We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tuck in - it’s Tasty in a Tent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Rock Camp - Petra
Reviewed August 4, 2013

A very enjoyable and unpretentious evening at a Bedouin camp, in the desert.
These guys know what they’re doing and laid on one of the best meals of our “Discover Jordan Tour” and it was cooked in a pit. It’s easy to be sceptical of the authentic experience but the camp is unassuming and didn't appear to be “dressed up” for the tourist and the food is tasty enough to warrant the excursion on its own merit.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank Velovox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 142 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013

Important tip: Rent a car for trip Jordan.
The drive through Beda and Petra to reach the Rock camp is so beautiful, ever scene is a post card, after the drive-high getting to the camp itself was far above all expectations. although it was just my husband and i as guests there that night, we were far from lonely and bored.
We had the best night, after a stressful Amman.
Dinner was plentiful and a gastronomic experience, nothing can top the fresh hand made arabic bread with veggies on the side, Don't forget to gorge on the Zaatar Manakish at breakfast !
Ismail, Mohd and Mahmood, The bedu care takers, were available for any need of ours and they kept serving tea which was so relaxing.
The tent is a tent, do not expect a palatial 5 star accommodation, when in the desert live like the bedoins do, it is comfortable and the beds are clean and warm.
Shisha and tea come your way aplenty, although we had to pay 5 JD for the shisha and a total of 20 JD for the dinner for 2.
Enjoy this stay for what its worth, its relaxing and the views at sunset are breathtaking.
There was also no threat of wild animals.
Sleep easy. :)

Room Tip: Rent a car for trip Jordan, it will be the best investment you ever made on this trip. Other than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laila Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I spent two nights here in a group of six friends (3 couples) and it was fabulous and kind of surreal. To camp out in the desert, with the Bedouin, is an experience that all travellers should have.

The food was unbelievable. The first night there we had a Bedouin dinner, including learning how to make Bedouin bread, and veggies roasted underground. The lamb was delicious. One of the Bedouin hosts (the lovely woman who taught us about the bread) also gave the ladies in our group henna.

Our hosts were very friendly and warm, asking us questions and telling us about their culture.

The location of this camp is perfect, in the middle of nowhere but very close to Petra (we got two cabs), with unbelievable views and just the sound of wind and the odd goat to greet your ears. Be warned, you are out in the wilderness, there are dogs that bark at night - you are after all in the middle of the Bedouin countryside!

We stayed in the tents which were spacious and heated up enough during the day that they were warm during the chilly desert nights - although you get extra blankets for the cooler moments in the hours before dawn. I'd suggest packing a sweater if you get chilly easily.

We had a lovely time here but reading some of the other reviews, it sounds like people arrive here with somewhat unrealistic expectations. So for any future visitors: it's a campsite, complete with tents, campfire, dinner under the stars, and - happily - bathrooms with running water and hot showers (during specified hours).

I'd recommend this for the more adventurous types, not people who are interested in the thread count of their bedsheets! :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank J-A-B-W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

If you are looking for a novelty experience, then this is it. A tented camp, literally, under the stars in the desert, yet close enough to the entrance of Petra (about 20 mins by car). For about 100 euros per night (double) in a luxury tent, you get dinner and breakfast. Electricity runs on generator till about 10 pm, after which they provide you with lanterns to navigate to the toilet. The camp managers - Bedouins from the region - are extremely hospitable, regale you with funny stories, and put together a very sumptuous dinner of a variety of dishes. These are all the positives - making the camp a memorable experience. Now for the downside - given the price that they charge, they could definitely make some improvements. The bed linen in the tent is quite filthy, and our pillows were certainly not washed since the last use. While dinner was good, breakfast is absolutely pitiful, to the extent that they put cheese, bread etc out in the open in the desert where all the food was covered in flies in a matter of seconds. It doesn't take much to invest in some cloth to cover the dishes. The tent itself is relatively comfortable - you have a bed, blankets and towels provided. If you are a light sleeper then beware, since the sound of the wind could wake you up, but most people enjoyed the experience of sleeping out in nature. Overall, I would concur with other reviewers - the setting is beautiful,but they could certainly do more to ensure that the place lives up to its promises. Go there if you want to go camping, but certainly not "glamping".

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank N S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I recently stayed at the Rock camp and it was one was of the best experiences I've ever had anywhere!
I used this unique place to propose to my now fiancé. I had been emailing them to arrange the surprise and they played their part perfectly! This really is one of the best places to see the sunset. The staff were amazingly helpful and friendly (I woke up to find a flat tire on my rental car and they took it to get fixed locally while I ate breakfast!).
The dinner they prepared in the evening was great followed by some dancing and sisha.
The shower and toilet facilities are brilliant, especially considering it is in the middle of nowhere!
I really can't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandyEames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

i really wanted to enjoy this place so much and makes me sad to write a negative review. But here goes.

The website should really describe this as a "bedouin-style" site - it's a tourist site using a mix of bedouin-style and other tents.

The setting is beautiful, with a lovely siq to walk down and great views especially at sunset. the wind does whistle through the site though and the dogs do howl at night so we didn't get a great night's sleep.

We stayed in May and, exceptionally there was significant thunder and rain. so we came back from a (cancelled) Petra by night to a tent which smelt like a wet goat and, sadly, had leaked on to the pillows, mattresses and clothes below.

I know rain in May is exceptional but it's not much fun coming back to wet clothes and bedding. We needed to get possessions dried out so decided to leave, The staff on site phoned the manager to discuss, but there was no offer on his part to waive the cost for the soaked-off night. We thought that this was especially poor, given that no effort was made to offer alternative accommodation and it would not have been pleasant staying in the damp tent.

the food on the first night was generous and tasty. we left to go to Petra too early for breakfast on our second day.

The toilets were somewhat pungent; there's a fair bit of rubbish around the site - a load of burnt cans and other detritus behind the tents and a discarded hypodermic on the ground near the tents.

so sadly, based on our experiences i wouldn't recomend this particular campsite to others but we may have been exceptionally unlucky.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MollyZero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

A fabulous experience.
Friendly people.
Perfect setting as the sun sets and the magic creeps upon you.
Huge quantities of food, and prepared as you watch.
Fabulous bread
Dips of such quality
Meats cooked underground with such succulence.
Don't miss this.

Of course it is touristy but it really feels authentic

Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#2 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,633 reviews
0 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
406 reviews
0 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Seven Wonders Bedouin Camp
Seven Wonders Bedouin Camp
#1 of 12 in Petra - Wadi Musa
476 reviews
0 mi away
Little Petra Bedouin Camp
Little Petra Bedouin Camp
#9 of 12 in Petra - Wadi Musa
30 reviews
0 mi away
Petra camp
Petra camp
#6 of 12 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rock Camp - Petra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rock Camp - Petra

Address: Little Petra, Petra - Wadi Musa 11184, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'an Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range: $51 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Rock Camp - Petra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A visit to the long lost hidden mythical city of Petra is a must for all travelers but if you’re a yearning adventurer & an explorer, searching for a unique and authentic Bedouin experience to perfectly complement your quest with a personal insight into their way of life… that’s what The Rock camp-Petra has to offer… Memorable moments & unforgettable experiences to make your journey through our land truly exceptional.Set in a lovely serene setting in Beidha area; 14 km north of the ancient city of Petra, The Rock camp has captured the beauty & comfort of lodging in hand-made Bedouin tents or in regular luxury tents all beautifully furnished in a colourful Bedouin rustic touch featuring comfortable beds with sheets, pillows & blankets. Enjoy the Bedouin hospitality while dining under lamp-lit, hand woven tents. Watch the Bedouins dig out the traditional Zarb; a succulent meal slow cooked for hours in an underground sealed fire pit. Share in authentic Shraak bread baking & relax around the campfire under the starlit skies. Ladies as well as men can dress up as Bedouins & be decorated with Kohl eyeliner & be adorned with temporary Henna tattooing applied for beauty as well as luck, for “Where there is Henna there is joy“. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Rock Camp - Petra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rock Camp - Petra Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing