We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service with a smile”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Petra Marriott Hotel
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed two nights at this hotel and from the moment we were greeted at the front counter we were made to feel very welcome. The hotel has been maintained to a very good standard and I would certainly recommend it for travellers looking for an upper end property to stay. They certainly went the extra mile. The duty manager noticed that it was my husband's birthday when recording our passport details and offered to arrange for a surprise birthday cake and for happy birthday to be sung to him. Very touching and unexpected. Breakfast was delicious, with a good range and we ate with a view looking past the pool to the hills surrounding Petra - stunning! I would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road as the rooms on the other side of the hotel have views to the hill...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (978)
There are newer reviews for Petra Marriott Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

615 - 621 of 978 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

This lovely hotel has spectacular views and very comfortable rooms for a wonderful, restful experience near the outstanding ruins of Petra.. Had a foot massage at Loofah Spa I highly recommend this after a day of walking at Petra!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank We5wrights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

If visiting Petra then consider The Petra Marriott Hotel. It is a small hotel overlooking the mountains about five minutes drive from the main Petra site. If you do not have your own transport then there is a shuttle bus that you can book.
It's a lovely intimate hotel with light airy rooms - book a premium room with a mountain view and you will not be disappointed.
The service is excellent and everyone is very attentive. We had a couple of issues on our first night here but they were dealt with efficiently and the remainder of our stay was wonderful.
If returning to Petra then I would most certainly return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CollieDog58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The rooms are so comfortable, clean, roomy & modern. The view...OMG amazing! Was very glad that we went to Petra at 6.30am, beat the crowds, the heat, got to do the whole thing & we were back in the pool by 3pm, I wouldn't advise waiting for the shuttle, Petra is very hot, do it early! The pool area is lovely & peaceful, coming from Amman it felt like paradise.

Booked a massage after Petra & this was lovely & relaxing, not the best spa in the world but worth it!

Thoroughly recommend this hotel, amazing!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 21998neptun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed here for two nights during our tour of Jordan, and found we found it a very pleasant experience. The rooms were very comfortable, clean and well appointed. Our outlook over the mountains was nice, but we weren't there long enough to sit back and take it in, The dinner buffet provided plenty of choice as did the breakfast the following morning. Only real issue was with the airconditioning, which was a bit touchy and we had some challenges getting the right temperature. No free internet in the room, but 3 hours was provided at no cost in the lobby area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank burdekin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

After three nights at Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea, we moved on for two nights at the Marriott Petra. Our booking was for a Mountain View room, but as it turned out, that wasn't what we got.

We were allocated room 711; at the front of the hotel, on the road, the view was of something resembling a mountain, but much smaller, and with the Fleshy Hens chicken farm opposite. It was underwhelming, but we took it to be that this was what passed for a mountain view. The room was reasonably well-equipped, but was not no-smoking, and although clean, it had a slightly stale feel to it - not enough to cause me to complain, but definitely some way from ideal.

At breakfast the next morning, we realised that half of the hotel has stunning mountain views, and felt very short-changed, but as we were going to be out all day and checking out the next morning, we didn't complain at the front desk or ask to change. If you're going to Marriott Petra, ask for a mountain view room: if you've booked one, make us that's what you get.

Compared to the Jordan Valley Marriott Dead Sea, the Petra hotel came up short, but even without that comparison, it was far from good enough. Our meal at the in-house Italian restaurant was generally poor; the antipasto included watery prawns, and beef carpaccio which had good flavour, but still had ice crystals from when it was frozen. Pizza and pasta were okay, but overall it was pretty poor stuff. On the second evening, we ate at the buffet, which was better, but safe and a little dull.

Service at the Marriott Petra was really poor. Staff were almost all sullen and unfriendly (with the exception of two guys at breakfast on our final morning), and when we were in the lounge, servers were nowhere to be seen. On our final evening, a previously unseen server brought the bill, which included service, but also a tip section, for signature. When I pointed out that service was included, he said that the service charge was for the hotel, and that there was nothing for him - not that he had served us at all that evening. My tip? Be nicer to people. At checkout, we were not asked about our stay, which was perhaps as well.

Overall, it was a very disappointing experience; given that Petra has a wide range of hotels, from budget to five-star, the Marriott really should try harder.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Phillip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zovinar M, Hotel Manager at Petra Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear Philip A,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us your valuable feedback in Trip Advisor about your recent stay at Petra Marriott.

We truly regret that at this occasion, we have disappointed you and fell short of meetng your expectations by allocating a non-view room by error, the poor food at the Italian Restaurant, the poor service at the Lounge and overall, and the staff attitude.

Please accept our sincerest apologies. We are grateful indeed for providing us with the opportunity to evaluate our services from the perspective of a very valuable and experienced guest, while we truly thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Yours sincerely,

Zovinar Mananian (Ms)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was the third hotel on our recent tour of Jordan and it was my favourite overall. Our tour guide had warned us not to expect the same high standards as the Dead Sea Marriott but in fact it was so peaceful and quiet and the views from the room were so magnificent that I just fell in love with the place. We stayed here for three nights and I could happily have spent a week there. We had a corner suite with an inter-connecting room next door for my friend and it was the best room throughout the holiday. The pool area is small but there were plenty of sun loungers and the resort was very quiet anyway. It is a short busride away from the main attraction of Petra but taxis are very reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask for room 805 for the best view in the hotel
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meadwaytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
1.5 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#2 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,586 reviews
1.4 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
905 reviews
1.6 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#1 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
354 reviews
1.5 mi away
Seven Wonders Hotel
Seven Wonders Hotel
#8 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
294 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tetra Tree Hotel
Tetra Tree Hotel
#11 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petra Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra Marriott Hotel

Address: Taybeh Road, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range: $90 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Petra Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most renowned for its breathtaking views and sunsets, the Petra Marriott Hotel is located uphill, overlooking the surrounding Petra Mountains and landscape. All 100 rooms are newly renovated, with state-of-the-art furniture and decor. They are equipped with flat TVs, Cable TV Channels, Safe Box, Mini Bar, Free Coffee & Tea Making Facilities, and Iron and Iron Boards. Most rooms have beautiful mountain views. The bathrooms feature shower boxes with both regular and rain showers, and hair dryers. The Dushara is the main dining and newly renovated restaurant, serving a big selection of international buffet choices, or A La Carte menu. L'Affresco is the Italian restaurant open for dinner, offering a wide array of freshly prepared salads, antipasti, and wood oven pizzas. The Aretas & Lobby Lounge and Bar serve hot and cold beverages and snacks, with special promotions for the Sunset Hours. Both the Aretas and L'Affresco are located adjacent to the Lobby, and overlook the panoramic views. Free Wi-Fi internet is available for hotel guests in the Lobby and Public Areas. The Loofah Turkish Bath has a steam and sauna, along with its Turkish Hammam experience, in addition to a menu of other treatments. The Outdoor Pool and Pool Bar are seasonal, and the area with its tranquil location offers a unique view of the surrounding mountains. The Atagartis main meeting room can also be divided into two smaller rooms, hosting meetings and events, with natural daylight, while the windows and terraces face the Petra Mountains. The Hotel is a 10-minute drive from the Petra Archeological Site, and transport is easily arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Petra Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hotel Petra
Marriott Petra / Wadi Musa
Petra / Wadi Musa Marriott
Petra Marriott Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing