We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful sunset”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Petra Marriott Hotel
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Kobe, Japan
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Wonderful sunset”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

The Marriott Petra Hotel is located ten minutes by car from the entrance to Petra. The plus side of the hotel's location is that you're away from the hustle and dust of the properties near the entrance to the ancient city, but the down side is being away from the areas where a traveler can have more choices of where to eat and where more things to do can be found. A vehicle is needed to get from the hotel to the entrance because of the steepness of the hill on which the property is set. The hotel is kept very clean and the view out over the surrounding hills is spectacular, especially when the sun is setting.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thomoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zovinar M, Hotel Manager at Petra Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Thomoto,

Thank you very much for your nice comments in Trip Advisor about your memorable experience at Petra Marriott Hotel.

We are so delighted to know that you have taken advantage of our unique quiet location, and managed to relax after an eventful day at the Petra Site.

All our guests share your sentiments in regards to the wonderful sunset along with the spectacular views of the landscape, that cannot be matched from anywhere else in Petra.

Looking forward to your future visits, and to being of service.

Yours sincerely,

Zovinar Mananian (Ms)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    343
    177
    40
    16
See reviews for
208
336
70
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
197 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here for two nights, as part of a tour of Jordan, in early April. It's a very pleasant hotel and we had a partial view of the valley and mountains. It was a shame there was no bath (could have done with a soak after a hard day's sightseeing). The room was spacious and comfortable and the service amiable. The hotel was fairly empty and the choice of food at breakfast and on the evening buffet was a little limited. It was, however, fine and tasty. The "Happy Hour" in the evening had an interesting variation on the "buy one drink, get one free" - we had to buy two drinks to get two free - perhaps not the best way to encourage "responsible drinking"! The outside terrace has great views but can be very windy - the pool looked pleasant but unfortunately it was too cool for us to use it. No real complaints but not the best hotel we stayed in in the country.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KK06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zovinar M, Hotel Manager at Petra Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear KK06,

Your feedback in Trip Advisor is truly appreciated, as we thank you for taking the time to write about your pleasant stay at Petra Marriott.

Your comments about our friendly services, rooms being spacious and comfortable have been shared with our team, who are very happy to have been of service.

We agree about the luxurious relaxation which a bath tub would provide, but regret that instead we renovated our rooms with a shower box, due to the water conservation efforts in Jordan.

Thank you for your constructive observations in regards to the limited choices of food buffet. We will certainly take that into consideration.

Hoping your future plans can bring you back to the Petra Marriott, with its mesmerizing views of the surrounding mountains and landscape.

Yours sincerely,

Zovinar Mananian (Ms)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was like a small boutique hotel and has an interesting sprawling design. It has great character with "limestone" walls. We had a standard room and it was very clean and spacious (much MUCH nicer than the Marriott in Amman). The wait staff in the restaurant weren't the most friendly (even for Jordan) and seemed more interested in yelling at one another than attending to the customers. However don't be fooled by the restaurant that claims to serve authentic local and Mediterranean cuisine. Nothing that can't be found in a food court. About 15min drive from the entrance to Petra's historical sites. No external restaurants anywhere in sight. Great view. Great views from the pool and better rooms

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank When_pandas_attack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zovinar M, Hotel Manager at Petra Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear When_Pandas_Attack,

Many thanks for your review in Trip Advisor about the Petra Marriott Hotel, and we are glad to know that the hotel design, and our newly renovated clean and spacious rooms have exceeded your expectations.

We are very sorry for the unfriendly services you have received at our Restaurant during your stay. Your comments are promptly shared and addressed, to ensure that we do not deviate from our customary Marriott and Petra hospitality.

It goes without saying that the Petra Marriott Hotel stands out with its breathtaking mountain views, and what it lacks in terms of the 10-minute free shuttle ride to the Site, it makes up in the tranquility of the surrounding landscape and magical sunsets.

Very much looking forward to welcoming you back and to being of service.

Yours sincerely,

Zovinar Mananian (Ms)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We had a nice room with 2 queen beds (although seemed a bit tight for 3 adults) with great views of the mountains. Beautiful bathroom with stone tiled shower & glass door - seemed newly redone (no tub). Nice lobby with Happy Hour in the Bar every evening which was very nice after a long day of visiting the Petra site. I really enjoyed the Spa with Turkish bath option. It was a wonderful experience that I otherwise may never have had if it wasn't offered there. The breakfast was wonderful with lots of choices. The shuttle bus was a great option for the 10 min drive to the gate of Petra BUT it sure would have been nice if they could return the trip as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coloradodusty08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zovinar M, Hotel Manager at Petra Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Coloradodusty08,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your very enjoyable stay at Petra Marriott Hotel in Trip Advisor.

It is very rewarding for all of us to know that our newly renovated rooms with their beautiful view of Petra Mountains, the bathroom and shower box, the Turkish Bath, the Happy Hour, and the Breakfast experience have all been up to your expectations.

We are pleased that you have taken advantage of our free shuttle service to the Petra Site. We also provide a return Shuttle Service upon arranging with our Front Desk staff, and are truly sorry to hear that this was not the case.

Our sincere appreciation for your support and kind words, hoping that we will be having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Petra Marriott Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Zovinar Mananian (Ms)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed for only one night at the Marriott in Petra . We chose it for the views of the Petra Valley and we were not disappointed for they are awesome . The hotel installations are pretty good though breakfast should offer a wider assortment . It is a five minutes drive from the Petra archeological site but away from the crowds .
H.

Room Tip: Must have a view of the valley .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HipolitodlC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zovinar M, Hotel Manager at Petra Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear HipolitodlC,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your nice review about the Petra Marriott Hotel in Trip Advisor.

We are very delighted to know that you have enjoyed the quiet location and the awesome views of the Majestic Petra Mountains and Landscape.

Your comment regarding the wider variety options to be offered at Breakfast is shared with our Chef, and we are certain during any future trip, you will be able to experience the more varied offerings.

Thanking you for choosing Petra Marriott for your stay, and looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future, and to being of service.

Yours sincerely,

Zovinar Mananian (Ms)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ras Tanura, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Great view of the valley, quiet location away from the hype around the entrance to Petra, two great restaurants and a great breakfast buffet. Very friendly staff willing to please. Hotel offers a free shuttle to Petra. Entrance is guarded with a gate. Great selection in gift shop(I wish my wife and daughter had not found). No coffee maker in the room and the drains do not have a water trap and allow an odor. We put a towel over the drain in the marble shower which solved the problem. No ATM except in town. Gas stations about 4km away. Happy hour from 6:00 -8:00 2 for 1 drinks with good selection as well as local wines.

Room Tip: Ask for valley view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rod8200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zovinar M, Hotel Manager at Petra Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Rod8200,

It was our pleasure to read about your recent stay at Petra Marriott in Trip Advisor and to know that yourself and the family have enjoyed the breathtaking views, great service, the restaurants and happy hour.

We hope that your family managed to get few nice souvenirs from our Gift Shop, so that it will remind you of the wonderful City of Petra and the warm hospitality of its people.

Please accept our apology for the missing coffee maker in your room and the drain odor issue. Thank you for taking the time to bring those to our attention, and to allow us to rectify.

We are very thankful for your support, and very much look forward to welcoming you back to Petra Marriott.

Yours sincerely,

Zovinar Mananian (Ms)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed here with a group and I have to admit that it would not have been my first choice of hotel in Petra. I love staying in Wadi Musa - to be close to the Siq as well as the shops and cafes in the town. But, that said, the hotel was faultless.

My room had a magnificent view out over the mountains - probably the best view in the region - which highlighted the changing colours as the sun rose and set. The room itself was very comfortable with good examples of Jordanian artwork on the walls. Public areas are elegant and the pool-side restaurant has exceptional food and views. Of course, as everywhere in Jordan, the staff are wonderful.

And the location issue? A non-issue - a taxi from the village costs about 5JD ($7) - that is if a Jordanian doesn't offer to give you a lift up the hill before you have a chance to hail a taxi!

Room Tip: Go for the Petra view - magnificent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thekeystotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zovinar M, Hotel Manager at Petra Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Thekeystotravel,

With so much gratitude we have shared your wonderful comments in Trip Advisor about the Petra Marriott with our staff members.

We are very glad that our comfortable rooms with the specially selected artwork, the elegant public areas, and the hospitable staff have exceeded your expectations.

It is definitely the impression of all guests who choose to stay with us, that the Petra Marriott Hotel offers the most exceptional views of the mountains, and that our sunsets are truly mesmerizing, merging the magic of nature with the eternity of landscape.

We hope that your future plans will bring you back to Petra Marriott and that we will get the opportunity to thank you in person for all the support.

Yours sincerely,

Zovinar Mananian (Ms)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
1.5 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#3 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,508 reviews
1.6 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#1 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
1.4 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#4 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
1.4 mi away
P Quattro Relax Hotel
P Quattro Relax Hotel
#2 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tetra Tree Hotel
Tetra Tree Hotel
#11 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petra Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra Marriott Hotel

Property: Petra Marriott Hotel
Address: Taybeh Road, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Petra Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most renowned for its breathtaking views and sunsets, the Petra Marriott Hotel is located uphill, overlooking the surrounding Petra Mountains and landscape. All 100 rooms are newly renovated, with state-of-the-art furniture and decor. They are equipped with flat TVs, Cable TV Channels, Safe Box, Mini Bar, Free Coffee & Tea Making Facilities, and Iron and Iron Boards. Most rooms have beautiful mountain views. The bathrooms feature shower boxes with both regular and rain showers, and hair dryers. The Dushara is the main dining and newly renovated restaurant, serving a big selection of international buffet choices, or A La Carte menu. L'Affresco is the Italian restaurant open for dinner, offering a wide array of freshly prepared salads, antipasti, and wood oven pizzas. The Aretas & Lobby Lounge and Bar serve hot and cold beverages and snacks, with special promotions for the Sunset Hours. Both the Aretas and L'Affresco are located adjacent to the Lobby, and overlook the panoramic views. Free Wi-Fi internet is available for hotel guests in the Lobby and Public Areas. The Loofah Turkish Bath has a steam and sauna, along with its Turkish Hammam experience, in addition to a menu of other treatments. The Outdoor Pool and Pool Bar are seasonal, and the area with its tranquil location offers a unique view of the surrounding mountains. The Atagartis main meeting room can also be divided into two smaller rooms, hosting meetings and events, with natural daylight, while the windows and terraces face the Petra Mountains. The Hotel is a 10-minute drive from the Petra Archeological Site, and transport is easily arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Petra Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hotel Petra
Marriott Petra / Wadi Musa
Petra / Wadi Musa Marriott
Petra Marriott Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing