We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic evening”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Rock Camp - Petra
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I wasn't sure what to expect of this evening, but it turned out to be one of the highlights of our holiday. The Rock Camp is in the desert, and faces west (all the better for watching the sun go down). We drove down a rutted track, making us think we were in the middle of nowhere. The camp site is comprised of tents surrounding the camp-fire area. There weren't many guests when we were there, and the few of us who wanted to, sat round the fire-pit, drinking wine and watching the sun slowly set behind the distant mountains. One of the staff played Arabic music on what I think was called an oud and it was beautifully atmospheric as the sun went down, and then we all got up and danced as the stars came out. The food was delicious - the bread was cooked by Fatima over a hot stone, and the main course, which was lamb, was cooked in a hole in the ground, and removed with great ceremony. I'd recommend this trip to anybody who is thinking of it, it was a truly memorable evening.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RAC32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 142 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed at the Rock Camp for a night prior to exploring Petra. It was a unique experience - the camp has a magical atmosphere, particularly during the evening meal where you can enjoy an excellent buffet (lamb cooked in an underground oven on-site!), a traditional campfire and music under amazing clear starry skies - the campsite is decorated beautifully with lanterns to add to the atmosphere.

The Rock Camp is in a good location for views and hiking, and well-signposted from Petra. It is close enough to Petra for day-trips there, but far enough away to feel remote. We received excellent correspondence and advice from the camp while organising our trip, the staff were very helpful in organising a vegetarian meal for my girlfriend and suggesting hikes in the area. Our luxury tent was basic but comfortable and well-equipped with blankets, and we were warm enough on an early-April night.

Probably our only minor quibble was that In the evening, a large visiting tour group arrived, and it felt a little like they were the focus for the entertainment rather than us and the other overnight guests - although at all times staff were friendly and accommodating.

If you're a light sleeper I'd also suggest taking earplugs for night as there are sometimes dogs barking through the night, we didn't have problems with this though.

Room Tip: We stayed in a luxury tent - we didn't see inside the standard tents, but they are smaller and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveyG_1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I was not expecting much as this was an included outing on a Voyages Jules Verne Holiday.
but It was a fascinating experience. We went for dinner at sunset to this place that seemed to be miles for anywhere with no built structures around and were greeted by a bedouin woman roasting cardamom seeds in a heavy metal pan over an open fire to make coffee which we were then served. The camp had only one bedu tent which was set up for us to eat in and everything else was in the open air. There was a fantastic ambiance. The excellent food was cooked in a pit in the ground and after we had seen it dug up it was served as a buffet..When the stars came out it was just magical

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is a wonderful way to spend a night. We came here after a day at Petra. The food was excellent. To get the special meal experience, be sure to ask how many people are staying the night you book. They require 6 or 8 people minimum to do the full meal experience. Mahmoud and Ishmael were fantastic hosts and conversationalists to discuss all kinds of topics. The beds are VERY firm...so bring a soft pillow. Also, there can be dogs howling at night...so bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper. Mahmoud took us for a hike the next morning. It was beautiful. The camp is a ways out of town. We rented a car, so no problem. My family had a great time and we are looking forward to going back.

Room Tip: Just be sure to have a flashlight when walking to the bathroom at night. Hot water is available 6am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Found this camp on Tripadvisor and contacted the staff from their website. Salam was super friendly, helpful and responsive - finding a solution for all my requests. The camp is a bit far (so always need a taxi), but it is amazing to be in such settings and away from the tourist madness of Petra. The tents are great - although due to wind it was quite noisy inside. I've informed The Rock and hope they will do sth about it so others will have an even better experience! Food was yummy. We also did the Turkish Bath which was good, although not that special and the walk/climb with Mahmud (from the camp). if you have the time, go for this walk. We were all alone and loved the scenery and peace that surrounded us! all in all - was really lot of fun!

Room Tip: the luxury tent was nicely spacious for the 2 of us
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seeitall3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here as a couple for 2 nights in march 2013. We where the only guests staying on the first night which was fantastic as we had the whole place to ourselves.

The site is in a fantastic location providing nice shade in the mornings and quick access to great climbing / walking. The best bit for me was being right next to a fantastic Siq that I enjoyed more than the Siq entering the Petra site. We spent the mid-day shading ourselves from the hot sun just sat in the Siq. It was very beautiful and we had the whole place to ourselves. The site is really quiet and peaceful and still seemed that way when a group of 13 turned up the following day.

I highly comend the staff, namely Hamoud, Ishmael and Mohammed who are thoroughy down-to-earth, intelligent and attentive. They had endless supplies of free tea and fascinating stories. They were not constantly around but were always on hand, which helped to give the feeling and romance that the place was your own! They are definately part of the value of this place.

The food was authentic and well prepared. Fantastic Thyme/Dukka bread for breakfast. Wonderful and generous meals in the evenings.

At first I thought that this place was a little expensive given that it is essentially a campsite with facilities. However the value you get is in the location - you can go from having a fresh shower, tea and coffee in the morning to walking into the scrub with no one around within minutes. I think this is prehaps unique to the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulrossvideoart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

My self and my brother spent one night at the Rock Bedouin camp on march 2nd and felt so fortunate that we were the only 2 there with our very friendly and hospitable Bedouins Muhmood and Saeed. The two made us feel so welcome and the food was fantastic that night when we arrived. We sat around the camp fire talking about our lives and theirs and what our dreams are for the future.
The next morning we awoke to a Delicious breakfast and sat in front of the fire and drank tea with our hosts. my wife was staying in hotel in Petra and i asked our hosts if i could go and return with her to show her around and what she missed out on the night before.
When I returned with her Saeed brought us to Muhmoods horse ranch and we enjoyed a short walk there and were blown away by how healthy and strong his horses were.
Thank you guys so much for a fantastic stay, we will definitely recommend friends to come here and hope to return again in the future!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kieran C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petra - Wadi Musa
0.0 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#1 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,618 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
392 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seven Wonders Bedouin Camp
Seven Wonders Bedouin Camp
#1 of 11 in Petra - Wadi Musa
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Little Petra Bedouin Camp
Little Petra Bedouin Camp
#9 of 11 in Petra - Wadi Musa
29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fox Camp Wadi Rum
Fox Camp Wadi Rum
#1 of 4 in Wadi Rum Village
8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Movenpick Resort Petra
Movenpick Resort Petra
#6 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
3,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rock Camp - Petra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rock Camp - Petra

Address: Little Petra, Petra - Wadi Musa 11184, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'an Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range: $53 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Rock Camp - Petra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A visit to the long lost hidden mythical city of Petra is a must for all travelers but if you’re a yearning adventurer & an explorer, searching for a unique and authentic Bedouin experience to perfectly complement your quest with a personal insight into their way of life… that’s what The Rock camp-Petra has to offer… Memorable moments & unforgettable experiences to make your journey through our land truly exceptional.Set in a lovely serene setting in Beidha area; 14 km north of the ancient city of Petra, The Rock camp has captured the beauty & comfort of lodging in hand-made Bedouin tents or in regular luxury tents all beautifully furnished in a colourful Bedouin rustic touch featuring comfortable beds with sheets, pillows & blankets. Enjoy the Bedouin hospitality while dining under lamp-lit, hand woven tents. Watch the Bedouins dig out the traditional Zarb; a succulent meal slow cooked for hours in an underground sealed fire pit. Share in authentic Shraak bread baking & relax around the campfire under the starlit skies. Ladies as well as men can dress up as Bedouins & be decorated with Kohl eyeliner & be adorned with temporary Henna tattooing applied for beauty as well as luck, for “Where there is Henna there is joy“. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Rock Camp - Petra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rock Camp - Petra Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing