We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This camp rocks..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Rock Camp - Petra
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
“This camp rocks..”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

The Rock is located on top of a deep canyon overlooking spectacular sunsets with strange rock formations as the backdrop The camp is run by three brothers with the occasional help from their sister. We were the only occupants, mum, dad and adult son, and we were treated like king, queen and prince. The hospitality was genuinely Bedouin, as was the food and the live music that we enjoyed in front of the camp fire. Advance notices were posted by e-mail about the set-up, what we would be charged etc, so we were well informed about what to expect.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    25
    7
    9
    2
See reviews for
24
52
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2012

the location is beautiful, with rocks behind your back and sky full of stars. the tent was cosy and clean. our three childrens were enyoing it very much. and they have perfect beds! the food was good. the hot water was not hot, but i respect it, we were in desert, the water is treasure. the people were very kind,very helpfull like mostly everybody in jordan. the price is a little bit exaggerated...but if i have posibility to go there again i choose rock camp again!

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank eva g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2012

You eat 2 times a day and they charge for EVERYTHING! In the end what you pay is more like the Ritz but no AC. The staff was great and we had fun but just know you are going to pay.

Room Tip: Take the lower priced tents, the high end ones are much warmer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daveguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2012

i had a nice fullmoon night between all the silence in the word out of space and in peace . we had a great days with good food and healthy weather

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zaid f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Great food, very clean, friendly people and very beautiful views :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZainaRouad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

You have to stay here on your visit to Petra! We stayed there one night, and it was unbelievable. The staff are extremely kind and go out of their way to show you around. Living in a Bedouin tent in the middle of the Jordanian desert is something you will never forget.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Great service........actually superb,
food is perfect, delicious & fresh :D

its a must

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maen_Khatib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.0 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
0.0 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#2 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.0 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.0 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seven Wonders Bedouin Camp
Seven Wonders Bedouin Camp
#1 of 10 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rock Camp - Petra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rock Camp - Petra

Property: The Rock Camp - Petra
Address: Little Petra, Petra - Wadi Musa 11184, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Rock Camp - Petra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A visit to the long lost hidden mythical city of Petra is a must for all travelers but if you’re a yearning adventurer & an explorer, searching for a unique and authentic Bedouin experience to perfectly complement your quest with a personal insight into their way of life… that’s what The Rock camp-Petra has to offer… Memorable moments & unforgettable experiences to make your journey through our land truly exceptional.Set in a lovely serene setting in Beidha area; 14 km north of the ancient city of Petra, The Rock camp has captured the beauty & comfort of lodging in hand-made Bedouin tents or in regular luxury tents all beautifully furnished in a colourful Bedouin rustic touch featuring comfortable beds with sheets, pillows & blankets. Enjoy the Bedouin hospitality while dining under lamp-lit, hand woven tents. Watch the Bedouins dig out the traditional Zarb; a succulent meal slow cooked for hours in an underground sealed fire pit. Share in authentic Shraak bread baking & relax around the campfire under the starlit skies. Ladies as well as men can dress up as Bedouins & be decorated with Kohl eyeliner & be adorned with temporary Henna tattooing applied for beauty as well as luck, for “Where there is Henna there is joy“. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Rock Camp - Petra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rock Camp - Petra Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing