We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great,fun evening”
Review of The Rock Camp

The Rock Camp
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located in the Desert a few miles from Petra serving Traditional Bedouin food and hospitality
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great,fun evening”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

This was not like the usual 'tourist attraction' of local culture and believe me I have been to a few. This was a great taste of the Bedouin lifestyle from traditional food to making bread; from henna decorated hands to Kohl decoration around the eyes - even my husband's! It was great fun. With comfortable seating we were able to appreciate the food and music. Some of the more adventurous in our group even tried the dancing with a little instruction from our hosts! The people who looked after us were friendly and helpful, especially Fatima who showed us how to make shrak bread as well as decorating us with henna and kohl. The atmosphere of a Bedouin camp was enhanced by the brightly burning camp fire, the towering cliffs and the stars shining overhead. We were part of a tour group, but this is a great addition to anyone's trip to Petra. The quiet, the peacefulness and the fun was magic!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ianora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    14
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Havant, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great night out”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Lovely bedouin camp, offering food cooked in traditional ways. We had demonstrations of shrak bred making, meat cooking and the opportunity to have a henna tattoo and kohl eyes. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we had a great time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Babaloo9b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Chilled Evening”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Went to the Rock Camp as part of a tour party. The camp has a great relaxing vibe with great food and the opportunity for having a henna tattoo, kohl eyes, shrak bread making and, of course, some traditional music and dancing. We had a great time and it is so calming after the hustle of Wadi Musa/Petra. Definitely recommended!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Goatwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
“An evening under the stars”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Set in a peaceful, removed camp tucked into the rock, this is a perfect evening away from the bustle of Wadi Musa. A beautifully lit camp invites you in with fabulous oud playing, charming staff, and hospitality. You can get henna, kohl for your eyes, bread-making lessons and the impromptu dance instruction. Sitting around the fire and looking up at the stars is unforgettable, and the food was far above my expectations. It was one of the best meals I've had in Jordan.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank betterabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A fabulous night was had by all.”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I went to the restaurant with 13 other people who were on a tour of Jordan. We had a lovely night. The food was good and the people working there were friendly and helpful. Added to the music, most of us had henna tattoos done and kohl eye liner applied by one of the local ladies. It was a great experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WinnieTay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rock Camp also viewed

Petra - Wadi Musa, Ma'in Governorate
Petra - Wadi Musa, Ma'in Governorate
 
Petra - Wadi Musa, Ma'in Governorate
Petra - Wadi Musa, Ma'in Governorate
 

Been to The Rock Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing