We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Petra Marriott Hotel
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Just stayed 2 nights at the Petra Marriott Hotel and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The rooms we had were beautiful and large. We needed adjoining rooms with an internal door and got upgraded without cost to accommodate. Location is out of town so count on taxis or car. My only problem is ( but I suspect this is a problem at all hotels in Jordan as we experienced the same at Dead Sea Marriott) is that there are few to no women working in the hotel. It was quite creepy for us women guests ( particularly in the Spa!!!) and I hope over time Jordan addresses this problem because it stopped us women from spending more money in the spa at Dead Sea and having the dinner buffet more than once at Marriott Petra. A waiter at the Petra Marriott dinner buffet asked if he could take our 14 year old daughter as his little sister and provide her with gold coins and goats. I kid you not and it went in for a good 20 minutes with us uncomfortably humouring him. Women definitely needed to equalise unacceptable behaviour. Petra was great though.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graciegeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zovinar M, Hotel Manager at Petra Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Underwood52,

We are very delighted to read your review in Trip Advisor about your recent stay at the Petra Marriott Hotel, and thank you for your time and valuable comments.

Knowing that our staff were very helpful, our newly renovated rooms were spacious and beautiful, make all of us feel very proud that we have been able to provide you with the high level of services and the unique product that Marriott Hotels always offer their valued guests.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that one of our waiters had caused you and your family out of good intentions, by trying to strike a friendly conversation that was considered not acceptable. This will be shared with our teams, to ensure that guests always feel at ease and at home away from home.

Thanking you for your kind support of our Hotel, and looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Zovinar Mananian (Ms)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    374
    189
    42
    21
See reviews for
221
371
71
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here, my room was spacious and well appointed. Not sure what other reviewers were complaining about. As for being outside of town, Wadi Musa isn't really much of a happening place, you're here for Petra after all. The staff were wonderful, the manager would walk around the lobby (where the wifi was free) talking to guests, advising them of the free steam rooms and turkish baths..a godsend after a full day at Petra!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prdavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zovinar M, Hotel Manager at Petra Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear prdavis,

Please accept our sincere appreciation for taking the time to let us know in Trip Advisor of your recent flawless stay at Petra Marriott Hotel.

We are very pleased that your room was well-appointed and to your entire liking, and that our free sauna and steam rooms inside our Turkish Bath are a perfect retreat, washing away all traces of an eventful day at the amazing Petra Site.

We take great pride in knowing that all our hosts are attentive to the needs and the complete comfort of our valued guests, while our unique location, with its breathtaking views of the surrounding landscape and the magical sunsets, leave them with unforgettable memories.

Looking forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back and extending to you the outstanding services that Marriott Hotels worldwide are renowned for.

Yours sincerely,

Zovinar Mananian (Ms)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, CA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed 1 night on a visit to Petra. Location is charming, along a hillside overlooking rocks and canyons. Ambience inside is nice and classy. It takes advantage of its hilly location, by building rooms at all levels (lobby starts at 4th floor!). Rooms are large and beds are comfy, though there is no AC in the room (only heater), so if the room gets too hot, they recommend opening the windows to let in cool air! Breakfast spread is nice. We also had dinner in the Dusehra restaurant (they had a buffet too, but we were not too hungry and ordered a la carte). Had the shish kebabs and other local dishes, which were nice and flavorful. Local wine, though, was a huge disappointment -- they were nice enough to change out one of the bottles, but the results were no better -- the taste was too pungent and acidic :-(

Still, it is a nice hotel, and while it is farther from the Petra attraction than the Movenpick, it is cheaper and equally effective.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view overlooking the rocks/canyons on the east side, so you wake up to the sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rajeevfromca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zovinar M, Hotel Manager at Petra Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear rajeevfromca,

Thank you very much for writing about your recent enjoyable experience at the Petra Marriott Hotel.

Your kind comments are very much appreciated in regards to our charming location, the wonderful views of the surrounding canyons, the classy and warm ambiance, the spacious rooms and comfortable beds, along the delicious local dishes we offer.

Our hosts will be very delighted to hear that we have exceeded your expectations with our product and services.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the room temperature challenges, as it must have been due to switching our A/C system from summer cooling to winter heating.

Many thanks for choosing the Petra Marriott for your stay, and we look forward to being of service to you during your future visits.

Yours sincerely,

Zovinar Mananian (Ms)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Beautiful hotel. Typical Mariott, so few complaints. Good resturant, rooms and other facilities. Best views around. Absolutely stunning sunset. Disadvantages, it caters to tour groups, but considering the area, I think all hotels do. Very far from the town and any outside activity, so plan on a taxi.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andre_gerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zovinar M, Hotel Manager at Petra Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear andre_gerd,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write in Trip Advisor about your very enjoyable stay at Petra Marriott Hotel.

It goes without saying that such wonderful reviews are the ultimate reward for all the Hosts at the Petra Marriott Hotel, knowing that we have met and exceeded all the expectations of our valued guests, and will proudly continue doing so, in terms of the outstanding hospitality and product they come to expect from Marriott Hotels worldwide.

Our location and product are very unique in that the Petra Marriott Hotel with its newly renovated state-of-the-art rooms and facilities offers a luxurious and exceptional stay, provides our guests with the opportunity to visit the wonderful historical site of Petra, while still after a long consuming day, it enables them to dwell on the mezmerizing views of the surrounding mountains and the magical sunsets, combining the miracles of nature with the eternity of landscape.

Such breathtaking moments only when fully experienced will be profoundly enjoyed and appreciated, and will leave magical imprints in our memories indefinitely.

We are grateful for your kind comments, and very much look forward to welcoming you back and to being of service.

Yours sincerely,

Zovinar Mananian (Ms)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The rooms are pretty small, which unfortunately accentuated everything else that went wrong with the hotel: strong, bad odor coming out from the toilet, needing to hunt for working electrical plugs, clogged shower drain, no soap/shampoo holder inside the shower, heating system that works either hot or nothing.
The general area is not much better: clogged drain in the spa's shower, poor selection of breakfast items (in fairness, breakfast at Marriott is not something to write home about anyway).
The staff were generally helpful and very hospitable, but you would have to wait...and wait...and wait, as they seem to be very busy all the time, and they don't seem empowered at all. I provided feedback upon check out, and while they were very well received and noted, there was no apology, and no attempt at token compensation (I did not ask, and really was not expecting of any..... but in my mind, contrasted that to other hotels and/or chains which had, on their own initiative, offered a token gesture of appreciation and/or apology for a list of convenience less than half of what experienced at this hotel).

There are much better alternatives, especially given the price point.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuzzLi14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zovinar M, Hotel Manager at Petra Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear g00fba11,

Thank you so much for taking the time to bring to our attention the valuable input you have shared in Trip Advisor about your recent stay at Petra Marriott Hotel.

We are truly sorry to hear about the inconveniences you have encountered during this stay in regards to the room size, clogged drains, the odor, the missing soap holder, the heating issue, the Spa experience, and the selection of the breakfast items.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for failing to meet your expectations of an enjoyable and hassle-free stay with us.

We thank you for your nice feedback about our hospitable staff, and do regret that they did not offer any apologies or acknowledge your feedback upon check out.

We would be grateful if you would be kind enough to write directly to our email address, to provide us with some more specific details, in order for us to identify further any missing information and promptly follow up on that.

We are grateful that you have chosen to stay with us, assuring you of our best intentions at all times.

Yours sincerely,

Zovinar Mananian (Ms)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Marriott and have to disagree with the previous review. We found the staff friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and very well appointed. The views were stunning and you could obviously not have these vistas if you were within the city. Wonder why they didn't complain at the time as I'm sure management would have resolved their issues. The food was excellent and the waiters were helpful. Would definitely return in the future. Thanks to everyone involved in our stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank EnaWeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zovinar M, Hotel Manager at Petra Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear EnaWeb,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your kind comments in Trip Advisor about your recent Stay at Petra Marriott Hotel.

We are very delighted to know that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay, the clean rooms, and the stunning views of the surrounding mountains and our famous sunsets.

It is always our pleasure and our duty to provide the most friendly and high level services, as expected from Marriott Hotels, while we are always grateful to hear from our valuable guests about their own unique aspects of each and every individual stay.

Such input provides us with opportunities to identify any areas of concern, and also to aknowledge the stays which are very memorable.

Looking forward to welcoming you back and to being of service.

Yours sincerely,

Zovinar Mananian (Ms)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We are currently staying at this hotel. The rooms are pretty average in size, furnishings, & cleanliness. The layout of the whole hotel is confusing & a bit odd - we could never figure out which floor things were on and which things were in the front of the hotel & which were in the back. Our rooms smelled like sewage, and the heating system wasn't working very well. Our room was SO hot that we had to keep our windows open to try to get some cool air in.

The two worst things about this hotel: the staff was very unfriendly & the location was horrible. We were amazed at the friendly, warm locals wherever we went around town, and surprised that the folks working at the Marriott were pretty much the opposite. The location is a $10 JOD taxi ride from Old Petra. We were very surprised to hear that the hotel had no shuttle, and we ended up paying for several trips back and forth to town.

We recommend the Petra Moon or the Movenpick. We only stayed at the Marriott because neither of those were available.

We had a room with a beautiful view - but the windows looked like they hadn't been cleaned in years... they were filthy!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zovinar M, Hotel Manager at Petra Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Renee F,

Many thanks for taking the time to write in Trip Advisor about your recent stay at Petra Marriott.

We do appreciate you choosing to stay with us, and are sorry to hear that the hotel layout was confusing, while the room size was average, and that the location was a major challenge.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the challenge with the Air Conditioning temperature set for the winter season and the smell issue in the room.

We thank you for your kind comments about the Hospitable people of Petra, which we wholeheartedly agree with, and very much regret the fact that our staff failed to deliver the same level of friendliness to you during your stay.

Your feedback is very valuable and it will enable us to identify areas of concern and address promptly.

Taking this opportunity to extend our best wishes for the New Year.

Yours sincerely,

Zovinar Mananian (Ms)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
1.5 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#2 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,559 reviews
1.6 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#1 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
518 reviews
1.4 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
P Quattro Relax Hotel
P Quattro Relax Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
147 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
338 reviews
1.5 mi away
Seven Wonders Hotel
Seven Wonders Hotel
#8 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petra Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra Marriott Hotel

Property: Petra Marriott Hotel
Address: Taybeh Road, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Petra Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most renowned for its breathtaking views and sunsets, the Petra Marriott Hotel is located uphill, overlooking the surrounding Petra Mountains and landscape. All 100 rooms are newly renovated, with state-of-the-art furniture and decor. They are equipped with flat TVs, Cable TV Channels, Safe Box, Mini Bar, Free Coffee & Tea Making Facilities, and Iron and Iron Boards. Most rooms have beautiful mountain views. The bathrooms feature shower boxes with both regular and rain showers, and hair dryers. The Dushara is the main dining and newly renovated restaurant, serving a big selection of international buffet choices, or A La Carte menu. L'Affresco is the Italian restaurant open for dinner, offering a wide array of freshly prepared salads, antipasti, and wood oven pizzas. The Aretas & Lobby Lounge and Bar serve hot and cold beverages and snacks, with special promotions for the Sunset Hours. Both the Aretas and L'Affresco are located adjacent to the Lobby, and overlook the panoramic views. Free Wi-Fi internet is available for hotel guests in the Lobby and Public Areas. The Loofah Turkish Bath has a steam and sauna, along with its Turkish Hammam experience, in addition to a menu of other treatments. The Outdoor Pool and Pool Bar are seasonal, and the area with its tranquil location offers a unique view of the surrounding mountains. The Atagartis main meeting room can also be divided into two smaller rooms, hosting meetings and events, with natural daylight, while the windows and terraces face the Petra Mountains. The Hotel is a 10-minute drive from the Petra Archeological Site, and transport is easily arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Marriott, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Petra Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hotel Petra
Marriott Petra / Wadi Musa
Petra / Wadi Musa Marriott
Petra Marriott Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing