We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Resort Petra
Ranked #23 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great location, comfortable”
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Location can hardly be bettered, just 300 metres from the entrance to Petra. Views from the rooms, pool, and terrace are terrific.

Rooms look a little dated and not especially large, but are comfortable nonetheless. Service was helpful and friendly, restaurant fine for the most part if not particularly exciting. Overall, good value for money and an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilipRylah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    112
    104
    45
    17
See reviews for
69
130
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Very comfortable and moder hotel very close to the entrance to Petra. The bedrooms were great and the service was excellent.

It is just a 3 minute walk from the fabulous Petra - another one in the Bucket LIst. It has air conditioning, nice restaurant and swimming pool.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nsojer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

This hotel is not up to Crowne Plaza standards that we have come expect. Our rooms were down the hill away from the main building. There were no elevators which made it difficult to climb all the stairs to the lobby area. The phone did not work. There were no wash cloths. No hair dryer and when we rerquested we did not get one as they said they only had 3 for a 175 room hotel. When coming back in the evening from the long walk in Petra our friends did not have towels in the room. They had to request 3 times and finally had to go to the desk to get some. The good thing is that the heotel is located right at the entrance to Petra. The staff were not very friendly and were always hurrying us to finish breakfast and dinner.

Room Tip: Do not get the ``cabanas`` as there is not elevator and are located outside - motel style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank quieteater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHGCare at Crowne Plaza Resort Petra, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Dear quieteater,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Resort Petra. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Petra.
Sincerely,
Lin S.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Located at the entry to Petra, with good views from the rooms. The hotel is overall run down and in desperate need of an improvement and so is the breakfast. Not worth the 150 euros a night. The staff was friendly and the Cave bar is worth a visit for a night cap, but make reservations as it gets busy.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlethaandOle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Very good location. You can see beautiful scene of back side of petra from the hotel room. when you have a trip to petra the same day and when you get up in the morning and look through the window and see the back side ,you will have the curiousity to see what is inside it? That curiousity will lead you through out when you venture in to more difficult terrain walk to Petra. Hotel ambience is good. Neat atmosphere. But since we went on a busy season, the hotel was crowded.The rooms were not properly maintained. A/C and toilet vent were not working properly. Room service was pathetic. Internet speed was slow. But the location and ambience outside were nice.I already placed my compliant with them. If they improve their service , then this hotel will be ideal location for stay for a life time visit to beautiful place to Petra.

Room Tip: Rooms down give a good view of petra starting from 20 to 30
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmon72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2011

My best friend and myself had a pleassure to spent two nights in Crowne Plaza Resort Petra. It was my second time within three years staying in this Resort. Great service and absolutely amazing view and most importantly location. Resort located within 5 min walk from Petra Park. The outdoor pool always is a best part of the day after spending all day in desert. After dark, couple of drinks at Cave bar and our day was comlete :))
Very special thank you to a waiter in Cave bar- Mosa, who showed us local restaurants, coffee shops and bars. This guy made our time in Petra really memorable.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vitaliy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

It’s been said many times before the location is great if you want to walk into the Petra but if it wasn’t for the location you wouldn’t stay here. There is no getting away from the fact that this is a very tired hotel with small rooms and wafer thin walls but it does have some redeeming features. I found the staff very polite and helpful. The food is also cheap although not that exciting. Drinks are expensive but not over the top if you stay with the local beer. It does have some quirky aspects like the Cave Bar which is literally in a cave within the hotel grounds and the views from the hotel are what most people come to see. It is below the standard of what I expect of a Crowne Plaza but irrespective of brand this is convenience plus and given most people will stay only a night or two and spend most of the day siteseeing it is the way to go.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunehop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
1.5 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
958 reviews
0.9 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#1 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
518 reviews
0.2 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#2 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
893 reviews
0.4 mi away
Petra Palace Hotel
Petra Palace Hotel
#22 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
686 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tetra Tree Hotel
Tetra Tree Hotel
#10 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Resort Petra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Resort Petra

Property: Crowne Plaza Resort Petra
Address: PO Box 30, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Resort Petra 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closed for renovations. Set against a breathtaking view of Petra mountains lays the Crowne Plaza Resort Petra. Besides the unique view provided from the hotel's patio of the dramatic Petra Mountains, the Crowne Plaza Resort Petra is only steps away from the visitor's entrance to the siq and the old city with its world famous archaeological sites. Crowne Plaza Resort Petra offers 147 rooms including 3 suites and 30 superior rooms. 31 hillside chalets tucked into the Petra rock face overlooking the visitor's entrance the site. Facilities include: Heated outdoor swimming pool and 3 Restaurants, lobby bar, evening cocktail lounge with dance floor, conference room, 2000 year old 'Nabatean Tomb' the Cave Bar is fronted with a large piazza ideal for groups and incentive gatherings with space to cater for up to 200 guests are some of our services, dining & entertainments. Don't miss out visiting The Basin Restaurant in the old city with its exceptional settings for lunch. Outside catering can be arranged by our staff in a variety of unique locations outside the hotel, and local entertainment will bring traditional flavor to your event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, IHG, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Resort Petra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort Petra Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
Crowne Plaza Hotel Petra
Crowne Plaza Resort Petra Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing