We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place,great staff,great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rocky Mountain Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2014

From the moment i walked in, i was welcomed by the manager/owner (Jane i think). She showed me my room and around the hotel. In the evening the hotel had arranged a bedoin meal in a camp, which was wonderful.
Clean rooms, with TV,A/C heaters etc.
The bathroom is a little small but cant complain for the price i paid.
The breakfast is great. The view from the roof where breakfast is served is amazing. sitting there having tea and coffee and smoking sheesha is the best feeling ever.

they have free shuttle service to Petra in the morning. (3 min drive)

I would highly recommend this hotel and when i return i will stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms on the bottom floor have better wifi, as they are closer to reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sameer I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 391 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2014

I picked this accommodation due to the lovely rooftop area I saw in reviews. It did not disappoint. Spent most of our evening hours in this area. Very cozy, comfortable and welcoming. Wonderful views during the day and at night.
We spent four nights so we also wanted accommodations for the budget minded, this did not disappoint either.
The room was very basic with a nice view. The washroom was dated but in keeping with the style of the hotel. This is not a Hilton chain hotel.
There was free coffee and tea at any time of day on the rooftop. The evening meals were very good and a different meal was offered up every night that we were there. Just remember to tell them in advance that you do want supper.
The shuttle service to and from the main gates was a real bonus, as you will be doing plenty of walking during the day.
Do walk carefully upstairs, for the unsure footed could find themselves on the ground due to the many carpets on the floor and a lip into entrance of the room.
All in all we would certainly stay here again if we were to return to Wadi Musa.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dody_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

We were traveling around Israel, Palestine and Jordan and it was the best hotel we stay in. It was cosy, warm, hot water, good breakfast and dinner. There are very good and friendly staff. So we love it.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank Yarin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Very good value hotel close to town and the entrance to Petra with stunning views from the lounge area. Rooms are basic but comfortable and clean. The lounge on the top floor is warmly decorated in a Bedouin tent theme and has outstanding views over Petra. The lounge is great for watching both sunsets and sunrise or the twinkling lights of Petra at night.

A very good Jordanian breakfast is supplied along with the option of having a lovely meal at night looking out at the lights of Petra. If needed they can provide a packed lunch at a very reasonable price which is more than adequate to keep one going during the day.

Jane the owner is very knowledgeable about the area and can answer any questions you might have. The hotel provides courtesy transport to and from the visitors center and entrance to Petra at the start and end of the day.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and would happily stay their again if returning to Petra.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GDBNanjing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Good value for the money. very clean. Staff is excellent with knowledge of Petra and surrounding area. Food was authentic, fresh and delicious. Jane an owner was on premise our entire stay of two nights and three days. Small business run with a family friendly atmosphere. Lobby of hotel is a great place to meet other guests. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheer342013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

It's comfortable hotel with reasonable price. It is situated on the hill and only 10 minutes walk to Wadi Musa down town. The hotel has great view of Wadi Musa and Petra; moreover, it provides a variety tours to the nearby sightseeing. The owner & staffs are very friendly and helful. The room was clean and tidy. But the most forgettable memory is view from the roof balcony view. It was so beautiful We recommend to everybody to stay this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Loved my stay in this place, the rooms are clean and tidy and the common area is wonderfully done with bedouin elements and a nice view. Additional recommendation: Stay for dinner, the food is really well-prepared by the owners.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Markus_AMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.1 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#3 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
426 reviews
0.2 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#4 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
536 reviews
0.9 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#2 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,055 reviews
0.1 mi away
Petra Sella Hotel
Petra Sella Hotel
#9 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
205 reviews
1 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Mountain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Mountain Hotel

Address: Main Street, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'an Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range: $24 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Rocky Mountain Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management (Atef and Jane from Seven Wonders Bedouin Camp), the Rocky Mountain Hotel is an informal and basic family run hotel very close to the town center and offers its guests spectacular views. There is a free shuttle service to the Petra Visitors Centre and free Wi-Fi. Traditional breakfast is included in the price of the room and dinner is available at night on the arabic style rooftop terrace. Snacks are available during the day and lunch boxes need to be ordered the night before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Rocky Mountain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Mountain Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing