We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Petra Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort Petra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Resort Petra
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Petra Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

A lovely hotel in an excellent location, however there were problems. We booked two double non-smoking rooms, but were given a double and a twin smoking rooms. The front of house staff were rude and not interested in fixing this situation even though they were told the non -smoking rooms were required for health reasons. One the credit side the location is excellent to visit Petra, meals were very good.

Room Tip: Check the offered room before you pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ARL-Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    112
    104
    44
    16
See reviews for
68
129
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Whilst the hotel is good for location, only a 5 minute walk from the entrance to Petra, the whole hotel is out dated with torn, dated fabrics and furniture.

Staff repeatedly asked me if I wanted to hire a car or have transport booked for onward travel, despite saying that I already had transport in place, the same staff kept pestering me. Very annoying when I tried to relax in the bar or by the pool.

The restaurant has a balcony and it is worth wile watching sunset over dinner. The views come at a price, 20JD for a 3 course buffet per person.

Breakfast is good with a good selection of hot and cold options as well as juices, tea and coffee.

I was staying in room "028" and the room looks very out dated with damaged furniture. Poorly maintained faculties (see my pictures)

I do not have much (good or bad) to say about this CP but apart from the good breakfast, good air conditioning in the rooms and good location, there isn't much to say.

I paid 80JD inc taxes and inclusive of breakfast for one night. I was asked to pay in full my accommodation upon check-in. Check out was slow, and I was kept waiting while my mini bar was checked to see if I had consumed any of its contents despite the door being kept locked by staff.

Not one of the best Crone Plaza properties.

Room Tip: Try the Movenpick which is located near the Crowne Plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seat_1A_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels

UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Really lovely courteous staff, great breakfast and unbelievable views of Petra. Oh and the pool and it's surroundings are awesome.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Petra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UkRubes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

wasnt expecting too much, but this hotel was great....the best location for Petra with unbelievable views, a lovely swimming pool overlooking Petra, the rooms were good, the breakfast lovely, and the staff really helpful and friendly.
highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natk38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Stayed at Crowne Plaza on 14/09/11 for 1nt. On arrival in Petra by bus from Amman you can see the Crowne Plaza about 100mtrs away so no trouble finding it, about 100mtrs in the opposite direction is the entrance to the main attraction in these parts - The Petra site so location is superb.

Hotel is in attactive grounds and looks as if it was built in 1980's it looks well maintained and has a pleasant & relaxing resort feel to it. It was very quiet while I was there, I think Jordan in general is suffering from a lack of visitors at the moment because of the problems in neighbouring countries.

Door & reception staff very welcoming and I was given a welcome drink whilst checking in. Despite arriving at 9.30am I was given my room without any problem. Room on 1st floor overlooking pool looked as if it had been recently decorated and was very comfortable with all the usual facilities, bathroom likewise. Spent rest of the day at Petra site, the modern town outside the ancient site looks very pleasant and has banks, cafes, restaurants etc but I did not have anytime to explore it.

After spending a full day exploring the Petra site I returned to the hotel and used the pool which is in a beautiful setting over looking the Petra Mountains and some very unusual rock formations. There are plenty of towels & sun loungers available and after a long day exploring Petra in 37C heat the pool was very refreshing, although very very cold! Not sure how they managed to keep water so cool, although not a problem just a bit of a surprise!

For dinner I chose from the room service menu which has plently of choices and is very reasonably priced by international hotel prices. Food was delivered very quickly and was top quality. Breakfast is buffet style and has a good variety of foodstuffs, providing something for all tastes again service at breakfast was excellent. About halfway between the hotel & entrance to Petra there is a seperate annenexe (The Guest House, which I understand is slightly cheaper but is mostly used for groups) and next to this is the Cave Bar which is built into the rock face and has a terrace, this is a very pleasent place for a sundowner after a long days exploration. They also have a seperate restaurant at the centre of the Petra site and at check-in you are given a 20% discount voucher for this venue.

I asked for a late check out at 5pm and this was accommodated no problem for a small charge (JD25).. Check out was smooth and porter carried my baggage down to bus terminal for return journey to Amman. I can highly recommend the Crowne Plaza, Petra.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghTraveller61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

This hotel is located closest to the entrance to the Petra site. It was very clean, the rooms were very nice and comfortable. We stayed 2 nights as part of a tour of Jordan. The food was excellent. But by far, the best part was the scenery from the deck of the hotel. It was nestled into the mountain side of the Petra site. There's even a rock that looks like a turtle. And the soft wailing of the call to prayers coming from a mosque not far away added to the majestic scenery.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keglerdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elsewhere
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

I stayed at the Crown Plaza, Petra for four nights in order to explore Petra, Wadi Rum and the Neolithic site of Beidha. The hotel is in an excellent location, just minutes away from the Petra entrance, with spectacular views of the surrounding desert landscape from the pool side terrace. The location enables one to reach the site early in the morning in order to beat the crowds. For those that wish to go on the Petra by Night tour, it once again gives easy access. Dining was also more than adequate, as ample, varied and tasty selections were offered at the breakfast and dinner buffets.

My rather small room with two single beds was located in the main building and while adequate, looked rather tired and worn. Frankly, I was rather disappointed. And while contemplating that the Nabatean’s were known for their brilliantly engineered water delivery systems, I was puzzled and entertained by the temperamental contemporary plumbing at the hotel.

But, in the end, the spectacular archaeological sites in this area of the world more than make up for outdated furnishings and despite my mixed feelings I would recommend a stay due to the good location and the nearness of the entrance to the Petra site.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Second_Self
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
1.5 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#6 of 39 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 stars 691 reviews
0.2 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#4 of 39 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 stars 740 reviews
0.2 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#2 of 39 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#1 of 39 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 stars 455 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#3 of 39 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
0.3 mi away
Edom Hotel Petra
Edom Hotel Petra
#12 of 39 in Petra - Wadi Musa
3.5 of 5 stars 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Resort Petra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Resort Petra

Property: Crowne Plaza Resort Petra
Address: PO Box 30, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Resort Petra 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closed for renovations. Set against a breathtaking view of Petra mountains lays the Crowne Plaza Resort Petra. Besides the unique view provided from the hotel's patio of the dramatic Petra Mountains, the Crowne Plaza Resort Petra is only steps away from the visitor's entrance to the siq and the old city with its world famous archaeological sites. Crowne Plaza Resort Petra offers 147 rooms including 3 suites and 30 superior rooms. 31 hillside chalets tucked into the Petra rock face overlooking the visitor's entrance the site. Facilities include: Heated outdoor swimming pool and 3 Restaurants, lobby bar, evening cocktail lounge with dance floor, conference room, 2000 year old 'Nabatean Tomb' the Cave Bar is fronted with a large piazza ideal for groups and incentive gatherings with space to cater for up to 200 guests are some of our services, dining & entertainments. Don't miss out visiting The Basin Restaurant in the old city with its exceptional settings for lunch. Outside catering can be arranged by our staff in a variety of unique locations outside the hotel, and local entertainment will bring traditional flavor to your event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, IHG and Travelocity so you can book your Crowne Plaza Resort Petra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort Petra Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
Crowne Plaza Hotel Petra
Crowne Plaza Resort Petra Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing