We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Rock Camp - Petra
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent place”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The place is amazing, and the service super good, all the people are very polite and the food was excellent, the only thing was the wild dogs in the mountains that barked all night long and the eco didnt let us sleep, except for this everything was perfect i recommend it and its very close to Petra like 15 min.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarchRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    25
    7
    9
    2
See reviews for
24
52
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Staying at The Rock Camp at Little Petra was definitely one of the highlights of my trip to Jordan. The camp is situated about 14km from Petra in stunning rocky landscape and is immaculately clean with great bathroom facilities. The bedouin staff, Ibrahim, Mahmod, Ismail and Ahmed are so friendly and helpful and made our stay very special. Ask them to take you on a walk through the siq to the nabbotean village but be sure to take your climbing shoes! The luxury tents at The Rock Camp are very comfortable and the meals are exeptionally good. At night the local dogs make quite a bit of noise but the staff gave us ear plugs. We had our own car which was a must as I'm not sure how you would otherwise get to and from Petra. I would definitely stay at The Rock Camp again and recommend it to anyone visiting Petra.

Room Tip: Book a luxury tent - it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KirstieTC77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København, Danmark
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We spend two nights in The Rock Camp i July, and it was the absolute highlight of our trip. The camp is situated a good 15 minutes drive from Petra so you definitely need your own car to get there and back to the city but it is absolutely worth the trip. Book the luxury bedouin tents - it is worth the extra dinars.

First of all it is nice to get away from 'Tourist Trap Petra', second of all, it is absolutely fabulous surroundings and the staff will go out of their ways to make sure you are having a wonderful time. The four guys who worked at the camp while we were there, Ahmed, Mahmoud, Ibrahim and Ismail, are incredible lovely, incredible chefs (we had our best meals here - make sure you book dinner at camp!) and have a good sense of humour.

The last day we went hiking and rock climbing in the canyon (Siq Ba'ja and a Nabatean village ) with three of the guys - what an amazing experience (thank you!) - if you have the time and the opportunity, it is definitely worth it!

When you stay at the camp you have free access to the swimming pool in Petra Palace Hotel (close to the exit of Petra) - which will do you good after a long day of walking in Petra. And then back to 'the camp' and the guys and the home cooked meal. Love it!

I will recommend everybody to stay out here if (when) you visit Petra. It is worth every single dinar.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DitteDraeby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We spent 3 night at the rock Camp in July 2012.
"The rock" is a Very nice and authentic camp, the team provides 1st class service to you.
Team is very helpull and very nice.

WC and showers are nice, clean and smartly hidden from the camp view.
Do not hesitate to choose proposed options : shraak (bread) making, oud player,
canyon journey with camp team, etc ...

tents were spaceful and very clean. You have real beds within.

The food (breakfast, lunch and diners) is fresh and very good.
Cold drinking is possible as they have large ice boxes
alcohol avalaible in the camp
Between 3 and 6 hours of electricity per day in the bathroom no electricty in the tents but lamps are provided.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ludo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2012

My friend and I stayed at the rock camp during our two days in Petra. It was great! The bedouin staff were really friendly and the place had a great family feel. It's a super picturesque setting with nice accommodations for sleeping in what seems like the middle of the desert. Very well kept tents. I am recommending it to my parents for their 40th wedding anniversary trip!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

The Rock camp is located in little Petra, a stunning rock surrounded spot in the Jordan desert. We unfortunately only stayed for one night but had such a great time... Dinner and breakfast were outstanding and earn a reward - all the meals are prepared by local beduines offering a very genuine, sincere and cheerful hospitality. Very dedicated and lovely team - the spirit all around this location is just perfect.
Ahmed, Mahmud, Abrahim, Ismail - many thanks for making our stay so special (happy day - and happy night, remember the full moon!). We'll definitely come and stay with you again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2012

we spent 2 nights in this beautiful situated camp. it is very clean, the staff is lovely and the food delicious!! I would highly recommend this place. we have travelled 2 weeks through jordan and israel and this was by far the best experience. we baked our own bread, drank tasty bedouin tea and enjoyed the magnificent sunsets on top of the rocks overlooking the camp

i would definitely go there again..

truly loved it
wahiba and max from london

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wahiba z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.0 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#2 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,559 reviews
0.0 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
884 reviews
0.0 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Seven Wonders Bedouin Camp
Seven Wonders Bedouin Camp
#1 of 10 in Petra - Wadi Musa
446 reviews
0.0 mi away
Little Petra Bedouin Camp
Little Petra Bedouin Camp
#9 of 10 in Petra - Wadi Musa
30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Movenpick Resort Petra
Movenpick Resort Petra
#6 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
3,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rock Camp - Petra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rock Camp - Petra

Property: The Rock Camp - Petra
Address: Little Petra, Petra - Wadi Musa 11184, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Rock Camp - Petra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A visit to the long lost hidden mythical city of Petra is a must for all travelers but if you’re a yearning adventurer & an explorer, searching for a unique and authentic Bedouin experience to perfectly complement your quest with a personal insight into their way of life… that’s what The Rock camp-Petra has to offer… Memorable moments & unforgettable experiences to make your journey through our land truly exceptional.Set in a lovely serene setting in Beidha area; 14 km north of the ancient city of Petra, The Rock camp has captured the beauty & comfort of lodging in hand-made Bedouin tents or in regular luxury tents all beautifully furnished in a colourful Bedouin rustic touch featuring comfortable beds with sheets, pillows & blankets. Enjoy the Bedouin hospitality while dining under lamp-lit, hand woven tents. Watch the Bedouins dig out the traditional Zarb; a succulent meal slow cooked for hours in an underground sealed fire pit. Share in authentic Shraak bread baking & relax around the campfire under the starlit skies. Ladies as well as men can dress up as Bedouins & be decorated with Kohl eyeliner & be adorned with temporary Henna tattooing applied for beauty as well as luck, for “Where there is Henna there is joy“. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Rock Camp - Petra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rock Camp - Petra Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing