We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Marriott, remote location, comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Petra Marriott Hotel
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Spent two nights here on Gate1 tour. Check-in was efficient. Two different buildings. Location is removed from town, so long walk or expensive taxi ride are only options. Nice pool area. Pool deck and restaurants overlook beautiful valley providing gorgeous sunset vistas.

Checked in to Room #313, a king bed. Screen on one window ripped. Reported to maintenance and it was replaced within 30 minutes. Room was spacious and well-appointed. Standard Marriott-could have been in any Marriott hotel room (consistent). Kettle for tea/coffee although didn't know until morning the coffee was only decaf (the horror!) but was replaced with regular for second morning. Bathrobes and wash cloths available upon request. Nice Dead Sea bath amenities and hair dryer, plus make-up mirror.

Free wifi (up to three hours) available in lobby lounge, but you also have to deal with smokers. There are several marked "smoking areas" but when they're full smokers will occupy any seats. This was unfortunate and my only complaint about the hotel facilities.

Breakfast variety was vast and varied, with different hit and cold selections daily, including foul and oatmeal. lots of breads. delicious and filling. Restaurant staff were brusque and sometimes pushy/rude, but probably are tired of dealing with groups.

Bathroom looked modern and classy at first glance, but then noticed construction was poor quality. Shower door handle loose (missing nut), no square corners, toilet paper holder in inconvenient location, caulk lines sloppy.

If visiting Petra with group I would stay here again. If visiting on my own I would stay downtown for more dining options.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Saranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (995)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

674 - 680 of 995 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2013

I guess that all guests have chosen that hotel within their trip to Petra and in accordance with this, Marriott is a good choice. Hotel is quite good for a short stay, beautiful overview on mountains, comfortable rooms, staff were polite& welcome, however slow service. I was accepting more on breakfast. The weather was cold during day & evening, very different from the Red Sea coast.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Milana_msc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This was an interesting hotel. The views out back were gorgeous, but it is in a very inaccessible location. There is nothing around at all unless you have a car or a driver. The area is undeveloped now, but perhaps in the future there will be more activity there.

The building itself looks clean and nice--the rooms are attractive--and there is a provision for prayer space for Muslims. The whole thing is dragged down by how totally unappealing the dining room is--it is on the lower level--just a drab and unwelcoming space. The food was not very good, but I have no knowledge as to whether there is better food available in that area or not.

The people at the check-in desk very very nice and helpful and we had very little contact with any other employees. I am a fan of Marriott, but in this case, maybe it would be a good idea to check and see what hotels are right in the area of Petra where you could walk to the sites, and experience a little bit of what the town is like, rather than relying on a driver.

Room Tip: I think that the views from the back side of the hotel are the best--the rooms are built around a ce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PikesvilleTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel is beautiful and has a breathtaking view. Other than that though, the place has little going for it. The water is undrinkable, but you get one small bottle complimentary and have to pay inflated prices for more. The food in the restaurants was mediocre at best. There was a charge for everything here. The room a/c filter must never be changed as I sneezed constantly while in the room.

When we arrived, there was just a small part of a roll of toilet paper in the room. I called down twice to ask for more with none ever arriving. I needed it (ahem) so went down to check. The front desk guy acted affronted that I dared to do that. I got toilet paper pretty quick after that.

I really think you could find better accommodations in Petra.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Texastential
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there for 2 days
The place and the view is beautiful
The food like everywhere in jordan ism t very good and much the same all over, the service slow and bad oriented
People are very nice and try to please

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barbara l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stay at many Marriott's around the world due to my partners Marriott gold club status, and I have to say this was one of the worse.
This felt more like some badly run family run hotel rather than a branded chain.
The front desk service was poor, The room was ok but the bed was very lumpy, The hotel itself is too far away from EVERYTHING, taxi's to anywhere are a must as its too far to walk to town or the wonderful sights of Petra.
Because of our gold status we are normily offered free lounge access and if there is no lounge then at least complimentry breakfast, but we where told at this hotel that they didnt even do breakfast ( The hotel looked so quiet I think they just didnt want to put on the extra staff to cook ) You can find MUCH better places to stay than this dump

Room Tip: Go to someplace in Petra town where all of the cafes and sights are within walking distance as taxis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flip-traverler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zovinar M, Hotel Manager at Petra Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Flip-traverler,

Thank you so much indeed for your objective review in Trip Advisor about your stay at Petra Marriott, and our apologies for the delay in responding to your comments.

We are sorry to know that our services and facilities did not meet your expectations, and that on this occasion we failed to deliver on our commitment towards our guests.

Your comments provided a valuable opportunity to us for addressing these concerns, and we hope that during your future trips, we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back, as you will be able to experience the positive changes we have added for our valued Reward members and all our guests.

Thanking you for choosing to stay with us, and looking forward to being of service.

Yours sincerely,

Zovinar Mananian (Ms)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed for two nights in this hotel while holidaying in Jordan. We approached this hotel with some trepidation after a horrible experience in Marriott Dead Sea, but this hotel was just perfect. The check in was efficient and was done with a smile, the rooms were large and very clean and everything just worked the way it was supposed to work.

While the food choices in the hotel are very limited, the service is excellent. When i walked into the bar the second day, the bartender remembered my order from the previous day, the chef made customised dishes for us (and they were tasty!) and told us that he would be happy to do that as long as we were there....it is things like this which make the stay perfect.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thejainfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zovinar M, Hotel Manager at Petra Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear Thejainfamily,

It gives us so much delight to know through your Trip Advisor Review that we managed to meet and exceed your expectations during your stay at Petra Marriott Hotel.

It is so rewarding for our associates to realize that their friendly service during check in, at the Bar and Restaurants, in addition to their personalized treatment, and the comforable rooms have all contributed to a perfect stay.

We do appreciate your feedback regarding our limited food choices in the hotel, while we take that to full consideration.

Should you decide to retreat to this Wonderful City again, please rest assured that you will always have a home-away-from-home.

Yours sincerely,

Zovinar Mananian (Ms)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
1.5 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,607 reviews
1.4 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
914 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#1 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
522 reviews
1.5 mi away
Seven Wonders Hotel
Seven Wonders Hotel
#8 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
300 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tetra Tree Hotel
Tetra Tree Hotel
#11 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petra Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra Marriott Hotel

Address: Taybeh Road, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Ma'an Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range: $96 - $454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Petra Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most renowned for its breathtaking views and sunsets, the Petra Marriott Hotel is located uphill, overlooking the surrounding Petra Mountains and landscape. All 100 rooms are newly renovated, with state-of-the-art furniture and decor. They are equipped with flat TVs, Cable TV Channels, Safe Box, Mini Bar, Free Coffee & Tea Making Facilities, and Iron and Iron Boards. Most rooms have beautiful mountain views. The bathrooms feature shower boxes with both regular and rain showers, and hair dryers. The Dushara is the main dining and newly renovated restaurant, serving a big selection of international buffet choices, or A La Carte menu. L'Affresco is the Italian restaurant open for dinner, offering a wide array of freshly prepared salads, antipasti, and wood oven pizzas. The Aretas & Lobby Lounge and Bar serve hot and cold beverages and snacks, with special promotions for the Sunset Hours. Both the Aretas and L'Affresco are located adjacent to the Lobby, and overlook the panoramic views. Free Wi-Fi internet is available for hotel guests in the Lobby and Public Areas. The Loofah Turkish Bath has a steam and sauna, along with its Turkish Hammam experience, in addition to a menu of other treatments. The Outdoor Pool and Pool Bar are seasonal, and the area with its tranquil location offers a unique view of the surrounding mountains. The Atagartis main meeting room can also be divided into two smaller rooms, hosting meetings and events, with natural daylight, while the windows and terraces face the Petra Mountains. The Hotel is a 10-minute drive from the Petra Archeological Site, and transport is easily arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Petra Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hotel Petra
Marriott Petra / Wadi Musa
Petra / Wadi Musa Marriott
Petra Marriott Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing