We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Petra Marriott Hotel
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Faultless Hotel”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed here with a group and I have to admit that it would not have been my first choice of hotel in Petra. I love staying in Wadi Musa - to be close to the Siq as well as the shops and cafes in the town. But, that said, the hotel was faultless.

My room had a magnificent view out over the mountains - probably the best view in the region - which highlighted the changing colours as the sun rose and set. The room itself was very comfortable with good examples of Jordanian artwork on the walls. Public areas are elegant and the pool-side restaurant has exceptional food and views. Of course, as everywhere in Jordan, the staff are wonderful.

And the location issue? A non-issue - a taxi from the village costs about 5JD ($7) - that is if a Jordanian doesn't offer to give you a lift up the hill before you have a chance to hail a taxi!

Room Tip: Go for the Petra view - magnificent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thekeystotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zovinar M, Hotel Manager at Petra Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Thekeystotravel,

With so much gratitude we have shared your wonderful comments in Trip Advisor about the Petra Marriott with our staff members.

We are very glad that our comfortable rooms with the specially selected artwork, the elegant public areas, and the hospitable staff have exceeded your expectations.

It is definitely the impression of all guests who choose to stay with us, that the Petra Marriott Hotel offers the most exceptional views of the mountains, and that our sunsets are truly mesmerizing, merging the magic of nature with the eternity of landscape.

We hope that your future plans will bring you back to Petra Marriott and that we will get the opportunity to thank you in person for all the support.

Yours sincerely,

Zovinar Mananian (Ms)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    363
    182
    41
    18
See reviews for
212
354
70
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
202 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed in this place for 2 nights during our vacation in Jordan. The check in was smooth. We wanted a room with the valley view but the entire part was booked by a big group from the US due to the Prez forthcoming visit. Even though we did not the room with the view, we were delighted to know the Prez or his team would be staying in the same place :) We did get the view from the restaurant and pool side where there is a view point too. It was so windy during our stay, due to which we could not stay out for long. The restaurant had a buffet spread for breakfast which was decent. We could not much use the dinner and lunch buffet due to vegetarian choices being limited. We had dinner at the Italian restaurant which had a few vegetarian choices and was la carte. The chef was nice enough to even replace one of the dishes which was not to our liking. We had booked a triple occupancy room which I think is not very convenient for 3 adults. The wifi is not complimentary, but three persons can log in at the same time. I wanted to avail the spa services after a tiring day at Petra, but there was no lady masseuse on that day, so it was a disappointment. The hotel is in a quiet area and one can relax after a long day trekking in Petra.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prema_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zovinar M, Hotel Manager at Petra Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Prema_C,

Please accept our sincere appreciation for sharing your comments in Trip Advisor about the Petra Marriott Hotel.

Thank you for letting us know about your smooth check in, and that our Hotel with its quiet location and unique views provided you with the much needed comfort and relaxation after a long day at the Petra Site.

We regret that on this occasion our Turkish Bath Lady Attendant was not available to be of service, and that our buffet lacked the vegeterian choices that you were hoping to find.
Your valuable feedback will be taken into consideration.

With our thanks for choosing Petra Marriott during your recent trip, hoping that we will have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Zovinar Mananian (Ms)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schleswig, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

It's just. a wonderful hotel. Amazing view on the rose city Petra.. The stuff were so friendly I really can tell.. the most quitest place ever have been , and you feel the paradise on earth when you enjoy the drink on the trace at sunset time...

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenfar55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zovinar M, Hotel Manager at Petra Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Jenfar55,

We are truly appreciative of your recent comments in Trip Advisor about your very enjoyable stay at Petra Marriott Hotel.

It was our pleasure to be of service to you, and to know that our staff with their geniune Petra hospitality met and exceeded your expectations.

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Hotel with the most sensational views of the Petra mountains and the breathtaking sunsets, but more so, with its most amazing and valuable guests.

Yours sincerely,

Zovinar Mananian (Ms)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

My family and I were very fortunate to stay at this hotel for 2 nights. We were upgraded to the Petra view rooms and the view was spectacular! The rooms were very comfortable but not too small, and the cleanliness was no.1. Being high up on the hill side, the sunset was breathtaking and so very peaceful and quiet. The staff were very accommodating and extemely friendly and pleasant. We dined at both the breakfast and dinner buffet and the variety would please any palette, and the quality was of the best. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone with children and for a stay that you will never forget!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Petra not the roadside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zovinar M, Hotel Manager at Petra Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Christina S,

We very much appreciate you taking the time to write about your memorable stay at Petra Marriott in Trip Advisor.

We were the fortunate ones indeed that you have chosen to stay with us, and we have been able to meet and exceed all your expectations through our hospitable staff, renovated rooms and facilities, and the food and beverage offerings.

We value your support of our Brand, and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to our breathtaking mountain views and spectacular sunsets.

Yours sincerely,

Zovinar Mananian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfut, Germany
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I visited Petra first week of January 2013 and we decided to stay at the Marriott in Petra. As others have already reported, the hotel is at the other side of the city - about 10 min. by car to the Petra entrance. Parking is free at the hotel and even though it is at the exit road of the city, there is not that much traffic as other said. Of course, I visited Petra not in high season, but when I was there, there was nearly no traffic at all at night.

The hotel was just recently renovated (including the guest rooms). All the pics available here that do show the old fashioned "green" desing, are not current any more. The rooms are now decorated all in light brown tones...like at every other modern Marriott. Also the bathrooms are new. I was told that all rooms now have showers and no more bathtubs..to help to save energy and water.

Rooms are average size but absolutely enough for a short stay. Bedding is new, but a little bit harder than the regular Marriott bed. We requested a second mattress topper and slept perfectly the second night.

Most members of the staff are relatively fluent in english.

If you are planning to visit Petra I highly suggest to stay two nights, as visiting Petra takes a full day so that you dont need to drive to the next hotel after an exhausting day in the heat. Even though we visited the first week of January, it was already quiet warm in the sunny areas of historical Petra. But when you walked in the shadow and in the late afternoon, you must take a jacket with you.

The hotel is usually empty after 8.30 AM in the morning, as all guest rush to the Petra entrance. We had breakfast at 10 AM...everything was still filled up and fresh. And we had the restaurant for ourselfes....with a fantastic view of the mountains. There is also no rush at the entrance, when you are not trying to be the first in the morning...and its much more relaxed.

Please be advised, that the one day entrance fee to Petra is about 50 EURO or 65 USD. You can NOT pay with credit card...just CASH. If you dont have cash with you, you will find the next ATM in the Entrance of the Mövenpick Hotel about 3 min. walking from the gate. After you passed the inspection tent you enter the hotel and emediately turn right. The ATM is close to the Ice-cream shop. It is operated by a Jordan bank but I remember that there was an extra fee of 2-3 JOD (like nearly everywhere in Jordan).

Some other visitors reported that the Hotel only has one elevator. That is not correct. There are two elevators, one for each wing. We mostly walked the 2-3 floors...if this is already too much for you, you should not consider visiting Petra (only if you are willing to pay about 150 USD for different types of transportation within Petra and for the license to use the horse carriage - in high season it might be even more!!).

The pool is relatively small and has only about 8 sun chairs...thats true. It is also not heated. But if you go to Petra, you are here for the historical site...not for beach vacation. In summer when its hot here during the day, would be sufficient for me.

At night the Hotel offers a buffet for JOD 25. If you dont want to spend that much, you can also order from the a-la-carte menue in the restaurant, the Italian Restaurant or the bar. Once again, guests usually eat early here and than head again for the night tour of Petra. We did not do the tour, but were told that you could not see anything at all....beside the torch lights. There are no other restaurants near by. Pricing was moderate and maybe just 40% over downtown prices. But as the offer traditional Jordan food here, we did not wanted to take any risk with eating outside. But than you need a taxi if you dont want to drive your own car and have a beer or wine (Jordan has a 0% alcohol policy for driving).

The SPA at the hotel has a huge steam room...to which two which two hamman rooms are attached. However the steam room was too big so that it did not got realy hot in there. The sauna is small, but still good for 4-5 People. You get towels from the guy sitting at the entrance...if there is someone sitting.

As a Platinum Premier member the max. upgrade you can get is a room with mountain view and two windows. According to what they told me, they have only 2-3 suites at the property.

For the afternoon I suggest to test the bar for a sundowner watching the mountains.

The hotel has a cinema room in the basement (like a small cinema) , that opens frequently or on request.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Joerg04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zovinar M, Hotel Manager at Petra Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Joerg04,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your very extensive and valuable review in Trip Advisor.

We are very delighted to have had the pleasure of welcoming you to the Petra Marriott Hotel and to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and your trip in Petra.

Your kind remarks are truly appreciated regarding our hotel, the staff and the product.

Your observation regarding our sunbeds is correct as for the time being due to the seasonal closing of the outdoor pool, we do not have all of them at display.

We hope during your future trips to our property, we will be able to upgrade you to our Junior Suite.

Many thanks indeed for your objective and comprehensive review of the Petra Marriott and the city of Petra.

Looking forward to welcoming you back and to being of service.

Yours sincerely,

Zovinar Mananian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We spent three nights at this hotel. It's a little further away from Petra than the website leads you to believe, which is ok if you have a car. (We did) The staff were attentive, very helpful & friendly.
The place is extremely clean & in good repair.
We enjoyed the Turkish baths (a jacuzzi would have been nice)
I think this is one of the quietest places we have stayed, which made it extremely relaxing after long days of walking & climbing Petra.
My only negative is good quality food for the cost did not match.
I would recommend staying here though.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doha2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zovinar M, Hotel Manager at Petra Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Doha2012,

Your kind feedback in Trip Advisor about Petra Marriott is very much appreciated.

Our staff will be so pleased to know that they have met all your expectations and were able to deliver the friendly and attentive services that our valuable guests are accustomed to.

Your constructive note about our food quality and matching prices will be reviewed to ensure that we offer beyond what our guests expect from us.

We hope your future trips will bring you back to Petra, and we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Petra Marriott.

Yours sincerely,

Zovinar Mananian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We visited for three nights to go around Petra. Staff were very good and very attentive, in particular Rami. The hotel overall is very well maintained and kept very clean despite the hordes of weary hikers who return from sight seeing. The Turkish steam room is excellent.

There are two restaurants we tried both, the dishes served we had needed more work which is the only negative on the experience. Either the food was missing ingredients or was over seasoned. For example a caesar salad should come with more than lettuce and dressing, and if served with chicken it should be chicken that is visible and warm rather than the cold sugar cube sized chunks of chicken presented when we ordered.

All that said, good hotel, great staff and comfortable, clean and well maintained rooms and facilities.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank pebpcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zovinar M, Hotel Manager at Petra Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Pebpcm,

Please accept our sincere appreciation for letting us know in Trip Advisor about your recent stay at Petra Marriott.

It was very rewarding for us that you have enjoyed our friendly services, and the clean and comfortable rooms and facilities.

We are sorry to hear that on this occasion, we could not manage to meet your expectations in regards to our Restaurant food offerings, while we thank you for the opportunity to evaluate and rectify this shortfall.

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Petra Marriott, and we look forward to future trips to be hosting you again with us.

Yours sincerely,

Zovinar Mananian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
1.5 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
1.6 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#1 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
1.4 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
1.4 mi away
P Quattro Relax Hotel
P Quattro Relax Hotel
#2 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tetra Tree Hotel
Tetra Tree Hotel
#11 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petra Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra Marriott Hotel

Property: Petra Marriott Hotel
Address: Taybeh Road, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Petra Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most renowned for its breathtaking views and sunsets, the Petra Marriott Hotel is located uphill, overlooking the surrounding Petra Mountains and landscape. All 100 rooms are newly renovated, with state-of-the-art furniture and decor. They are equipped with flat TVs, Cable TV Channels, Safe Box, Mini Bar, Free Coffee & Tea Making Facilities, and Iron and Iron Boards. Most rooms have beautiful mountain views. The bathrooms feature shower boxes with both regular and rain showers, and hair dryers. The Dushara is the main dining and newly renovated restaurant, serving a big selection of international buffet choices, or A La Carte menu. L'Affresco is the Italian restaurant open for dinner, offering a wide array of freshly prepared salads, antipasti, and wood oven pizzas. The Aretas & Lobby Lounge and Bar serve hot and cold beverages and snacks, with special promotions for the Sunset Hours. Both the Aretas and L'Affresco are located adjacent to the Lobby, and overlook the panoramic views. Free Wi-Fi internet is available for hotel guests in the Lobby and Public Areas. The Loofah Turkish Bath has a steam and sauna, along with its Turkish Hammam experience, in addition to a menu of other treatments. The Outdoor Pool and Pool Bar are seasonal, and the area with its tranquil location offers a unique view of the surrounding mountains. The Atagartis main meeting room can also be divided into two smaller rooms, hosting meetings and events, with natural daylight, while the windows and terraces face the Petra Mountains. The Hotel is a 10-minute drive from the Petra Archeological Site, and transport is easily arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Marriott, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Petra Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hotel Petra
Marriott Petra / Wadi Musa
Petra / Wadi Musa Marriott
Petra Marriott Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing