We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel just next to Petra entrance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Resort Petra
Ranked #23 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Reviewed April 4, 2012

And that's a nice surprise.
Hotel is part of the Crowne hotels. Very friendly people & reception. Rooms are big and clean. Everything's very neat ! A nice 4 star hotel
Good breakfast too !

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joeri2k3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (342)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 342 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed two days at the Crowne Plaza Wadi Musa. It was undergoing major renovations, so we were lodged at he Guest House, a smaller part of the hotel. Altough smaller and with less amenities than expected, it was right next to the Petra gate, a huge advantage. Staff was courteous, rooms were clean and comfortable. There was a restaurant installed inside a nabatean tomb, wich was a wonderful and surprising experience. The food was good and the prices acceptable. For anyone in Wadi Musa to visit Petra - and I don't know what else one would do there - it is a perfect location. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hoel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pageauf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

The Hotel offers a comfortable stay, with decent service and great access to Petra.

Have stayed in Wadi Moussa on earlier trips and some hotels are more modern and have better facilities. But the crowne plaza stands out for it's proximity to Petra, unobstructed views, peace and serenity.

Breakfast was nice. They could improve their dining options.

Room Tip: Get a room witha view of Petra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhythmsection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Do. Not. Stay. Here.
Holy crap this hotel is a trip. What a time warp. This hotel was the first hotel in Petra and it has not been touched, remodeled, etc. since then. Absolutely strange. So we ended up here after the hotel we originally booked was oversold and they "upgraded" us here. Five star hotel?? Not even in a third world country. We saw two different rooms both had twin beds (?!) with something my husband swears was a radio between them. When were radios ever that big and have a light switch on them?? Beyond that, the rooms were filthy and reeked of smoke. Yes, they say hotel is non-smoking but that's only been for a few years and if you haven't changed the carpeting, or furniture or painted...you get the picture. There was hair in all four of the beds and all over the disgusting bathrooms. And to whoever said this is THE hotel because of location must have missed the Movenpick across the street that is equally as close to the entrance. That is where we moved to and were very happy with it. Do yourself a favor and save yourself trouble- just book the Movenpick.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carebear214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

I stayed at this hotel on my first-ever trip abroad alone, so the fact that it was situated just 100 m away from the visitor entrance to Petra was great, esp. when walking back from the 'Petra by Night' show on my first night.

The room was decorated in cheerful colours but was a little cramped with the twin beds, which had rather high and wobbly mattresses. Noise from the corridor carries in easily; late one night I had to ask a group of drunk people who woke me up with all their noise to keep it down.

Most of the communal areas were nice, particularly the pool area overlooking the desert hills, though the wallpaper was peeling off in the corridor outside my room.

The staff, particularly one of the bellboys (I think his name was Saeed), was very helpful and friendly.

Breakfast was of good quality and there was a variety of Continental, American and Arabic breakfast items.

Wi-Fi was available in the lobby for a charge, and this was my main disappointment. I have stayed in cheaper hotels which offer free Wi-Fi in the rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mreza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

The hotel is the best situated hotel in Petra, just a few meters away from the entrance. Yet, despite this, I would not recommend this expensive, run down, and old hotel that will charge you Paris prices. The food is low quality, the rooms are small, the furniture old, with an old model television. I regret I did not read earlier reviews in tripadvisor carefully.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We actually had a room booked at Petra Moon, however due to an issue with their booking system, they were full and instead gave us a room at Crowne Plaza. We would have been much better off at Petra moon as the rooms at Crowne Plaza are quite old with small, uncomfortable beds.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ren444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.2 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,607 reviews
0.9 mi away
My Home Hotel- Petra
My Home Hotel- Petra
#10 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
48 reviews
0.4 mi away
Petra Palace Hotel
Petra Palace Hotel
#19 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
915 reviews
0.4 mi away
Candles Hotel
Candles Hotel
#14 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
213 reviews
1.5 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Resort Petra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Resort Petra

Address: PO Box 30, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Ma'an Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range: $108 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Resort Petra 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closed for renovations. Set against a breathtaking view of Petra mountains lays the Crowne Plaza Resort Petra. Besides the unique view provided from the hotel's patio of the dramatic Petra Mountains, the Crowne Plaza Resort Petra is only steps away from the visitor's entrance to the siq and the old city with its world famous archaeological sites. Crowne Plaza Resort Petra offers 147 rooms including 3 suites and 30 superior rooms. 31 hillside chalets tucked into the Petra rock face overlooking the visitor's entrance the site. Facilities include: Heated outdoor swimming pool and 3 Restaurants, lobby bar, evening cocktail lounge with dance floor, conference room, 2000 year old 'Nabatean Tomb' the Cave Bar is fronted with a large piazza ideal for groups and incentive gatherings with space to cater for up to 200 guests are some of our services, dining & entertainments. Don't miss out visiting The Basin Restaurant in the old city with its exceptional settings for lunch. Outside catering can be arranged by our staff in a variety of unique locations outside the hotel, and local entertainment will bring traditional flavor to your event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, IHG, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crowne Plaza Resort Petra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort Petra Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
Crowne Plaza Hotel Petra
Crowne Plaza Resort Petra Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing