We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort Petra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Resort Petra
Ranked #17 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
usa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

We chose this hotel because of it's proximity to the Petra site. Knowing ourselves we knew we would probably be in the site until they closed the gates at night & waiting to get in there first thing in the morning. All of which was true! (Petra is incredible) The hotel location is excellent. It is quite & the service is very good. Our room was very comfortable with big fluffy beds. Would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gettaway1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    112
    104
    44
    16
See reviews for
68
129
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Pros:
You can't get any closer to Petra if you tried, walk out the front of the hotel, you are right on the road to the Siq.
There is even a bar that is houses in an old carved out Nabean house.
Great breakfast, great dinner.
Nearby shopping arcade.
Everything is in walking distance.

Cons:
Rooms are a little dated. Some minor water issues.
Lots of French people. They are fine, but a little pushy at dinner time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jcb193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Petra, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear jcb193,

Thank you for your review of your stay at Crowne Plaza Resort Petra. We are pleased you did enjoy our location and our breakfast and dinners. All of our reviews are evaluated by management, and your review is no exception. We strive to provide the best guest experience possible, and may use some of the feedback you’ve provided to further improve our service. Thank you again.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

Like many people have said, you only stay in this hotel for one reason; because its close to Petra. And like many people have said, you can't get closer to the entrance. (Don't be fooled by "entrance" - its still a fair walk until you get to the Siq and then more until the Treasury, but its a beautiful walk)
The hotel itself is slightly dated, but the staff are all polite, the beds are comfortable and it is clean. We had one of the chalet type rooms away from the main part of the hotel. The cave bar is a really plus. Never ate in the main restaurant apart from breakfast which is good. Fresh pancakes/eggs etc.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VestanPance123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Petra, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear The_Clunger,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. I am pleased to know that our location was suitable for your needs and found our staff polite and rooms comfortable and clean. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
200 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

I agree with other comments - the location is great. When I first got there, I thought the location wasn't that big a deal. The other hotels in Wadi Musa aren't that much further away. But after a day at the Petra site and the long walk back out, I was really happy not to have to walk even 10 feet further. My room (113) was quite good - two double beds (I was solo, so not great) but the room has a big outdoor deck with a table and a couple chairs. Very nice place to spend the late afternoon after a trip to Petra. Staff is friendly but they were pretty distracted when I was there - a big name visitor was coming the day after I left so there was lots of scrambling going on. Breakfast is OK - nothing special.

Key point if you are going to Petra - VERY important to understand where your hotel is. MANY hotels are well outside of Wadi Musa so you have to take a bus or taxi to get to town or to the Petra site.

Room Tip: My room, 113, had a nice terrace. There is a similar room on the floor above, but I'm not sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OaklandBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Food, room and facilities were all acceptable, but uninspiring. Location, right by the entrance to Petra, was perfect. The staff were friendly and welcoming, yet the hotel did not quite come up to CP standards.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Millah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Petra, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Millah A,

Thank you for taking the time to leave comments about your stay. We are glad to see the staff service was a pleasant highlight of your stay.

Thank you again for your review, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adana, Turkey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Location, food, service, nice rooms, etc.!!! I would stay at this hotel again and again! The rooms have been remodeled (based on some old pictures I see here). The food (buffet) is the best food I've ever had at a hotel (and a vast selection as well for breakfast and lunch). The staff was very friendly and helpful (very accommodating)!

Excellent hotel!

Room Tip: Stay in one of the outside rooms for a great dust and dawn view (and these rooms are larger than the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ydubb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
86 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed here whilst visiting Petra.
The hotel is literally a 45 second walk to entrance of petra visitors.

Hotel is a little dated, but you're paying for the location rather than how good hotel is and what you can do at the hotel. I would say all the hotel amenities are a bonus as most of the time/ day will be spent touring Petra.

In all... great location, great branded hotel for comfort, cleanliness and good showers and good breakfast...not sure what else one would want when visiting Petra.

I put 4 instead of 5 due to comparing to other 5 stars we have been to....as for me..location cannot be heavily weighted for which star to give a hotel as there are other considerations.

When in Petra again...will come back to this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RG1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.2 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#2 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
0.2 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
1.5 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#1 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.4 mi away
Petra Palace Hotel
Petra Palace Hotel
#20 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Resort Petra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Resort Petra

Property: Crowne Plaza Resort Petra
Address: PO Box 30, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Resort Petra 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closed for renovations. Set against a breathtaking view of Petra mountains lays the Crowne Plaza Resort Petra. Besides the unique view provided from the hotel's patio of the dramatic Petra Mountains, the Crowne Plaza Resort Petra is only steps away from the visitor's entrance to the siq and the old city with its world famous archaeological sites. Crowne Plaza Resort Petra offers 147 rooms including 3 suites and 30 superior rooms. 31 hillside chalets tucked into the Petra rock face overlooking the visitor's entrance the site. Facilities include: Heated outdoor swimming pool and 3 Restaurants, lobby bar, evening cocktail lounge with dance floor, conference room, 2000 year old 'Nabatean Tomb' the Cave Bar is fronted with a large piazza ideal for groups and incentive gatherings with space to cater for up to 200 guests are some of our services, dining & entertainments. Don't miss out visiting The Basin Restaurant in the old city with its exceptional settings for lunch. Outside catering can be arranged by our staff in a variety of unique locations outside the hotel, and local entertainment will bring traditional flavor to your event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity and IHG so you can book your Crowne Plaza Resort Petra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort Petra Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
Crowne Plaza Hotel Petra
Crowne Plaza Resort Petra Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing