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write in Trip Advisor about your trip at Petra Marriott Hotel.

We are very glad to hear that you have greatly enjoyed your breakfast experience with us.

Our hotel for a while now has been offering free WiFi in all our public areas and restaurants, and we regret to hear that you could not take advantage of that.

We sincerely apologize for the technical issue you experienced and the shower flooding in your bathroom.

We are truly sorry to hear that as a result of this experience at the Petra Marriott, you also cancelled your booking at our sister Marriott Hotel at the Dead Sea, who pride themselves with their outstanding services and product.

As valued Marriott Members, we would very much appreciate if you could write to us directly, in order to assure you of our full commitment in providing a flawless experience, whether here or at any other Marriott Hotel, and to get the chance to regain your trust.

Thanking you for your valuable comments and looking forward to being of service.

Yours sincerely,

Zovinar Mananian (Ms)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The reason for the title of this review is based purely on a very hot room and unsympathetic front desk staff. Otherwise the hotel was nice, views lovely, food was fine in the Italian restaurant, breakfast was ok, beds and linen were comfortable and room was a decent size. It did not matter to us that the hotel was located outside the city (but not that far) because we had a private driver. The only issue was the air conditioning was turned off in the hotel even though it was warm outside, the inside temperature in our room was 25 degrees celsius and front staff were not helpful at all (suggested we open a window - did not help) until my husband strongly expressed our discomfort the next morning and we were supplied with a fan which made the next night bearable. I get the feeling that there would be small issues with all hotels in Petra so this hotel claiming to be a five star is still probably one of the safest bets to go with. One more issue is that there is no business facilities at this hotel, they were unable to scan a document that by husband needed done - our driver and tour guide found a business in town that would do it for us.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingfamily5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zovinar M, Hotel Manager at Petra Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear travellingfamily5,

We very much appreciate you taking the time to write in Trip Advisor about your recent stay at Petra Marriott Hotel.

We are glad to hear that our rooms, the lovely views, and the food and beverage facilities were met with your expectations.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience we have caused you as a result of the A/C challenge in your room, which due to seasonality, would have been switched to heat mode. Acting on this note, we have arranged to check and ensure that all our guest room thermostats are working correctly to adjust the levels of temperature according to individual guest demands.

We are sorry to hear that our Business Centre scanning facility was not working at the time you wanted to use it, and that you had to go downtown for that. This is something totally not acceptable for us.

Our main goal is to meet and exceed all our valued guests' expectations, and with such objective feedback, we will have the opportunity to address areas that need improvement.

Thanking you for your support, and assuring you of our best attentions at all times.

Yours sincerely,

Zovinar Mananian (Ms)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Just stayed 2 nights at the Petra Marriott Hotel and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The rooms we had were beautiful and large. We needed adjoining rooms with an internal door and got upgraded without cost to accommodate. Location is out of town so count on taxis or car. My only problem is ( but I suspect this is a problem at all hotels in Jordan as we experienced the same at Dead Sea Marriott) is that there are few to no women working in the hotel. It was quite creepy for us women guests ( particularly in the Spa!!!) and I hope over time Jordan addresses this problem because it stopped us women from spending more money in the spa at Dead Sea and having the dinner buffet more than once at Marriott Petra. A waiter at the Petra Marriott dinner buffet asked if he could take our 14 year old daughter as his little sister and provide her with gold coins and goats. I kid you not and it went in for a good 20 minutes with us uncomfortably humouring him. Women definitely needed to equalise unacceptable behaviour. Petra was great though.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graciegeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zovinar M, Hotel Manager at Petra Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Underwood52,

We are very delighted to read your review in Trip Advisor about your recent stay at the Petra Marriott Hotel, and thank you for your time and valuable comments.

Knowing that our staff were very helpful, our newly renovated rooms were spacious and beautiful, make all of us feel very proud that we have been able to provide you with the high level of services and the unique product that Marriott Hotels always offer their valued guests.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that one of our waiters had caused you and your family out of good intentions, by trying to strike a friendly conversation that was considered not acceptable. This will be shared with our teams, to ensure that guests always feel at ease and at home away from home.

Thanking you for your kind support of our Hotel, and looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Zovinar Mananian (Ms)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
1.5 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#2 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,586 reviews
1.4 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
906 reviews
1.6 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#1 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
354 reviews
1.5 mi away
Seven Wonders Hotel
Seven Wonders Hotel
#8 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
294 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tetra Tree Hotel
Tetra Tree Hotel
#10 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petra Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra Marriott Hotel

Address: Taybeh Road, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range: $90 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Petra Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most renowned for its breathtaking views and sunsets, the Petra Marriott Hotel is located uphill, overlooking the surrounding Petra Mountains and landscape. All 100 rooms are newly renovated, with state-of-the-art furniture and decor. They are equipped with flat TVs, Cable TV Channels, Safe Box, Mini Bar, Free Coffee & Tea Making Facilities, and Iron and Iron Boards. Most rooms have beautiful mountain views. The bathrooms feature shower boxes with both regular and rain showers, and hair dryers. The Dushara is the main dining and newly renovated restaurant, serving a big selection of international buffet choices, or A La Carte menu. L'Affresco is the Italian restaurant open for dinner, offering a wide array of freshly prepared salads, antipasti, and wood oven pizzas. The Aretas & Lobby Lounge and Bar serve hot and cold beverages and snacks, with special promotions for the Sunset Hours. Both the Aretas and L'Affresco are located adjacent to the Lobby, and overlook the panoramic views. Free Wi-Fi internet is available for hotel guests in the Lobby and Public Areas. The Loofah Turkish Bath has a steam and sauna, along with its Turkish Hammam experience, in addition to a menu of other treatments. The Outdoor Pool and Pool Bar are seasonal, and the area with its tranquil location offers a unique view of the surrounding mountains. The Atagartis main meeting room can also be divided into two smaller rooms, hosting meetings and events, with natural daylight, while the windows and terraces face the Petra Mountains. The Hotel is a 10-minute drive from the Petra Archeological Site, and transport is easily arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Petra Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hotel Petra
Marriott Petra / Wadi Musa
Petra / Wadi Musa Marriott
Petra Marriott Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing