We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Didn't feel like a 5 star hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Petra Marriott Hotel
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Didn't feel like a 5 star hotel.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here in Feb of 2012 and felt that the property didn't live up the the Marriott name and that it didn't feel like a 5 star hotel. I'd rate it three stars at the most. Our room seemed old and had cracked granite in the bathroom and the tub was very scratched. The desk help wasn't very helpful when asked for directions to Petra. The breakfast was wonderful and a great start to the day. They were doing some remodeling when we were there so maybe the rooms have been updated. We were so under-impressed with the property that when we visited Petra in Dec 2012 we chose to stay at a different hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dcchandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zovinar M, Acting Hotel Manager at Petra Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Dcchandler,

Many thanks for taking the time to let us know about your unpleasant experience with us back in February, and of your disappointment with our old rooms.

We are very sorry about that, and do regret that as a result, you have chosen to stay at another hotel during your recent trip to the Wonderful City of Petra.

With so much excitement we would like to update you that recently the Petra Marriott Hotel completed a major renovation, and according to the testimony of our valuable guests and partners, the new rooms and renovated facilities look and feel superb.

We hope that during your future trips, you will get the chance to experience first hand this luxurious transformation, and that we will be able to wipe away the traces of any previous dissatisfaction.

Looking forward to welcoming you back and to being up to your expectations.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    347
    179
    40
    16
See reviews for
208
341
70
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, we had some unexpected changes in our plans - the hotel staff were very helpful and exceptionally accommodating.

A special mention to the duty manager Mahmoud Al Falahat, he is truly a gent and a most accommodating hotelier.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shuaibqayum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zovinar M, Acting Hotel Manager at Petra Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Shuaibqayum,

We are truly thrilled to hear about your very enjoyable stay at the Petra Marriott Hotel.

We very much appreciate your positive comments about the Hotel and our staff, and that all of us in general, and our Manager on Duty in particular had been of service, and that we exceeded your expectations.

Thanking you so much for choosing our Brand for your stay in the wondeful City of Petra and looking forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
107 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

The hotel is a top quality Marriott hotel. Rooms of average size but good quality. Showers are great, an appreciated after walking around Petra and the dust. Restaurant and bar area nice. Breakfast had a good variety and quality. They offer a free shuttle to Petra but only at certain times. The taxi ride is very reasonable if those times do not work. It is a bit out of town but has a nice view of the valley. A good choice.

Room Tip: Not facing the road. To loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zovinar M, Hotel Manager in Charge at Petra Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Richard H,

We sincerely thank you for taking the time to share with us your enjoyable experience during your stay at the Petra Marriott Hotel.

We are very glad to have been of service, and very much look forward to welcoming you back.

We truly appreciate your loyalty to our Brand, and would like to take this opportunity to wish you a Very Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

I am so pleased we chose to stay in this hotel while in Petra. Yes, it is a distance away from the entrance to Petra, but the early morning and evening views far outweigh the distance. You overlook Petra and its surrounds and its easy enough to get transport to and from the Petra entrance.
We were upgraded to a room with a view and it was stunning. Spacious enough and nicely fitted out. All in all a nice hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank h0lidaysun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zovinar M, Acting Hotel Manager at Petra Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear h0lidaysun,

We are very delighted to read your wonderful feedback in TripAdvisor about the Petra Marriott Hotel and its breathtaking views of the Majestic Petra Mountains.

We truly value your nice comments about our rooms and facilities, enabling you to have an enjoyable stay.

Thank you so much for choosing one of our many Brands worldwide for your trip to Petra, and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Wishing you a Very Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usa, Japan
Level Contributor
198 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

stayed here for 2 nights in Nov in a mountain view room.

first things first, location is away from the main tourist area and takes about 10 mins drive to get to the main area and petra visitor center. so, if you didnt know that when you booked the hotel, thats not the hotel's problem. location has its pros and cons - pros - quiet beautiful views over the mountains, cons - no restaurants nearby other than the hotels' own.

we really really liked the hotel - the layout is funky with rooms and services on many levels (lobby is actually level 4). the level are accessible by stairs and 1 small lift. views from the hotels many areas are fantastic esp in the dusk/evening times. there is a pool, but we didnt use as it was quite cold when we were there.

room was well laid and furnished. the room decor, design was appealing. bathroom was not that great (shower over bath type situation). the central air only gave out hot air which we didnt know and had to open up the windows in the middle of the night to let cold air in (woudl have expected checkin staff to advise accordingly). room was pretty clean except for a cigarette butt that we found near the sitting chairs.

food was ok. breakfast was ok at best. as much as the hotel advertises all day dining, not all the restaurants were open. and the one that was open (dushara) - service was appalling/ with no one else (literally) in the restaurant, it took them an hour to serve us soup and pasta. food quality was not bad. next day, we ordered a picnic basket to take with us - they messed up the sandwiches in the order, but promptly took the cost off our bill. we had room servce the first night and that was pretty good. 2nd night, we ate in town. the service staff dont all understand english well - so you have to speak slowly and explain them to clearly for any special requests.

plenty of parking on site and the hotel is off the main highway which makes it easy to get in/out.

if you are returning in th evening from the visitor center, stop by on the park on the right side before the hotel - you get phenomenal views over petra (you can see the visitor center, walk to the siq, etc.) and over the surrounding mountains and area. great place for a dusk photograph and to see the sunset.
despite the 'development needs' here, we would stay here again and recommend to others.

Room Tip: ask for a mountain view room on high floor away from the pool area for uninterrupted views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank im666_1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zovinar M, Acting Hotel Manager at Petra Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear im666_1999,

Many thanks for sharing your feedback with us on TripAdvisor.

It gives us great pleasure to know that you have enjoyed the phenomenal views at our Hotel, in addition to our rooms, decor and facilities.

We are truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations throughout your stay.

We sincerely thank you for your valuable comments, which are thoroughly reviewed and addressed, in order for us to provide better services for all our guests.

Looking forward to welcoming you back and wishing you a Very Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed here because we are in Marriott Rewards but otherwise would have gone with the well located Movenpick at the gates of Petra. The Hotel has a wonderful location with lovely views. The standard of service was pleasant but very laid back and haphazard. Breakfast was disappointing and very over priced; the snack menu lacked healthy options and was more 'deep-fried" in nature. The rooms had slit windows and no balcony which rather went against the point of the views and location! The one thing we would really recommend is the Bedouin dinner served outside in a tent - delicious and the host was most attentive - a lovely experience. Turkish bath in the spa didn't seem to work well - very little steam. Overall - not worth the money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Beautiful Hotel, but if you pay for an upgrade, make sure you have a pool view with a BIG window! The other rooms have slit windows which rather defeats the point of the upgrade. Service and staff were excellent, and typically friendly Jordanian welcome, but the food was a bit monotonous, and you will quickly get bored with yet more humus! Try the outdoor experience in the tent if you have a chance - amazing food, sunset and ambiance.
All in all a magical place to spend some time

Room Tip: Ask for a big window overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cabbagecaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
1.5 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#3 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,511 reviews
1.6 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#1 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
1.4 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#4 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
1.4 mi away
P Quattro Relax Hotel
P Quattro Relax Hotel
#2 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tetra Tree Hotel
Tetra Tree Hotel
#11 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petra Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra Marriott Hotel

Property: Petra Marriott Hotel
Address: Taybeh Road, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Petra Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most renowned for its breathtaking views and sunsets, the Petra Marriott Hotel is located uphill, overlooking the surrounding Petra Mountains and landscape. All 100 rooms are newly renovated, with state-of-the-art furniture and decor. They are equipped with flat TVs, Cable TV Channels, Safe Box, Mini Bar, Free Coffee & Tea Making Facilities, and Iron and Iron Boards. Most rooms have beautiful mountain views. The bathrooms feature shower boxes with both regular and rain showers, and hair dryers. The Dushara is the main dining and newly renovated restaurant, serving a big selection of international buffet choices, or A La Carte menu. L'Affresco is the Italian restaurant open for dinner, offering a wide array of freshly prepared salads, antipasti, and wood oven pizzas. The Aretas & Lobby Lounge and Bar serve hot and cold beverages and snacks, with special promotions for the Sunset Hours. Both the Aretas and L'Affresco are located adjacent to the Lobby, and overlook the panoramic views. Free Wi-Fi internet is available for hotel guests in the Lobby and Public Areas. The Loofah Turkish Bath has a steam and sauna, along with its Turkish Hammam experience, in addition to a menu of other treatments. The Outdoor Pool and Pool Bar are seasonal, and the area with its tranquil location offers a unique view of the surrounding mountains. The Atagartis main meeting room can also be divided into two smaller rooms, hosting meetings and events, with natural daylight, while the windows and terraces face the Petra Mountains. The Hotel is a 10-minute drive from the Petra Archeological Site, and transport is easily arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Petra Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hotel Petra
Marriott Petra / Wadi Musa
Petra / Wadi Musa Marriott
Petra Marriott Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing