We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adorable hotel, poor location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Petra Marriott Hotel
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Adorable hotel, poor location”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was like a small boutique hotel and has an interesting sprawling design. It has great character with "limestone" walls. We had a standard room and it was very clean and spacious (much MUCH nicer than the Marriott in Amman). The wait staff in the restaurant weren't the most friendly (even for Jordan) and seemed more interested in yelling at one another than attending to the customers. However don't be fooled by the restaurant that claims to serve authentic local and Mediterranean cuisine. Nothing that can't be found in a food court. About 15min drive from the entrance to Petra's historical sites. No external restaurants anywhere in sight. Great view. Great views from the pool and better rooms

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank When_pandas_attack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zovinar M, Hotel Manager at Petra Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear When_Pandas_Attack,

Many thanks for your review in Trip Advisor about the Petra Marriott Hotel, and we are glad to know that the hotel design, and our newly renovated clean and spacious rooms have exceeded your expectations.

We are very sorry for the unfriendly services you have received at our Restaurant during your stay. Your comments are promptly shared and addressed, to ensure that we do not deviate from our customary Marriott and Petra hospitality.

It goes without saying that the Petra Marriott Hotel stands out with its breathtaking mountain views, and what it lacks in terms of the 10-minute free shuttle ride to the Site, it makes up in the tranquility of the surrounding landscape and magical sunsets.

Very much looking forward to welcoming you back and to being of service.

Yours sincerely,

Zovinar Mananian (Ms)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    368
    186
    41
    20
See reviews for
215
362
71
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We had a nice room with 2 queen beds (although seemed a bit tight for 3 adults) with great views of the mountains. Beautiful bathroom with stone tiled shower & glass door - seemed newly redone (no tub). Nice lobby with Happy Hour in the Bar every evening which was very nice after a long day of visiting the Petra site. I really enjoyed the Spa with Turkish bath option. It was a wonderful experience that I otherwise may never have had if it wasn't offered there. The breakfast was wonderful with lots of choices. The shuttle bus was a great option for the 10 min drive to the gate of Petra BUT it sure would have been nice if they could return the trip as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coloradodusty08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zovinar M, Hotel Manager at Petra Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Coloradodusty08,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your very enjoyable stay at Petra Marriott Hotel in Trip Advisor.

It is very rewarding for all of us to know that our newly renovated rooms with their beautiful view of Petra Mountains, the bathroom and shower box, the Turkish Bath, the Happy Hour, and the Breakfast experience have all been up to your expectations.

We are pleased that you have taken advantage of our free shuttle service to the Petra Site. We also provide a return Shuttle Service upon arranging with our Front Desk staff, and are truly sorry to hear that this was not the case.

Our sincere appreciation for your support and kind words, hoping that we will be having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Petra Marriott Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Zovinar Mananian (Ms)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed for only one night at the Marriott in Petra . We chose it for the views of the Petra Valley and we were not disappointed for they are awesome . The hotel installations are pretty good though breakfast should offer a wider assortment . It is a five minutes drive from the Petra archeological site but away from the crowds .
H.

Room Tip: Must have a view of the valley .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HipolitodlC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zovinar M, Hotel Manager at Petra Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear HipolitodlC,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your nice review about the Petra Marriott Hotel in Trip Advisor.

We are very delighted to know that you have enjoyed the quiet location and the awesome views of the Majestic Petra Mountains and Landscape.

Your comment regarding the wider variety options to be offered at Breakfast is shared with our Chef, and we are certain during any future trip, you will be able to experience the more varied offerings.

Thanking you for choosing Petra Marriott for your stay, and looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future, and to being of service.

Yours sincerely,

Zovinar Mananian (Ms)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ras Tanura, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Great view of the valley, quiet location away from the hype around the entrance to Petra, two great restaurants and a great breakfast buffet. Very friendly staff willing to please. Hotel offers a free shuttle to Petra. Entrance is guarded with a gate. Great selection in gift shop(I wish my wife and daughter had not found). No coffee maker in the room and the drains do not have a water trap and allow an odor. We put a towel over the drain in the marble shower which solved the problem. No ATM except in town. Gas stations about 4km away. Happy hour from 6:00 -8:00 2 for 1 drinks with good selection as well as local wines.

Room Tip: Ask for valley view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rod8200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zovinar M, Hotel Manager at Petra Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Rod8200,

It was our pleasure to read about your recent stay at Petra Marriott in Trip Advisor and to know that yourself and the family have enjoyed the breathtaking views, great service, the restaurants and happy hour.

We hope that your family managed to get few nice souvenirs from our Gift Shop, so that it will remind you of the wonderful City of Petra and the warm hospitality of its people.

Please accept our apology for the missing coffee maker in your room and the drain odor issue. Thank you for taking the time to bring those to our attention, and to allow us to rectify.

We are very thankful for your support, and very much look forward to welcoming you back to Petra Marriott.

Yours sincerely,

Zovinar Mananian (Ms)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed here with a group and I have to admit that it would not have been my first choice of hotel in Petra. I love staying in Wadi Musa - to be close to the Siq as well as the shops and cafes in the town. But, that said, the hotel was faultless.

My room had a magnificent view out over the mountains - probably the best view in the region - which highlighted the changing colours as the sun rose and set. The room itself was very comfortable with good examples of Jordanian artwork on the walls. Public areas are elegant and the pool-side restaurant has exceptional food and views. Of course, as everywhere in Jordan, the staff are wonderful.

And the location issue? A non-issue - a taxi from the village costs about 5JD ($7) - that is if a Jordanian doesn't offer to give you a lift up the hill before you have a chance to hail a taxi!

Room Tip: Go for the Petra view - magnificent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thekeystotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zovinar M, Hotel Manager at Petra Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Thekeystotravel,

With so much gratitude we have shared your wonderful comments in Trip Advisor about the Petra Marriott with our staff members.

We are very glad that our comfortable rooms with the specially selected artwork, the elegant public areas, and the hospitable staff have exceeded your expectations.

It is definitely the impression of all guests who choose to stay with us, that the Petra Marriott Hotel offers the most exceptional views of the mountains, and that our sunsets are truly mesmerizing, merging the magic of nature with the eternity of landscape.

We hope that your future plans will bring you back to Petra Marriott and that we will get the opportunity to thank you in person for all the support.

Yours sincerely,

Zovinar Mananian (Ms)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
203 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed in this place for 2 nights during our vacation in Jordan. The check in was smooth. We wanted a room with the valley view but the entire part was booked by a big group from the US due to the Prez forthcoming visit. Even though we did not the room with the view, we were delighted to know the Prez or his team would be staying in the same place :) We did get the view from the restaurant and pool side where there is a view point too. It was so windy during our stay, due to which we could not stay out for long. The restaurant had a buffet spread for breakfast which was decent. We could not much use the dinner and lunch buffet due to vegetarian choices being limited. We had dinner at the Italian restaurant which had a few vegetarian choices and was la carte. The chef was nice enough to even replace one of the dishes which was not to our liking. We had booked a triple occupancy room which I think is not very convenient for 3 adults. The wifi is not complimentary, but three persons can log in at the same time. I wanted to avail the spa services after a tiring day at Petra, but there was no lady masseuse on that day, so it was a disappointment. The hotel is in a quiet area and one can relax after a long day trekking in Petra.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prema_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zovinar M, Hotel Manager at Petra Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Prema_C,

Please accept our sincere appreciation for sharing your comments in Trip Advisor about the Petra Marriott Hotel.

Thank you for letting us know about your smooth check in, and that our Hotel with its quiet location and unique views provided you with the much needed comfort and relaxation after a long day at the Petra Site.

We regret that on this occasion our Turkish Bath Lady Attendant was not available to be of service, and that our buffet lacked the vegeterian choices that you were hoping to find.
Your valuable feedback will be taken into consideration.

With our thanks for choosing Petra Marriott during your recent trip, hoping that we will have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Zovinar Mananian (Ms)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schleswig, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

It's just. a wonderful hotel. Amazing view on the rose city Petra.. The stuff were so friendly I really can tell.. the most quitest place ever have been , and you feel the paradise on earth when you enjoy the drink on the trace at sunset time...

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenfar55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zovinar M, Hotel Manager at Petra Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Jenfar55,

We are truly appreciative of your recent comments in Trip Advisor about your very enjoyable stay at Petra Marriott Hotel.

It was our pleasure to be of service to you, and to know that our staff with their geniune Petra hospitality met and exceeded your expectations.

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Hotel with the most sensational views of the Petra mountains and the breathtaking sunsets, but more so, with its most amazing and valuable guests.

Yours sincerely,

Zovinar Mananian (Ms)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
1.5 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,540 reviews
1.6 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#2 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
516 reviews
1.4 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
334 reviews
1.4 mi away
P Quattro Relax Hotel
P Quattro Relax Hotel
#1 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
143 reviews
1.5 mi away
Seven Wonders Hotel
Seven Wonders Hotel
#8 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petra Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra Marriott Hotel

Property: Petra Marriott Hotel
Address: Taybeh Road, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Petra Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most renowned for its breathtaking views and sunsets, the Petra Marriott Hotel is located uphill, overlooking the surrounding Petra Mountains and landscape. All 100 rooms are newly renovated, with state-of-the-art furniture and decor. They are equipped with flat TVs, Cable TV Channels, Safe Box, Mini Bar, Free Coffee & Tea Making Facilities, and Iron and Iron Boards. Most rooms have beautiful mountain views. The bathrooms feature shower boxes with both regular and rain showers, and hair dryers. The Dushara is the main dining and newly renovated restaurant, serving a big selection of international buffet choices, or A La Carte menu. L'Affresco is the Italian restaurant open for dinner, offering a wide array of freshly prepared salads, antipasti, and wood oven pizzas. The Aretas & Lobby Lounge and Bar serve hot and cold beverages and snacks, with special promotions for the Sunset Hours. Both the Aretas and L'Affresco are located adjacent to the Lobby, and overlook the panoramic views. Free Wi-Fi internet is available for hotel guests in the Lobby and Public Areas. The Loofah Turkish Bath has a steam and sauna, along with its Turkish Hammam experience, in addition to a menu of other treatments. The Outdoor Pool and Pool Bar are seasonal, and the area with its tranquil location offers a unique view of the surrounding mountains. The Atagartis main meeting room can also be divided into two smaller rooms, hosting meetings and events, with natural daylight, while the windows and terraces face the Petra Mountains. The Hotel is a 10-minute drive from the Petra Archeological Site, and transport is easily arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Petra Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hotel Petra
Marriott Petra / Wadi Musa
Petra / Wadi Musa Marriott
Petra Marriott Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing