We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jordan browne Delights” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort Petra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Resort Petra
Ranked #18 of 41 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Doha
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Jordan browne Delights”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

Very good location. You can see beautiful scene of back side of petra from the hotel room. when you have a trip to petra the same day and when you get up in the morning and look through the window and see the back side ,you will have the curiousity to see what is inside it? That curiousity will lead you through out when you venture in to more difficult terrain walk to Petra. Hotel ambience is good. Neat atmosphere. But since we went on a busy season, the hotel was crowded.The rooms were not properly maintained. A/C and toilet vent were not working properly. Room service was pathetic. Internet speed was slow. But the location and ambience outside were nice.I already placed my compliant with them. If they improve their service , then this hotel will be ideal location for stay for a life time visit to beautiful place to Petra.

Room Tip: Rooms down give a good view of petra starting from 20 to 30
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmon72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    112
    104
    44
    16
See reviews for
68
129
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

My best friend and myself had a pleassure to spent two nights in Crowne Plaza Resort Petra. It was my second time within three years staying in this Resort. Great service and absolutely amazing view and most importantly location. Resort located within 5 min walk from Petra Park. The outdoor pool always is a best part of the day after spending all day in desert. After dark, couple of drinks at Cave bar and our day was comlete :))
Very special thank you to a waiter in Cave bar- Mosa, who showed us local restaurants, coffee shops and bars. This guy made our time in Petra really memorable.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vitaliy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
120 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

It’s been said many times before the location is great if you want to walk into the Petra but if it wasn’t for the location you wouldn’t stay here. There is no getting away from the fact that this is a very tired hotel with small rooms and wafer thin walls but it does have some redeeming features. I found the staff very polite and helpful. The food is also cheap although not that exciting. Drinks are expensive but not over the top if you stay with the local beer. It does have some quirky aspects like the Cave Bar which is literally in a cave within the hotel grounds and the views from the hotel are what most people come to see. It is below the standard of what I expect of a Crowne Plaza but irrespective of brand this is convenience plus and given most people will stay only a night or two and spend most of the day siteseeing it is the way to go.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunehop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
463 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

From reading other reviews here you would think this hotel is practically a rat hole. But I have to say, it was a very comfortable and clean and our room was relatively new. I was not aware there are old and new sections of this hotel, but if so, we were staying in the new section. The walk to the room was not easy, several stairways down and you have to be careful. No elevators. The room itself was very comfortable, large, with modern conveniences, large bathroom and a big comfortable bed. We ordered room service for dinner and the food was good. We used the outdoor heated pool and it was delightful especially after a full day at Petra. The breakfast buffet was very good and the staff was helpful. Front desk arranged transportation for us to return to the the Israel border. The price was very reasonable and the trip was uneventful. The highlight of course, was that we were about 100 yards from the entrance to Petra. What a delight! I would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CliffKol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

I have rated this hotel purely on the location. The hotel itself is fairly outdated and bland, with little atmosphere and mainly coach parties. Food OK, not fantastic, standard buffet fare and wine very expensive. The room we had was small but adequate and clean. Internet very expensive. If you can forgive it this, it has plenty else going for it...There is a swimming pool area with some of the most fantastic views I have ever seen, absolutely breathtaking, of the rock formations around Petra (see photos). Only small downside is that the wall around this area is fairly high (probably for safety) so you really have to be standing to enjoy the view at its best. The room did also have a good view but they do not seem to have made the most of this in their room designs as the bed was crammed up against the window and curtain which made it difficult to see out properly, plus there was a sort of wall outside the room which prevented a totally clear view. This hotel is, I think, with the Movenpick Hotel, the closest ones to the Petra site so you can stroll there in a few minutes. It is also only a short walk to the shops and restaurants of Wadi Musa.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cla2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
193 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

This is a great hotel in the most perfect setting. .the room,although on the smallish side was perfect-really lovely,clean and cosy and the views from our room (out towards the rocks and hotel pool) were idyllic and really set the scene.hotel staff were friendly and helpful,breakfast was great and really set you up for the day (with a chef on hand to cook you fresh omlettes or pancakes which we appreciated!)
The best thing about the hotel isthe location and accompanying view-we visited the competitor,movenpick, which was outstanding but couldnt beat the views for us..
Second best thing is the heated outdoor pool which you'll really appreciate after a day's sightseeing..!
You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Siempredviaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

Soulless and very overpriced...aimed at sophisticated ambiance...but spoiled utterly by huge flatscreen tv..showing EUFA game. Could have been so special, but saw other people put off by lack of athmosphere and the wretched football on tv. Peeped into hotel...it looked a bit sterile..closeness to Petra obviously major selling point.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dbuckner2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.2 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#6 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
0.2 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#2 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
1.5 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#1 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Maison Hotel Petra
La Maison Hotel Petra
#17 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.4 mi away
Petra Palace Hotel
Petra Palace Hotel
#22 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Resort Petra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Resort Petra

Property: Crowne Plaza Resort Petra
Address: PO Box 30, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Resort Petra 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closed for renovations. Set against a breathtaking view of Petra mountains lays the Crowne Plaza Resort Petra. Besides the unique view provided from the hotel's patio of the dramatic Petra Mountains, the Crowne Plaza Resort Petra is only steps away from the visitor's entrance to the siq and the old city with its world famous archaeological sites. Crowne Plaza Resort Petra offers 147 rooms including 3 suites and 30 superior rooms. 31 hillside chalets tucked into the Petra rock face overlooking the visitor's entrance the site. Facilities include: Heated outdoor swimming pool and 3 Restaurants, lobby bar, evening cocktail lounge with dance floor, conference room, 2000 year old 'Nabatean Tomb' the Cave Bar is fronted with a large piazza ideal for groups and incentive gatherings with space to cater for up to 200 guests are some of our services, dining & entertainments. Don't miss out visiting The Basin Restaurant in the old city with its exceptional settings for lunch. Outside catering can be arranged by our staff in a variety of unique locations outside the hotel, and local entertainment will bring traditional flavor to your event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and IHG so you can book your Crowne Plaza Resort Petra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort Petra Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
Crowne Plaza Hotel Petra
Crowne Plaza Resort Petra Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing