We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good after a hike”

The Basin Restaurant
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: After visiting Petra and other sites you have to walk through the basin yard where the torrents Meet And to ascent to the monastery, have a Delightful dining experience surrounded by the beautiful Petra Mountains . Located at the heart of the ancient Rose City surrounding by the magnificent ruins of Petra . Offering daily B.B.Q., lunch buffet of wide range of salads, hot dishes, fresh pasta and desserts . * Chocolate Bar / Ships / Mixed Nuts / Ice cream / Takeaway Essprso Coffee . Open daily from 11:00am - 4:00pm Free WI-FI Spot Seating capacity Indoor / Out Door Up To 450 Persons
Reviewed September 9, 2016 via mobile

The restaurant only has an open buffet. The buffet is good except for the desert and beverages are a bit expensive. But the location of the restaurant is perfect to have a meal after hiking.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank 88Roy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (622)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

308 - 312 of 622 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2016 via mobile

There is hardly another option to get proper food so if you really want food this is it. And they know it.. at a price of 14 JOD you get an ok buffet, but again there is no alternative. Food is ok but while visiting Petra you would really prefer options for salads or something. Overpriced and soooo many flies...

Date of visit: June 2016
1  Thank mara281210
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2016 via mobile

Nice terrace with lots of shade under the trees . Ideal after wondering around in the heat. Very decent buffet. Especially the salad bar. Excellent sweets. Good prices and service.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank irene e
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2016 via mobile

We wanted to go for a light snack during our Petra visit. We were warmly welcomed as we said we would eat but as soon as we sat they announced that there was only the buffet you can eat from. We took a look and decided that we are not in the mood for a stuffing buffet as we still wanted to head for the monastery afterwards. When we told the waiter that we would only like a drink he directed us to a different seating area as this (nicer) one is only for eating customers. Asking me if I wouldn't mind to go there I told him that I do mind and since there is plenty of space left I really do not see a reason for this. There was no room for discussion (and happy customers). We had to change the seating area and pay a total rip off of 5 JOD for two coke. You are better off going to any other place in the acient city or just take some snacks and not eat at all there!

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank C8501UBannas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2016

After a long windy and chilly walk in the ancient sites of Petra we arrived at the Basin for a welcome pit stop. They serve a buffet lunch which was as warm as the welcome from Ibrahim, one of the managers there. He was very happy for me to sit with my three children while my husband climbed up to see the monastery. We weren't rushed out and because we were staying at the Petra Guest House we were given a discount. Even better.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Basin Restaurant also viewed

Petra - Wadi Musa, Ma'an Governorate
Petra - Wadi Musa, Ma'an Governorate
 
Petra - Wadi Musa, Ma'an Governorate
Petra - Wadi Musa, Ma'an Governorate
 

Been to The Basin Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.