We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than average, just not very good” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Petra Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Petra Marriott Hotel
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Richmond
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Better than average, just not very good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

I was in Jordan for a few weeks on business, and stayed over one the weekend so i could see archaeological Petra.

This hotel has a great buffet breakfast and dinner and a nice view from the restaurant. Rooms are ok; best thing about the room was the glass stall shower in the bathroom (I stayed in four different hotels in Jordan and this was the only one with a walk-in stall shower, which i prefer over the tub showers).

Property could use some updating and minor repairs e.g., the elevator did not work for the two days i stayed there. There is an architecturally interesting interior skylight area (see pic).

Having said all the above, i have a feeling this is the best hotel in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the hills/mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doreesey_pooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    333
    169
    39
    16
See reviews for
200
325
69
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
69 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed here for three nights. During our stay the hotel was running at less than 50% capacity and because of this we felt that standards had slipped a little ie only one restaurant open on the first night of our stay which was very noisy even on the terrace. As a result our driver took us into Wadi Musa to eat at a local restaurant the next two nights. Another example was that cushions and towels were not provided at the pool for two of the days.
We were not happy with our room when we first arrived as we were led to believe that most rooms had a view over Petra Mountains and we were given one with a view of the road. When my wife asked for an upgrade we were told initially that it would cost 190JD but as our tour operator at that very moment was in touch to ask if all was OK we were then given a free upgrade!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daveanddore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, Kent
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We really enjoyed staying here. Staff were really nice, good food, and nice room. We got a free upgrade on arrival as our room was not ready, and it had a fantastic view over the valley towards Petra. The only downside is that it quite a way from the entrance to Petra, but the views more than make up for that. We thought there was a shuttle bus to take guests to and from Petra but did not see any evidence of it. Luckily we had our own car, but it could be a potential problem if you did not. Fantastic sunsets.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a valley view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karenanddave55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

So you won't be a stone's throw away from the ancient city, but what you will have are stunning views and sunsets from the hotel patio and/or your room when you return from a hard and hot day of sightseeing. As expected rooms are spacious, clean and well maintained. Staff is attentive but a bit S - L - O - W. We didn't eat at the hotel as we prefer local restaurants to hotel food. If you have an adjoining room sound may travel easily.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TheArcherFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver bc
Level Contributor
88 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

I dont understand why this hotel has some bad reviews as the staff are nice, hotel is very clean and renovated. rooms are better than most 5star hotels. Food in the restaurant is good and reasonably priced. the views at happy hour on the deck looking over Petra is not to be missed.
I was worried about arriving at the hotel because of previous reviews but i had no reason to worry...it was fantastic. the only drawback was the distance from the town center but it does have a free regular shuttle to take you there.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ghalston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
147 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Located on the King's Highway, looking over the rockformation in which Petra is carved out, the hotel offers stunning views, however not from all rooms. Make sure you book a room with a view. Staff is very friendly, as usual in Jordan, food is great.
If you have your own car, this is really a recommended hotel, since it is a bit far off the entrance to Petra. The top hotels located close to the entrance (Movenpick and Crown Plaza) are likely to be fully booked all year round, so you probably will little choice if you want to stay in one of the best hotels in Petra.

Being build on the slope of a mountain, the pool is small and not very attractive. But then again, why would you go to Petra/Wadi Mousa, just to enjoy the pool?

The hotel is easy to reach: from Aqaba follow the desert highway till the juntion with the KKing's Highway and turn left (make sure you have a full gas tank, there are no gasstations between this junction and Wadi Mousa). From the North: follow the King's Highway and drive through Wadi Mousa. The hotel is located a vew kilometers south of Wadi Mousa.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and visited the ancient city of Petra while there. The hotel staff was very respectful and courteous. They were willing to do whatever the guests wanted. The hotel is located on a mountain, and the sunset was fantastic. Jordan is a friendly country with friendly people. I loved this hotel, and I hope to return one day. The Bedouin tent is a must visit... it's right outside by the pool.

Room Tip: If you don't like the room they put you in, ask to be moved. My first room was on the lower lev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SonyaSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
1.6 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#1 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
1.6 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#3 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,485 reviews
1.4 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#6 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#4 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
1.4 mi away
P Quattro Relax Hotel
P Quattro Relax Hotel
#2 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tetra Tree Hotel
Tetra Tree Hotel
#11 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petra Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra Marriott Hotel

Property: Petra Marriott Hotel
Address: Taybeh Road, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Petra Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most renowned for its breathtaking views and sunsets, the Petra Marriott Hotel is located uphill, overlooking the surrounding Petra Mountains and landscape. All 100 rooms are newly renovated, with state-of-the-art furniture and decor. They are equipped with flat TVs, Cable TV Channels, Safe Box, Mini Bar, Free Coffee & Tea Making Facilities, and Iron and Iron Boards. Most rooms have beautiful mountain views. The bathrooms feature shower boxes with both regular and rain showers, and hair dryers. The Dushara is the main dining and newly renovated restaurant, serving a big selection of international buffet choices, or A La Carte menu. L'Affresco is the Italian restaurant open for dinner, offering a wide array of freshly prepared salads, antipasti, and wood oven pizzas. The Aretas & Lobby Lounge and Bar serve hot and cold beverages and snacks, with special promotions for the Sunset Hours. Both the Aretas and L'Affresco are located adjacent to the Lobby, and overlook the panoramic views. Free Wi-Fi internet is available for hotel guests in the Lobby and Public Areas. The Loofah Turkish Bath has a steam and sauna, along with its Turkish Hammam experience, in addition to a menu of other treatments. The Outdoor Pool and Pool Bar are seasonal, and the area with its tranquil location offers a unique view of the surrounding mountains. The Atagartis main meeting room can also be divided into two smaller rooms, hosting meetings and events, with natural daylight, while the windows and terraces face the Petra Mountains. The Hotel is a 10-minute drive from the Petra Archeological Site, and transport is easily arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Petra Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hotel Petra
Marriott Petra / Wadi Musa
Petra / Wadi Musa Marriott
Petra Marriott Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing