We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly run by a NZL & Jordanian couple”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rocky Mountain Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The building is built on the side of the mountain and the roof terrace gives spectacular views off the area. Rooms are basic and beds are wooden bases with hard mattress plus they squeak at every turn. Towels provided and hot water is on twice a day. Morn & eve. Like most places in the region health & safety is off the agenda, open staircases, fire hazards are the norm. The staff are very helpful and can organise all tours for you. They also run a Bedouin camp close by. My friend says if is a great experience staying there. Rocky has free Wifi in the reception and even supply an I pad and a PC, hair dryers on request and cold bottles if water are available. When busy a tasty evening meal is put on for a very reasonable 7 dinar. Breakfast is also included with the room rate and is nice. Local style bread, yoghurt and egg. The room rate was very good 30 dinner inc breakfast. Overall a comfortable place for a night or two

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zqyaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (384)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 384 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

My sister and I stayed here for 2 nights when visiting Petra. Lovely english lady who runs the hostel is really helpful and knows alot about the surrounding area and can give you some handy tips!
Breakfast is really good and there is free tea and coffee all day long. They also serve a great dinner for 8JD, which is perfect after a long day in Petra. Only thing: the hotel is not that close to the entrance of Petra or the town, but they provide a free shuttle to and from the site so shouldn't put you off!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caitlin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Arrived to a warm greeting from Jane, the hotel manager. There was a small problem with the first room, which upon telling Jane, she offered me the choice of two other rooms. The room I tok was spacious, clean, comfortable mattress and excellent shower; useful after a long day in Petra. Breakfast was traditional Jordanian style and is served on the roof top terrace; an amazing bedoiun styled area with great views of the sunset over the city of Wadi Musa.

There is a free shuttle to drop off and pick up from the gates of Petra city. I requested dinner on the second night which was excellent, and very suitable for vegetarians.

My stay here was comfortable, with excellent service and good facilities at a great price. The only minor point is that the hotel is a little further up the hill from the Petra entrance; but to be honest, there isn't a huge amount to do in Wadi Musa anyway and this hotel is a great place to chill after a long day out in the wonderful Petra.

Room Tip: Ask Jane to show you a couple of rooms if available. A room with a view s nice, but the best views a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baljindersingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

the room was very good, spacious and very clean. no problems at all. the breakfast was very good with a buffet!!!! Jane was very helpful and gave us really good advices for the trip in jordan. they have a free shuttle to the petra entrance that its a very good solution for those that dont have a mean of transportation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank invocator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The B&B is located at the top of Wadi Musa, great location. We arrived a bit late around 9pm, we were sure to ask for dinner in when booking through booking.com or else you may have to walk down the street to get something to eat. The food was very good local cuisine, cooked by local staff. The eating area is located on the top floor giving us an amazing look out over the city of Wadi Musa and you can spot where Petra is. The decor is charming and makes for very interesting dinning experience; we ate there both nights. One complaint is that they didn't offer us anything to drink such as water or pop (they did have tea and coffee, self help at the buffet) but they did have it available we found out later.

The rooms are ok, no frills. One of my complaints would be that there is no shampoo offered and you get a bar of soap that looks to be used by others(not sure, it could just how the new soap looks). I would expect no shampoo from a hostel but not at a B&B. Bring shampoo and conditioner with you.

For 4JD each, they will pack a lunch for you. If you plan on spending the whole day at Petra I would recommend it, there are small outdoor cafes in Petra but they mainly offer chips and cold drinks.

They also offer great advice about exploring Petra, shuttles to and from the gate and I believe guided tours.

All in all it was a great value for what we received.

Room Tip: Bring shampoo, make a note when booking that you would like dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This hotel is a great value considering the other options in Petra. The rooftop has an excellent view (as did our room), and the breakfast is great. The owner is very friendly and helpful (though the other staffer we interacted with was rather off-putting), and there is parking if you have a car. If you do not have a car, this might be a difficult location to traverse on foot as the hotel is at the top of the hill and quite far from Petra. (I think they have a shuttle for Petra, but then you are stuck on their schedule.) Rooms are fairly basic and smell a bit like new paint, but still a great place to sleep.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank tcldenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I'll be honest, when we arrived I wasn't sold on the place. We were taken to our room, which was of a good size and decent enough. When we asked for a dinner suggestion we were told about a place a 15 minute walk down the hill (even though they were suppose to have a restaurant).

The next morning we met Jane - and that made all the difference. Jane is the owner, and is the nicest lady you will ever meet. I asked her about dinner and she told me they use to have a buffet every night, but with tourism down so much due to Syrian's issues, and it being low season, they did not have dinner every night, but she would be happy to make dinner for us. We ended up eating here 3 nights and the food was amazing every night! The pick up and drop off's at Petra worked smoothly (If you have to wait a few minutes get some Movenpick ice cream - it's great!).

The hospitality was amazing - far beyond what is expected! I truly felt like I was staying with a friend more so than staying in a hotel. While the place is far away from Petra, we had no problems getting a Taxi for 3 JD, and the views from the terrace are amazing at sunset.

I would highly suggest staying here! (However, do not do laundry here! It's VERY expensive - no their fault, but water is at a premium in the desert).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brandasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.1 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
533 reviews
0.9 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#2 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Seven Wonders Hotel
Seven Wonders Hotel
#11 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
311 reviews
1.7 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,026 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tetra Tree Hotel
Tetra Tree Hotel
#14 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Mountain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Mountain Hotel

Address: Main Street, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'an Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range: $26 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Rocky Mountain Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management (Atef and Jane from Seven Wonders Bedouin Camp), the Rocky Mountain Hotel is an informal and basic family run hotel very close to the town center and offers its guests spectacular views. There is a free shuttle service to the Petra Visitors Centre and free Wi-Fi. Traditional breakfast is included in the price of the room and dinner is available at night on the arabic style rooftop terrace. Snacks are available during the day and lunch boxes need to be ordered the night before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Rocky Mountain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Mountain Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing